We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 TRIPS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Save Saved
You added Alamo Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Alamo One Bedroom Cottage
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Darlington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“4 TRIPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rae and I stayed with Mike and Dawn 4 times last year, and matter of fact already are planning our first trip for 2012 and we will staying with them again!!!!! These two peole are awesome! they make sure your stay with them is unforgetable, on the last trip I carried my Lab with us as i could not anyone to "baby sit" for us. Not only did Dawn make Rae and I feel at home, she made Cookie feel at home from walking her twice a day to giving her goodies. They are very pet friendly as well as people friendly. We will be going in May for a 5 day bike ride with friends and have asked the others in the group to stay with us there also, because I know how they will be treated. I can not say enough good about Mike and Dawn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colerain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were new to the Alamo when we stayed there during the first week of November. My wife and I brought our golden retriever with us since this motel is dog friendly. Dawn and Mike keep their place clean and neat! Dawn loved our Golden and welcomed her. We stayed in one of the motel rooms. The areas surrounding the motel were decorated with things appropriate to the season. We felt welcome. The room was warm and inviting. There was plenty of room to walk our golden without having to leave the property. It was quiet at night and we slept well. This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting the sights of the area and it would be equally nice for just taking it easy and sitting around. The area was pretty laid back and conducive to a restful get away.
When we stay in Maggie Valley again we will stay here. I have no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were so happy to stay with Dawn and Mike again at The Alamo this trip to Maggie Valley. We are season pass holders at Cataloochee and we go snowboarding almost every week that the snow permits. Last season we stayed at The Alamo on two different occassions and both were absolutely AMAZING. First it was just me and the wife and we stayed at one of the Cottages on the Creek with our 90 lb American Bulldog. Dawn was absolutely wonderful in going by periodically to check on our baby while we were off enjoying the mountain. Another time last season we brought some friends with us and stayed in the 3 bedroom trailer they have on the property. It was spacious with full kitchen and just loads better than any other offerings in the Maggie Valley area. My one friend made us go look at other places even though I told him how great The Alamo was. He went to a few other options to look at the rooms, and then as soon as we walked into Mike and Dawns place, he quickly said, " we're staying here! ".
Now to this trip, again it was just me and the wife and we were on a budget, so we stayed in one of the more hotel style rooms and it was PERFECT. Mike was hospitable as always and the place was it's usual clean, awesome room. As always, they allowed us to check out late the next day so we could get more riding in at Cataloochee. It was a great stay at The Alamo just like our previous visits there. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Maggie Valley area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I moved to NC from FL in the beginning of October... We chose to stay at the Alamo while looking for a place to live because of the great reviews and the dog watching service. We could not have picked a better place to stay! From beginning to end we were treated like family... These are two of the most hospitable people you will ever meet! Beyond the extremely comfortable bed, the cozy decor, and great location, it was so helpful to have someone there to look after our dog while we were house hunting! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Maggie Valley! These two people go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Thank you both for everything you did to make our transition easier! You were a breath of fresh air at a stressful time in our lives. If we are ever in the area, we plan on stopping by to say hello... Thank you, thank you, thank you... And the best of everything to you both!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We visited Maggie Valley in late August with our son and labrador retriever. I felt like I had known Dawn my whole life - they are so very into animals. Our dog, Dasher, was spoiled and our son thought he had "arrived" with a TV in his room. It was very relaxing. Dawn and Mike were excellent managers and extremely helpful! We enjoyed our stay immensely!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We're so glad we found this motel, the owners Dawn and Mike are wonderful people. They are very hospitable and friendly. We felt like in family during our stay. They sure made our vacation more unforgettable.Very clean and cozy room. We even decided to extend our vacation one more night. The experience is far beyond the expectations. Out of all the expensive hotels this is sure the right choice to make. We would definitely recommend this place to all our friends and everybody who would like to be treated as an individual and not just as a random quest. We'll be come back soon and fortunately we know where we're going to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman,SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We went up for one day and honestly...this place is nice...very clean,pet friendly,quiet. Thank goodness for Trip Advisor. My wife called me and said we were staying at the Alamo in Maggie Valley. If I had been driving by looking for a place to stay, i would have looked at the big chain motels....glad I have my wife. This is a very pleasant, clean property. Love the ambiance..some say its dated...we say it is an older property that is well maintained and retained the real motor hotel feel.
I am a frequent business traveler and have to stay in the big chain on business, but it will be my choice to stay at the Alamo again during our weekend jaunts. Remember, I have points for free nights at the 3 of the local chain motels. I chose the Alamo.
Thanks to the owners Dawn and Mike...gracious host...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$129 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.