We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DAWN AND MIKE ARE GREAT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamo Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Alamo Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Alamo One Bedroom Cottage
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darlington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“DAWN AND MIKE ARE GREAT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was the third time Rae and I stayed here and each time Dawn and Mike get friendlier. We called in advance and ask for the a/c to be turned on in the room and it was. We are always greeted with smiles and when we leave each time a hand shake from Mike and a hug from Dawn. These two go out of their way to make sure every thing is right for you, Dawn even offered to wash clothes for us seeing how we were on our bikes. We stayed there 4 out of 5 nights with them and are planning another trip in Oct and guess where we are staying-you guessed it with Dawn and Mike.
As you sit on the porch at night one or both of them come and speak to you, makes you feel so at home. They again gave my sweetie a blanket to sit on the porch with.
I cannot say enough good things about these two. If you go to Maggie Valley, please see if they have a room. You will not be sorry.
Ken and Rae

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a very nice little motel. My husband and I stayed here and really enjoyed it. The rooms are dated, but clean, and that is what matters most. The rooms have character and are well maintained. My only complaint really, would be the bed. There were two in the room and they are a bit small and one was really hard and uncomfortable whilst the other was better but not really comfortable. Overall, the room was wonderful. Very spacious, and a great price. The grounds are fantastic and the owners could not be nicer and we had fresh towels daily and coffee as well. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iuka, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Pet and I have visited here several times over the past 4 years - always a warm welcome from Dawn and Mike, the very accommodating proprietors. Location is close to everything and anything one would want to do, see or purchase, and a dog park approx 10/15 min. Seperate towels and sheets are provided for each pet.

Dawn has kept the 1950-60 look of the property replete withh vintage window treatment and wall decor...the cottages offer porches for relaxing and visiting with neighboring guests and a cookout area by the gazebo.

Jimmy Ralph and I will definitely return again and again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there during a long weekend get away. First overnight trip for my pup. Mike and Dawn cater to the pets as much as the.other guests. They are truly pet friendly. Our stay couldn't have been better. We'll be regulars there from now own.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My sister found the Alamo online because we were looking for a place to stay in Maggie Valley that allows dogs, and was biker friendly, and boy did she hit the jack pot!

Mike & Dawn own the Alamo and they are the sweetest couple you'll ever meet. The best part is that they do everything there, so you never have to worry about some strange maid or maintenance guy going through your stuff, because after about the first hour, you feel like family! They are so hospitable... anything we needed, they provided. This included PET SITTING!!! It was over the top! We rode all day long (forget the dragon... hit the local fave - the rattler!) and when we got back, we were provided with bike towels to wipe the bikes down, and our dogs were not only walked, but fed as well! Not only that but they came in and comforted one of my dogs when he wasn't feeling so good! They also provide doggie stuff like poop bags, pee pads (our babies go outside) and linens to cover the furniture.

The room was great because the bed is just like your bed at home! Our room had a king-sized pillow top bed with tons of blankets (my hubby likes it like Alaska!), and we also had a queen-sized bed for the pooches. My sister had the room next door, our friend had the room beside hers, and my parents had a cottage on the creek that was soooooo cute. Complete with the sounds of the babbling brook when you sleep...leave the dream machine at home!!!

It's located pretty centrally in Maggie Valley and Dawn & Mike will give you the skinny on all of the local haunts. We went to Hurleys for dinner 3 nights in a row...great spot!

We were on a business/vacation. The first week was vacay, then 3 days of hard work in Asheville, then 2 more days of vacay. Originally we were only going to stay at the Alamo from Saturday night to Thursday morning and then check into a hotel in Asheville, but we loved the place (and the owners!) so much that we kept extending our stay!!! We stayed until the following Tuesday!!! Even though the drive to and from Asheville was 45 minutes each way, it was totally worth it because the scenery is unbelievable!

I HIGHLY recommend the Alamo. We plan on staying there any time we have business in Asheville!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The owners keep these rooms spotless. Although some of the furnishings are outdated and the building is older, the rooms are extremely clean and smell nice and fresh. They are a pet friendly hotel, but there is no sign of any other dogs as fars as odors or droppings on the grounds. We stayed for a week with our dog and enjoyed our time here very much. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was good and strong. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to see that we didn't want for anything while we were their guests. We have recommended this motel to family members, all of them had positive things to say and were satisfied with their stays as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed the weekend of May 13-15 and would like to say that everything from booking our rooms to check out was awesome. The rooms were cozy and very neat and nice. Dawn and Mike made sure we had everything we needed. Even furnished a blanket for my sweetie to carry to the rally Saturday nite. I will stay with them again. i'm already trying to plan my next bike ride up there. First time on bike but can not remember how many times in cars since a child. Mike and Dawn helped make this a very memorialable weekend.
Ken Welch, Rae & L.G. from SC

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Motel & Cottages

Address: 1485 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in beautiful Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains. Open year round and accessible, we have 1, 2 & 3 bedroom Cottages, on & off the creek with a wonderful view of the mountains, pet friendly and free pet sitting, full kitchens, covered porches, motel rooms with 1 or 2 beds & equipped with mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. We have an enclosed gazebo, gas grills, fire pit, picnic tables, wifi. Motorcycle Accessible "We are your home away from home, quaint, cozy & homey!" $45-$129 nt $323-$853 wk. Group discounts & military discount & ski packages available. Close to Cataloochee for winter skiing & tubing vacations, minutes from Harrah's Casino.Next door to the great Smoky Mountains National Park, 3 minutes from the Maggie Valley Festival Grounds. Take a scenic drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway & the "Tail of The Dragon" Ride the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. We are a true "Mom & Pop" business. We will show you genuine mountain hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.