We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for the whole family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
Misty Mountain Ranch
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special discounted stays
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
“A wonderful place for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My wife and I traveled to Maggie Valley with our 3 children numerous times and have yet to be disappointed! There is something for everyone to do there.The inn is located right on a mountain you can climb up some just in the back yard. It even has a beautiful pond in the back with ducks in it. At the ranch my 5 year old absolutely loves feeding the ducks they are a big hit with the kids they love em! Every morning there is a hot and delicious breakfast just waiting to be devoured. After that we have gone out doing many things in the neighborhood. Karen the innkeeper always has great suggestions of places to go and there are some places that give you a discount just for staying at Misty Mountain Ranch. The rooms are immaculately clean and have so much character. Every room we have stayed in has a different theme and they all have a jacuzzi in the room which is so relaxing after a long day of skiiing or white water river wrafting. I recommend this place to everyone I can't think of anything not to love. Great service, food, location, and comfort what more is there?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this cozy bed and breakfast around Christmas and it was the best place we have ever stayed. There is a beautiful pond in the back with tons of ducks which are great if you have children. The suites are absolutely gorgeous with a jacuzzi in every room it was a perfect and romantic getaway for my husband and I. I have come to this bed and breakfast numerous times and will continue to come here in the future. It is convienently located close to ski slopes and white water river wrafting is just a short drive away. I haven't stayed in the cabins yet but they also look very nice. The woman running the B&B is also very delightful and extremely accomodating I would definitely recommend this place to anyone it is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We read a review that raved about this place, and should have looked more into it. It was not worth the time in driving there, or the money we spent staying for one night. Customer service was horrific. When we asked for recommendations to shop or eat, she told us to go to the visitors center in town. Bed was decent, but covered in plastic, which made it hard to adjust body temps.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

The "cabins" are trailers with wood siding on them. They are very tiny, but clean and nicely decorated. For two people it was tight. I can't imagine trying to get four or six in there. The shower was so small we knocked our elbows on the walls and could not bend down to wash our feet. The hot water ran out after 5 minutes, so showering was a start-stop-start experience, in the cold, because the heat did not work properly in our bedroom, so we froze most of the time. There were no extra blankets, so at night it was almost unbearably cold. We did not spend a lot of time in the cabin or on the grounds, so the upkeep of the grounds and the pond didn't bother us. If you're looking for a no-frills place to crash, this is for you. If you are going on a vacation where you are planning on spending most of your time at the cabin or on the grounds, this place probably isn't for you. It's not a resort, by any stretch, and there are no activities on site. Also, the directions could use a little work (maybe add the street names and the distances?) The web site indicates that Mapquest's directions aren't very good and to use the owners' directions instead. The place was still a bit difficult to find.

  • Liked — Close to where we wanted to go
  • Disliked — Very small and not everything worked (shower, heat)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

One of the owners has had a stroke and it shows in the upkeep. We stayed in a "log cabin" which was really a trailer with wood siding. They have 6 trailers in a row in their yard which seemed to lean more on profit for the owners than a good experience for the guests.
The TV didn't work. The shower ran out of hot water in 5 minutes. The grounds needed TLC. Not misty or mountain or a ranch...false advertising. Glad we only stayed 2 days. This is one of the worst B&B stays for us.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My family of 5 spent a couple of nights in one of the cabins. The cabin was very clean and nicely decorated. However, this was more a camper type home than a cabin. The shower was so small anyone over 5'7 could not stand since the celling was so low. The shorter family members (the kids) enjoyed the small areas and the loft which anyone over 3 ft tall must walk on knees. It felt like a club house for the kids, but not very comfortable for the adults. It was very hot and the air conditioner could not do the job to cool down during the day, however the nights were comfortable.

A very big dissapointment was the "fishing pond". We were prepared with all the fishing gear to take the kids fishing. The pond was very small and did not have any fish stocked in it due to the hot weather, per the owner. It would have been nice to have know this before we arrived.

We would not recommend this "cabin" for average to large sized people.

  • Liked — VERY CLEAN
  • Disliked — CEILINGS AND SHOWER WERE VERY SMALL
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Ranch

Address: 561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Misty Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.