We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Ranch

Save Saved
You added Misty Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Misty Mountain Ranch
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Maggie Valley B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time. I always read trip advisor before staying anywhere. There were a couple of bad reviews of this place but the good reviews out weighed the bad. Everything was great for us. Some prior complaints on here were over exaggerated. We stayed in cabin 2 the fisherman's shack. Very clean. Kitchen had basics so we saved a ton of $ by cooking in. Bathroom was small but not as bad as prior reviews let on. I took10-15 min showers and did not run out of hot water as some prior reviews complained of. Bed was soft and not as firm as mine at home, but was clean and comfortable for a few nights stay. We stayed in most nights and watched movies we brought from home on the dvd player. The electric fire place did not work, but left word so they could get it fixed. The elk visited us on our arrival. We fed the ducks our left over biscuits upon departure. We visited the wheels thru time museum during our stay and is a good place for bikers and rodders. Ate at Hurley's and Nutmeg Cafe. Both were great food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Karen is a wonderful hostess and was very accommodating to late night arrivals, misplaced keys, and a messy toddler at breakfast. Our suite was very comfy with nice decor and stocked with free snacks. There was a nice, large jacuzzi tub, coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridge. Our toddler was brought a crib, and he loved running around to see all the ducks and other wildlife wandering around outside. We really had a nice stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in this area. There's not a whole lot to do in Maggie Valley itself, but it's very close to Cherokee and somewhat close to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful area, lovely owner, we stayed in one of the cabins and cabin is mis leading. It is really a mobile home with wood on it. Ours was T-I-N-Y and had a musty smell. Bed was beyond uncomfortable. We cut our stay short due to this, owner did try to accommodate us. Didn't try main building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my wedding that we had in the front yard. Well kept place. Owner is a lovely lady that will make your stay very comfortable. Room was very nice. Breath taking I should say. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Karen, the owner/host was very accomodating and helpful. We stayed in the Popcorn Sutton suite. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The Bed and Breakfast is very quite. It is set outside of the main strip in Maggie Valley, which was very nice to be in a peaceful environment in the mountains. It was so quite, you could hear the stream/river rushing from accross the street. The setting is beautiful. Breakfast was great - actually to much food, and very fresh. I would recommend staying here. The location was also great - close to Ashville and rafting, gambling (if you like - we don't, but it's close) and close to shopping. Thanks for the great stories Karen!! God Bless, Jill and Dan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and quiet. Friendly people and nice views. We'll be back! We want to stay in Popcorn Suit next time! :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, GA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Misty Mountain Ranch for two nights in the Dreamcatcher Suite in mid-February and had a wonderful visit. We felt at home from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. I had mentioned in passing that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and Karen was so sweet to leave cupcakes in the room the night we arrived. We left early one morning (long before the normal 9am breakfast) to head out skiing and Karen worked with us to make sure we had something to eat in our room. On the day we had breakfast in the dining room she made sure to encorporate something kid-friendly that our 4 year old really enjoyed eating (Pancakes, Bacon, Pineapple, Cinnamon Buns, etc.). My husband and I really enjoyed the breakfast too. The room size was perfect for our family of three. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Dream Catcher Suite on the first floor. It had a great porch, a beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misty Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Ranch

Address: 561 Caldwell Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Ranch 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Misty Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.