We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Valley Inn
Save
You added The Valley Inn to your Saves list
236 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

My wife and I came to stay at The Valley Inn for one night on our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The motel was great, rooms were nice and the bed was comfy. The creek out back was VERY relaxing - we even got to get our feet wet a little bit. The best part about the trip was the hospitality we received from the owner, Andy Taylor.
My wife and I couldn't quite get the fire going around back and when Andy saw us struggling, he immediately came to our aide and worked hard to get it going. I think he even burnt himself in the process.
This was the first time I've seen the owner of a motel actually have some care and consideration for the guests.
If you want to stay at a great place and actually receive some hospitality from the owner who really does CARE about the guests, stay here.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    33
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
63
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I would definately recommend this to anyone looking for a place to get away and relax. The rooms were well taken care of, and the gazebo and creek made for and excellent place to relax during the evening. The owner Andy is a real down to earth person and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. I am looking forward to next spring for my next visit. I would also suggest underwood restaurant for a good breakfast.

  • Liked — The trees and the creek running about 40 ft from my room.
  • Disliked — N/A.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

There is not sufficient words to describe The Valley Inn. Home away from Home may be the best I can come up with. Andy the owner is like a friend to anyone who stays there. He goes over the top to make sure you feel welcomed and appreciated at The Valley Inn. We had a group of 22 stay and not one person had a bad word to say! He provided a cookout for the group on Saturday night that was second to none! Andy, please don't ever change your approach to providing the service you offer!

  • Liked — The Owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Let Me Start Off with the good , The inn let us check in early and the room was clean . the beds were comfortable enough.
NOW FOR THE BAD........,there was no in room telephone, only a pay phone in the laundry room for guests to use.
it seemed like people lived in the back rooms year round.
THERE WERE ALOT OF MOTORCYCLE NOISES ALL NIGHT AND DAY .
ONLY HALF OF MY ROOM WAS CLEANED (ONLY MASTER BED,NOT 2 TWIN BEDS)FOR THE 2nd DAY OF MY STAY AND
AFTER SPENDING 7.00$ ON MILK ONLY TO FIND OUT THE NEXT MORNING THE REFRIGERATOR DID NOT WORK.
there was only one blanket in the room for 4 people,and there was a faint musty/moldy smell in the room.
IN A NUT SHELL, I WOULD BE NUTS TO STAY THERE OR ENCOURAGE ANYONE TO STAY THERE..

  • Liked — early check inn
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT, Owner/Operator at The Valley Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
I am sorry you had problems and wish you had notified us while here so we could have made your stay more enjoyable. Upon reading this review we checked the refrigerator and found it to be working and there was 3 blankets in room. 2 of them were on a shelf in the bathroom. We do not have phones in the rooms because we are a quaint Inn and cater to folks on holiday rather than business and most of them use their cellphones. There is a courtesy phone in the coin-op laundry for our guest's convenience and no charge even for long distance. The folks you saw enjoying the back creek side area pavilion were guests and not full time residents. We have these picnic areas and grills for family reunions.etc. who have multiple rooms rented. We are a biker friendly motel as you can read from other posts. Quiet time at our Inn is 11 PM and we pride ourselves on the off the road quiet we strive to protect. We stay on premises and would have been happy to address any motor cycle noise that was considered to disturb our guests. I would like to extend to you a credit for a future stay if you should ever change your mind about visiting The Valley Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Another wonderfull stay at the Valley Inn. Our motorcycle group of about 30 people have been staying at the Valley Inn with Andy and Linda Taylor for the past 8-10 years. Service and accomodations were on the money once again...Thanks! We will be back next July...

Sumter BackTrackers

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

My family and I stayed there for three nights. We had a blast grilling and just being there. We had a blast talking to people we met. It's definitely not like other hotels. It gives you a real sense of happiness.

  • Liked — Nice room, abillity to grill, Outside
  • Disliked — Nothin
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

This places was awesome. The room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. It really has a small-town feel. If you arrive after the office is closed, they leave the key on your bed and the room unlocked. The view out back is unbeatable - a beautiful little creek and lots of trees.

  • Liked — Central location, cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Inn

Address: 236 Soco Road, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn is located in beautiful and scenic Maggie Valley. We are located approximately 8 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, 15 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino, and 18 miles from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you don't want to travel far; you will find shopping, snow tubing, skiing and many other things to do right in town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Maggie
The Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.