We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time, But not Last” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Arthur's Restaurant

J. Arthur's Restaurant
2843 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9500
828-926-1817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First Time, But not Last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The four of us ate an early dinner here on the way to Harrah's in Cherokee last week. We were first in at 4:30 when they open. By the time we left, it was filling up. It is very comfortable rustic. It is large, clean and appears well cared for. We sat in the main dining room and our waiter was prompt and knowledgeable. Our waiter was also just the right attentive. We did have a problem with a wobbly table and we were immediately changed another. The Manager and the waiter took the old table out and replaced it before it got crowded.
We all got the "early bird specials" which consisted of about ten different items and included soup or salad, side and dessert. I had Chicken Parmesan on angel hair pasta, which was much better than I had anticipated. Two of us had vegetable bisque soup which was delicious. Others had a light white fish, chopped steak and a pork chop. The fish and pork were very good and the chopped steak was, well, chopped steak covered with a mushroom gravy. .Ice cream, a hot fudge sundae and sherbet were available desert and we tried all three and all were tasty.
I am sure we will stop for dinner there in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    82
    61
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Food in Maggie Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went to J. Arthurs on a peak evening--a Sat. during the busy summer season--with 22 people and they took great care of us. The food is a great value, the service was spectacular, and the prime rib was delicious. Whether you have a big group, like we did, or just want a good meal with your honey, J. Arthurs is the place to go in Maggie Valley.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ate here twice a week ago during our stay in Maggie Valley. The first time we had the ribs and a trout special., Both were delicious and service was great. The second time we had shrimp cocktails and the NY strip steak. The dinner was fantastic and again the service was great. I love to grill and typically am not that wowed by a steak dinner, especially in a tourist area, but this dinner was exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you happen to be spending a few days in Waynesville/Maggie Valley, and want to eat at a different restaurant each night, J. Arthur's should certainly be in the mix.It is a good place with a varied menu. We took some old friends of ours who were visiting the area, and had a generally good experience. My wife's and my food and service were fine. One of our friends did not receive the most attentive service, and was personally disappointed. The waitress was certainly kind to him, but seemed forgetful concerning his requests. As well, his shrimp plate portions were smaller than she said they would be. Not a real "biggie," but still, it is no fun making multiple requests for things. It is a good place, but not a great place, and you will get your money's worth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplico, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Server was friendly and made sure our food and experience was pleasant. Food was awesome! I really enjoyed the cheese sticks and marinara sauce! I wanted more! Atmosphere and restaurant was very nice! Husband liked the pulled pork sandwich w. fries/bbq sauce. 1st time here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Arthur's Restaurant also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to J. Arthur's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Arthur's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.