We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J. Arthur's Restaurant

J. Arthur's Restaurant
2843 Soco Rd, Maggie Valley, NC 28751-9500
828-926-1817
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Maggie Valley
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The prime rib is amazing here! The staff is courteous and prompt. They were accommodating and kind. We will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    82
    61
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

First time there and cannot wait to return. The shrimp cocktail was excellent...delicious, firm, large shrimp. Blue cheese dressing on the salad was perfect. I had the bone-in pork chop with caramelized brussel sprouts, mushrooms and bacon in a bourbon coffee sauce over white cheddar grits that was absolutely heaven on a plate!! To say we were surprised by how much we enjoyed this meal would be an understatement. The service and hospitality was wonderful! Definitely the gem of Maggie Valley dining.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the same as it was in CTN orFla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very disappointing Gorgonzola Salad way to small for the price, way to much oil. Christmas atmosphere great as usual.
Won't be back for a while

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“charming place, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This places has an amazing decoration, the Christmas tree is beautiful you can tell that they care is really great. Now the food is tasty is home made with a gourmet touch.
It is great for kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Big city food in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have eaten here many times over the years, and it just keeps getting better! We were traveling thru Maggie on our way back from Harrah's. We could have eaten there, but chose to wait for J Arthur's. It was worth the wait! We live in a large city and travel a great deal, so we dine out often. J Arthur's is right up there with the best. First time for my husband and he was quite surprised and pleased. The value is also incredible - great service, delicious food, one of our favorite bottles of wine - total, including 20% gratuity, $82!!!! Where else do you find that?!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Arthur's Restaurant also viewed

Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Maggie Valley, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to J. Arthur's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Arthur's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.