We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirmed memories of previous visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas to your Saves list
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4324 Soco Road (U.S. Highway 19), Maggie Valley, NC   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Maggie Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Confirmed memories of previous visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent the best 5 days prior to New Years through the 2nd at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas in Maggie Valley, NC (12/29/13 - 1/2/14). We recalled that the Inn was cozy, clean, amenable, relaxing, and certainly was a must stay when we stayed here in January of 2009 and returned again in February 2009. On our return visit this past weekend, to rekindle memories of 09's Winter visits and skiing, we were warmly pleased. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, just right. The creek, the views, the cozy lodge, the service, the hot tub, the indoor pool, kids play ground, the architecturally designed decking is certainly a must to experience. We will always return to Jonathan Creek Inn and & Villas in Maggie Valley, NC.
Its location to fine dining, e.g. Hurley's, Joey's Pancake House, Chattahoochee Ski and Tubing is 'fantastic.'

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Wow, What a great review, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
We're glad that we were able to meet all of your expectations that you had from your last
visit.

See you again soon!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    71
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
107
143
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at Jonathan Creek Inn for one night in November. The inn had a very welcoming feel about it and seemed as though it would be a great place for families. In fact, they had already decorated for Christmas and the lobby had a home away from home feel to it. The staff was very friendly. In fact, they were in the process of renovating and although I did not request they do so, they upgraded me to a creekside room at no additional charge. My room was clean and comfortable. The rates were reasonable and I look forward to staying there again...hopefully, for more than just one night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate the time you took to write a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to your new "home"
in the mountains soon.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We converged on Maggie Valley with a group of 12 motorcycles and 20 people. We chose the Jonathan Creek Inn because (1) of its location in the middle of the area we were riding in and (2) some friends had stayed there several years ago and had good things to say about the motel.

When I contacted the motel and talked to Alice, she could not have been friendley and more accomidating. The motel itself was clean and well appointed. There is no on site restaurant but there is a great restaurant next door and a great breakfast place across the street,

The rooms were clean and well equiped. The back door to the rooms opened to a large deck and gazebo area that bordered on a clear running creek in back of the motel. The gazebo area quickly became a gathering point not only for us but other guest at the motel as well.

The bottom line is the motel was a great place for us to stay. The service was exceptional and the rates were reasonable. We will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for writing you review. We've been doing a lot of upgrades to the rooms since your stay
in October so when you come back again we hope you enjoy it even more!
Hope you had a great Holiday Season!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here two nights in December 2013. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby contains a gift shop, plus sells things that you may have forgotten at home (toothbrush, deodorant, ibuprofen, etc), plus there is hot chocolate available for free. The pool was just the right temperature, and the hot tub out back, while older, was really nice. The creek is beautiful, and they have done an excellent job making it a pleasant place to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The rooms, while on the smaller side (not a big deal for us), were very clean and well-maintained. The beds are comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Happy New Year!
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have stayed here at Jonathan's Creek Inn several times and each time I feel like I am coming home one more time. We feel so safe here and the staff is excellent in responding when you need something. It is always yes mam here. Oh and Brandy, she is a doll. She does an excellent job of taking care of cleaning the rooms to perfection. I have talked with her and the maintenance guy, and also just about everyone that works the front desk and they all feel like family. Could not ask for a better place to stay.
We will be back very soon. Save us a room on the first floor because these old bones cant take many stairs any more. :)
Cant wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: Room right on the creek with screen porch. Very quite except for the rushing of the water that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Judy,
We're glad you enjoyed your visit again. Remember HOME is where the heart is.
We hope you come home again soon. I'll make sure Brandy reads your review. My part of the heaven experience here, is being blessed with such a great caring staff!
Happy Holidays!
Jeff and the staff at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our first stay at Jonathan Creek Inn. We stayed in a room on the first floor with a King bed and a screened in back porch. We arrived on Wed the day before Thanksgiving and it was snowing all day and very cold. We arrived and were welcomed by the friendly staff. Our room was very nice and clean and we were surprised to see hardwood floors in the room, a very nice touch to the matching wood furniture. The back screened in porch looked out onto the rolling water creek and it was very nice, plenty of space and wood benches to sit and enjoy the nice snow. We were very surprised at how well maintained and kept this place was. You can tell that the owners really take pride in their hotel and keep it very well maintained. We very much enjoyed the lobby of the hotel where you could get hot coffee or cider all day long and sit and play board games or read a book by a fireplace. We have stayed in Maggie Valley many times and enjoy eating at Joey's Pancake House during our stay and it is right across the street. Also Jonathan Creek Inn is just a few blocks from the tubing hill where you can ride inner tubes down a snowy hill, they had plenty of snow and was still making snow while we were there. Again this is a nice place and we hope to come back with friends and stay in one of the Villas. Thanks again Jonathan Creek Inn staff for a great 3 night stay, we had a blast going to the Grove Park Inn for Thanksgiving brunch in Asheville and riding the Polar Express in Bryson. Our children had a blast and we will be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a downstairs room with a screened in porch, they are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks so much for writing such a great review! Since your visit over Thanksgiving, we have removed all of our vanity tops, sinks and counter tops and replaced them with granite. We have also completed 16 more rooms of flooring. We will have 17 rooms left to do after January 5th. The project will be done in January about 2 months ahead of schedule.
We look forward to your return! Happy holidays!
Jeff Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am a road warrior at my job and rely on the big chain hotels to avoid "surprises" around the world. Routine and expectations are critical, so I stay where I know. When I stumbled across the Jonathan on TA (we were looking for a weekend road trip "base camp"), I was intrigued, but still wanted to book at a nearby chain. My bride (of twenty-eleven years) convinced me to roll the dice.

What a delight! Well appointed rooms with Jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, and lots of amenities. But the real ambiance is outside. Many decks at different levels along the creek, chairs and benches abound, a few hammocks, and some charcoal grills.

There is a stellar restaurant next door that has creek-side dining; and there are a couple of good breakfast joints on the main drag (one across the street).

This is my first excellent rating on TA as I hold those for places unique and distinct. The Jonathon's beautiful grounds and well appointed (equal to / better than major chains) rooms met all of my expectations. If relaxing dining / grilling / enjoying a drink in the forest next to a stream (with a creek-side screened-in hot tub!) is your idea of pleasure, the Jonathan provides it all, with your bedroom just steps away!!!

Upon checkout, I mentioned to the missus of the property that the Jonathon was clearly a labor of love - and yes, she fully concurred.

Room Tip: The website has good details. In example, some rooms have screened in balconies, others very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribret, Owner at Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
What a great review! Thanks we appreciate it so very much. You are right, It is a never ending Labor of Love to operate the Jonathan Creek Inn. Luckily we have an unbelievable staff, that loves it as much as we do.
We are in the process of doing several upgrades to the property, including all new wood floors and granite countertops on all the bathroom vanities.
We hope you come back and see us soon.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas

Address: 4324 Soco Road (U.S. Highway 19), Maggie Valley, NC
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maggie Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous property with great mountain views and an unbelievable creekside settings. Rooms with lots of decks, some with Hot Tubs, fireplaces. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers all rooms. All rooms recently renovated. Villas/cabins that sleep from 2-18. Fully Equipped with everything you need, plus your own hot tub! Outdoor public hot tub overlooking the creek, Indoor pool. Children's playground. Best location for skiing and being centrally located to all of the areas attractions. Try one of our wonderful creekside rooms with your own private screened porch. Gazebo, Picnic area, Trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan Creek Inn And Villas Hotel Maggie Valley
Jonathan Creek Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.