We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of home in Maggie Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Motel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Chalet Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Motel & Apartments
48 Holland Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Maggie Valley
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A piece of home in Maggie Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent two nights at The Chalet in Maggie Valley, NC. This is a charming little place. The owners, a husband and wife, and Patty, the cleaning lady, are so friendly. They gave us several recommendations that we were glad to follow. One thing they advised us to do was to go see the elk that were introduced to the area a few years ago. Great idea! This motel is small but is one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. We stayed in the "cottage" and were very pleased. We had a king sized bed, a kitchen, and a private hot tub. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had originally chosen a cabin that turned out to be dirty. My husband tried the Jonathan Creek Inn; they were booked but recommended the Chalet.
Pros: The warmest, most hospitable owner ever; extremely clean; spacious rooms (we got the 2-bedroom and it was the same space as a cabin would have been); nice landscaping & nuge yard for the kids to play; owner offered to lower heat & chemicals in the hot tub so kids could enjoy it; big porch & seemingly no bugs so we ate outside most of the time; cozy, comfortable, homey - not fancy or upscale but true country comfort; extra touches like pool towels for the hottub, outdoor toy bin for kids, etc. Could have stayed a month (only stayed 4 nights).
Cons: Can hear road traffic on Route 19 if you open front windows; summer view a little obstructed from tree leaves but still heavenly in the distance.
Will never forget the warmth of the owner & the general aura of hospitality about the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

The Chalet in Maggie Valley was very relaxing and so homey. Every room has a special touch, king size beds, hot tubs, fireplaces, kitchen. All was very clean and quiet. The views were even different from the patio's off from the rooms. Also private.
The owners are on the site which gave us a secure feeling when you had to leave for the day to site see or eat out. The owners are very nice and helpful. We will stay their again on our travels in the future.

  • Liked — spacious and relaxing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, S.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

My husband and I love to stay at The Chalet in Maggie Valley. I think it has to be some of the nicest rooms in town. Exceptionally clean and neat. The views are great. We love the rooms because of how large and roomy they are with the nice addition of a kitchen. You can't ask for much more out of a room in the Valley.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

The first weekend of august i spent the night at the chalet . It is a very nice place up on a hill. the weather was raining, but the accomdations at the place made up for the dreary weather. the room was very nice, clean and very spacious. The owners were very nice and were willing to help in any way if needed. If you ever go the maggie valley and need a place to stay, go visit the chalet, you won't regret it. erm

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel & Apartments

Address: 48 Holland Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chalet Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.