We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplugging never felt so good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cataloochee Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maggie Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cataloochee Ranch
Save
You added The Cataloochee Ranch to your Saves list
119 Ranch Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unplugging never felt so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We snuck out of town to the Cataloochee Ranch to enjoy the beautiful scenery and some quiet time. We didn't expect it to be this fantastic! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming!! The food was fantastic; home cooked dinner and breakfast did not leave you hungry. Forget about saving room for dessert, the stomach stretch will be worth it. Music with Jeanie was such a treat! We went horseback riding and Alex was awesome. The view is unbeatable and the quality time spent together will have us coming back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We almost didn’t stay here due to a couple older bad reviews. That would have been a mistake. My daughter wanted to ride for the whole weekend and fortunately Chattahoochee had an opening. We rode two mornings and one afternoon. We did the Navitat zipline the day before (way worth the time and money) and went whitewater rafting the day after we left Cattahoochee.

1 - the views are SPECTACULAR; if your soul needs to get recharged by being reminded how beautiful the great outdoors is then this is a great place to go.

2 – these are the best overall “publically available” horses we’ve ever seen (my daughter is a big rider/jumper so she knows good horses when she sees them). They had horses for the beginner through advanced. On one trip we discovered that one group of riders was with us who classified themselves as better riders than they should have which normally would have meant limited trotting and no cantering, so one of the two guides with us said “let’s break off and go another route where we can let them run a bit” How AWESOME is that?

3 – rooms/cabins. We stayed in the Silver bell lodge and the room was attractive, spacious and clean with all expected amenities and the best views ever.

4 – food – OK I’m a bit of a spoiled snob as I travel the world with a very generous expense account so I get to eat very well. The first night was terrific with BBQ ribs and Chicken, excellent salads and casseroles with an extensive and tasty selection of deserts. Breakfast both days where typical: lots of fresh fruits, oatmeal/grits, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, juices and coffee. Lunch was grilled hamburgers and hotdogs, beans, etc.+ many deserts. Dinner the second night was steaks, salads, potatoes, etc. {while not Ruth’s Chris they were tasty} + multi-deserts and all served with some of the best views ever. Yes; it’s true this is not the place to go if you’re solely going there to eat, in which case might I recommend almost anywhere in Italy or France, but the food quality ranged from good to most excellent which is more than I can say for the great nation of England :>) {sorry about that mate – no offense to your mum}

5 – wine – the selection was very good AND the pour was almost to the rim so for $8 I got what a typical restaurant would charge $15-$20.

6 – fishing – the pond was full of fish and in 90 minutes we had caught 6 nice trout. They’ll actually let you take them to the kitchen, if you like, then serve them to you for lunch or dinner. We did catch and release however.

7 – nice – the staff ranged from very nice to exceptionally helpful.

8 – did I mention the views yet? Again hiking and riding their trails is fabulous as is simply sitting in a chair looking out across the mountains.

I wrote this review because I didn’t want anyone to miss out on a great time. If another ranch had been available we would have gone there based on the couple older, poor reviews we saw. There’s no accounting for personal taste or demeanor so I always try to determine how the reviewer might be biased as I read both glowing and scathing reviews as should you.

All that said, I’m glad we went and we’ll be back. BTW, it seemed that 2/3’s of the people there had previously been there and I can see why they have a large amount of repeat clientele.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at the Ranch. We first booked a room that was upstairts, very small I must say, so we decided to upgrade to a better one for an extra $20. This room was spacious, had a jacuzzi and a beautiful view of the hills. Breakfast and dinner were included, the food was good. There was one thing that made me and my husband a very unconfortable. Dinner is served family style, so everybody shares the platters. Well, there was this big family sitting with us at the table and I think they didn't know that we are supposed to share, because it felt very unconfortable and awkard when I asked them to pass one of the platters. I think the staff needs to make sure everyone understands how everything goes so nobody feels bad.
Nobody else spent that night in the Main Ranch House, so we were all by ourselves, wich was nice. We enjoyed the fire place, they told us we can help ourseves to water and pepsi in the kitchen.
Its a wonderful place to stay, the surroundings are beautiful, itis very peaceful and relaxing. The ski area is a mile away, not bad! The cabin itself is beautiful, solid wood everywhere, very rustic. We booked our ski tickets fromthem too, and we got a great deal. $75 per person (ski lift + equipment rental + a beginner class) from 1pm to 10 pm.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have been thinking of checking out skiing in the Northeast for a few months, but waited till the last minute to plan this weekend get away. We weren't sure if the skiing would be a bust or not so we needed a place that would be entertaining regardless. We were not disappointed. We opted to rent rooms at the main ranch house, so we could be close to the action. Besides having the greatroom as our living room we felt as if the entire staff was there to wait on us alone. There was always snacks and drinks available at our request and when dinner was served it was 10 steps from our door. The hugh fireplace was kept constantly a blaze and we found it quite comfortable to sit at the coffe table and play games. There was always someone to chat if your friendly. We love this place and the ski package they offered us for the weekend. $75 a day got your equipment, all day lift tickets (9am to 10pm) and a beginner class if you wanted it. Because we stayed at the ranch we were able to pick up all of our equipment the night before and therefore avoid the lines on Saturday morning. What a difference it made!! The only thing we couldn't get ahead of time was the beginner class. I got up early saturday morning (6:30) threw on some clothes and drove right up to the ticket building, put our kids on the list and went back to the ranch house to have a leisurely breakfast before heading over for a full day of skiing. We arrived at 9am and the lines were impossibly long, but no worries we didn't have to wait in any of them. Our kids went off to boarding class and we hit the slopes. Since this review is about Cataloochee Ranch I won't detail the skiing here, but it was decent. Similar to spring skiing in Colorado. Lots of slush, but it was 56 degrees after all.
At lunch we stayed on the slopes and took advantage of the "little red wagon" lunch truck sent over from the Ranch. The same staff that over see's the Ranch kitchen works this portable lunch wagon. They recognized our family and with big smiles asked if we would like to charge our luch to our room account or pay cash. We choose to pay cash, but thought the charge account would have been a hugh convenience if we had choosen not to carry cash. Around every corner the staff of the Ranch was working to make sure we had the relaxing vacation we were hoping for. It was worth the extra money we spent to enjoy this wonderful property and the southern hospitality they are known for.
One area that has room for improvement was the food. We are not gourmets, but like most people we know good food when its served. We all agreed the food was meadiocre at best. We used a lot of salt and pepper to help with flavor. they did have a wonderful offering of jams and jellys with the warm dinner rolls that were served and the custard pie they served for dessert was delicious. Breakfast was a dull affair; with just cold items, cereal, muffins, yogurt and the like. We did ask to take some extra muffins with us to the slopes and the staff encouraged us to take whatever we liked. They seem to really enjoy what they do and know that its their service that makes the difference between having a good time and having a great one! We incourage anyone who is considering this as a possible destination to book it without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Galax & Trillium rooms. the beds are flat and hard compared to what we normall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The cabin we stayed in was so cozy and had all the ammenities we could ask for. The grounds were beautiful, and we are already planning to return this Summer to horseback ride and go fishing. However, the best thing about our stay was the southern hospitality and delicious home cooking! We couldn't have been more comfortable than if we had been in our own homes. We can't wait to return again, and again and make visiting Cataloochee Ranch one of our family traditions. By the way, the previous comments about awful, tasteless, frozen food, could not be farther from the truth. The baked chicken and homemade biscuits were just like Grandma's. I feel they must have another issue with the ranch because the sweet cook and delicious food were the highlights of our stay! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Everything thats comes out of that kitchen is either boxed, canned, or frozen. Im not sure if the cook there knows how to cook anything good. It was underseasoned and over done. The fried chicken there was a joke, it comes out of the freezer. I mean I thought I was in the south but no self respecting southerner would serve frozen fried chicken to a guest. I will not come back here for the prices they change as long as they comntinue to serve cafeteria food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I love this place. It is the epitome of the Southern Blueridge Mountains. It is a place where the food is outstanding, the views are unimaginably beautiful and the cabins are rustic, (perfect to complete the experience). There are fireplaces in all the cabins. The main lodge has an enormous fireplace, taller than me! It is completely different than any hotel experience, or even b&b. It is so wonderful. You just have to stay to believe it. There are other negative reviews here. But I truly believe that most people only take the time to write a review, when they are venting. Everyone else just books their cabin again for next year. This is a one-of-a-kind experience. Don't miss it.
Mamie Pound
The Rothschild-Pound House Inn
Columbus, Georgia

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins have a view. If you like rustic, ask for one. Otherwise choose a newer cabin wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cataloochee Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cataloochee Ranch

Address: 119 Ranch Drive, Maggie Valley, NC 28751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Maggie Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Maggie Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Cataloochee Ranch Hotel Maggie Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cataloochee Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.