We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3530 Capuano Drive, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Edgewood, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from Florida. We stayed here because we were too tired to drive any more that night and we had a coupon from a travel guide. The room was ok nothing fancy. The bed was just so so not very comfortable but not too uncomfortable either. The location is right off the highway so it is very noisy but once you can get to sleep then it is fine. The hotel is ok just for one night but I wouldn't want to spend an extending period of time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    37
    20
    26
See reviews for
58
34
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Like many other review writers, we just needed a place to stay the night. We booked last minute and were able to get a room on the first floor. Long story short, we got there late and went to be bed around 1 only to jump out of bed around 4:30 am due to multiple gun shots and a woman screaming outside of where we were staying. 911 was called and informed us the gun shots came from the motel. The lady at the desk said it was a few kids playing with guns across the street (which I believe she was just saying to keep her customers). The room was as good as it gets for a overnight stay at a motel but if you're looking to be safe, I wouldn't recommend this motel. Overall, scary experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Rooms were clean and well furnished. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked room at the last minute from the road. They made sure we had a crib ready for our 9 month old when we checked in late.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I read other reviews some were good others not so good, but i decided to stay Feb. 13, 2014 over night. I had a peaceful sleep, no noise and it was clean. No bad smell. The hotel is in a nice location right off of hwy 95. I didn't have far to go. The young lady at the front desk, she was very very friendly and she made me feel welcome. I drove 6 hours and in the morning I was getting up to do the other six hours and again my sleep was good. I was a little afraid at first because I was there alone. The area was pretty well lit. I'm glad I made reservations because there was others who was trying to get a room and they was all booked. I didn't get breakfast the next morning so I really can't comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

In brief, my 4-day/3-night stay was most accommodating! From the price (Sat.-Tues.), location, management and entire staff to the very comfortable room, I felt welcomed as an important guest! I am happy to give this location a "very good" rating and will expect the same next time, as when in this area again I won't have to "shop", i know where I'll be staying! Way to go - HoJo!

Room Tip: 2nd floor offers nice balcony w/chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton

Address: 3530 Capuano Drive, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.