We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke detector in the hall kept going off so the clerk just...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3530 Capuano Drive, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Lumberton
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    28
    16
    25
See reviews for
51
27
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton on July 3 on our way to DC for the 4th. We were only there for one night and arrived late at that. The hotel met our needs-- warm shower, AC, bed, WiFi, TV, and refrigerator. We arrived late but check-in was easy. We were given a King size room on the 1st floor.

The décor was a bit dated, but we weren't expecting the Ritz Carlton. I appreciated the in-room appliances (coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator). The room also featured a sliding glass door that led to the parking area. This was convenient when we were loading our car the next morning.

My one complaint would be the linens. The sheets and blanket were quite thin. It wasn't a huge deal since we were travelling in July, but could be an issue for some guests.

For the price, I would certainly stay at this hotel in the future. Lumberton happens to be exactly halfway between Jacksonville and Washington, D.C. which makes it a convenient place to stop for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Room needed some TLC. Bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Staff was polite. We were gone by the time breakfast was set up so no opinion on that. Good for one night. Excellent price. Convenient to many restaurants. Close to 95. Outdated decor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor especiallly if you are a woman travelling alone. Big sliding glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited this hotel for a couple of nights recently on the recommendation of friends, and knowing we would not spend much time in the room during our stay. We will choose another hotel next time. This hotel is very old, and though there have been a few things done to improve the outward appearance, it is not nearly enough. The bed slept very well, and we have no complaints there. The shower was good, and the bathroom was well-lit. However, the one outlet available in the bathroom would not allow the plug of my hair appliance or the room's iron to stay in the outlet -- it kept falling out and was unusable. They do have a regular hair dryer on the wall, but that was not sufficient for my needs. The bathroom switch is in the place where the second socket would normally be, so there was only the one outlet socket in there and, because of the location of the light switch, it would not accomodate a larger plug like is seen on many hair dryers and appliances. The floor, wall and tub needed attention and the shower rod, while bowed and giving ample room for showering without touching the curtain, was corroding. The bath towels were stained. There was no soap tray for the soap at the sink, so it had to stay on the counter which made a mess. The fan automatically came on when turning on the bathroom light, so the noise was excessive and could not be turned off when the fan wasn't needed. I usually use a night light in the bathroom in this instance and carry one in my travel bag. However, it would not stay plugged in the outlet, so was useless.
I needed to use the iron, but the ironing board was not only in poor shape, it was very unsteady and I didn't leave the hot iron sitting on it to cool because I feared it may fall off. The iron worked fine. Because I could not use the bathroom outlet and there are very few outlets available in the whole room, we moved slightly the refrigerator cabinet and unplugged the refrigerator to use that outlet. Fortunately, there was a mirror over the dresser close enough to use it for styling my hair, and we were certain to plug the fridge back in each day after I used the outlet. The room also had a microwave, which we did not use, and a coffee maker. We didn't use the coffee maker based on the fact that the lid was left standing open by housekeeping and allowed dust, etc. to fall into it. The carpet was burned and discolored, and there was a very well-used recliner in the room. The room, chair and carpeting were very dark. There was a small balcony with a sliding door and a pull floor-length curtain. However, the curtain only opened from the end by the wall separating our room from the next, and where the glare of the light hit the TV directly beside that window. The other end did not open at all. If it had, it would have solved the problem. A rod, easily lifted for opening from the inside, was used to keep the sliding door from being opened from the outside. We kept the end of the curtain slightly opened so the outside light would help if one of us needed to get up during the night.
The carpet in the hallways was stained, and the front glass of the vending machine on our floor was broken. The machine was not well stocked. There is no restaurant, but they offer a sort of continental breakfast in the VERY small lobby with minimal seating. The coffee was more like stained water, and the pastry we had was very dry. After the first day of that, we went to the nearby Cracker Barrell for breakfast.
The condition of this hotel and the room made me question whether it was actually cleaned very well between guests. I do not know that it was not, but with the stained towels, carpet, and condition of the hotel overall, it did not feel clean to me personally. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful with directions, etc. and were always available if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Keeping in mind that we only paid a small amount for the room, we would have to say that the hotel was more than acceptable. Front counter staff were delightful, friendly and extremely helpful. We had a ground floor unit with front and back access and it was clean and tidy. The carpets were clean but old and should be replaced. Bathroom was very clean. All facilities worked correctly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton

Address: 3530 Capuano Drive, I-95 Exit 20, Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Lumberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Lumberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumberton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lumberton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lumberton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.