We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood, A Few Minutes from I-95” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 41 Seafood

Pier 41 Seafood
2401 E Elizabethtown Rd, Lumberton, NC 28358-3223
910-738-8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Lumberton
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, A Few Minutes from I-95”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second visit to Pier 41 (see below for our first review...posted elsewhere and copied here). Our experience this year was exactly as before. The place was full of locals and the staff was friendly as ever. Sweet tea was just right and we needed a refill on our Hushpuppies they were so good.

I couldn't resist the fried oysters again although I mixed in some scallops. Both were cooked perfectly and were fresh. My wife got the broiled oysters which, I must admit, were even better than the fried. The portion was huge. I think she got 4 dozen oysters on her plate. It's easy to over cook oysters...but these weren't. I'm going to change my order for our visit next year.

If you're on I-95 near Lumberton at dinner time, take the very short trip to Pier 41. You'll be happy you did.

**************************
March 2012 Review...

Driving through NC on I-95, we had a strong desire for some local seafood. We did a search on our smartphone and found Pier 41. When we drove up on a Friday evening, the parking lot was full, so we thought we might have found the right place. We were not disappointed.

What first struck us was the unassuming dining room. No pretension here...this was a friendly place, populated by locals. It seemed everyone knew someone. We sat right away (while the lot was full, service is quick so they are constantly turning over their tables) and were greeted by a friendly server. Hushpuppies came out quickly and were wonderful. Just a little sweet, and not greasy.

My wife and I couldn't resist getting fried oysters, our favorite. The portions were generous (I got the large order, my wife got the small). These were among the best I've had, and I've had plenty of fried oysters in my 50 years of eating. They were crispy but not burnt. The bellies were cooked but not slimy.

The owner came and sat with us for a few minutes and we talked basketball :). He told us about the community and some of the interesting people he serves every week. And of the busboy that he helped grow up a little with some gentle mentoring - and is now a soldier in the Army (the young man was eating at a nearby table).

The experience was topped off by a friendly local that caught us in the parking lot and, seeing our out of state plates, encouraged us to watch our for crazies on the highway. All in all a great experience. One we will repeat next time through Lumberton.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Pier 41 Seafood, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Peter
I really appreciate your review. I am glad you and your wife enjoyed the seafood so much and I agree that the broiled Oysters are even better. We look forward to your next trip through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    32
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were stopping in Lumberton on our way to FL so I read Trip Adviser reviews and went to Pier 41. Very popular place, really a local, family place. Had very good food and somehow(!) people around us could tell we were from NY. A group stopped by the table to welcome us and people talked to us from other tables. Someone we later found out was the owner was sitting talking with people at another table then came over to us. When he found out we hadn't had the popcorn-type shrimp, he gave us an order and it was light and delicious. Just be aware that there is no alcohol served or brought in. The owner told us he wants the restaurant to have a family atmosphere and that alcohol does not always promote that feeling. And the restaurant was packed with local families. But they may have to wait on line when all these reviews get around!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Pier 41 Seafood, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hey guys
Thank you for writing a great review for us. We are glad you enjoyed both the food and the Southern Hospitality!! I don't know how we knew you were not from around here, just a lucky guess! Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

After seeing reviews here we expected more than average food. My broiled plate was ok but my wife's fried plate was served cold. Prices are low. Place seems to be local favorite with big takeout business. There is no wine or beer served.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Pier 41 Seafood, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Good morning,
I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We custom cook all plates to order so the issue of food that is not hot should not have happened. Please accept my apology. Hopefully we will get the chance to serve you again and you have my word that we will work hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent Fried Seafood Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I stopped for dinner on our way home from Florida, after seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was Friday evening, the restaurant was full, and we waited about 20 minutes for a table. It was worth the wait. The fried shrimp and catfish dinner and hush puppies were fresh, lightly battered, and delicious. The restaurant staff was very friendly and welcoming, although we were one of only a few people dining that were not locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Pier 41 Seafood, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Frank
Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed serving you and your wife the other day and also enjoyed visiting with you. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip south. Have a wonderful day.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fried seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stopped here while traveling 95. This place is a large room with florescent lights. Most of the patrons are local and have probable been coming here for years. The fried fish was well prepared. The hush pupies are made with white flour. This is basically your best choice. Fried Fish, colesslaw, fries and hush pupies. The meal was incredible cheap. The owner came over and sat with us and we talked about life. We had a great evening and we felt we got a real sense of life in small town North Carolina. No liquor, sweet tea and soda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Owner at Pier 41 Seafood, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hey guys
Thanks for the great review. I also enjoyed the time with you and look forward to your next trip down. Hopefully the snow will leave you alone!
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 41 Seafood also viewed

Lumberton, North Carolina Coast
Lumberton, North Carolina Coast
 
Lumberton, North Carolina Coast
Lumberton, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pier 41 Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 41 Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.