We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling and stopped in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh House

Fresh House
805 Main St W, Locust, NC 28097-9717
704-888-1460
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Locust
Restaurant details
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Traveling and stopped in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Traveling and took a suggestion and stopped in to try. The restaurant is nice, clean and presents the appearance of the old general store. I had not read other reviews so didn't know what to expect, but I was concerned with the taste of the meal. I had the meatloaf, and my wife got the keisch and salad. The sauce was not as expected and the meat was not the flavor I had hoped for. The vegetables and cornbread were good and service was best you could ask for. My wife 's meal was also bland tasting.

For desert, we had pecan pie and blackberry cobbler. The pecans had a stale taste to them, but the cobbler was very good, Others reviews had high praise, so maybe I should have ordered something else. I will give them a second try in the future but today was not so good. Meal cost us $25.00.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Are you for real”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate there once because we had heard so many people say how good it was. Well it may have been good but for the price my bowl of chicken dumplings was so small and I paid way touch for them, I should have went to Cracker Barrel.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family Style Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were a group of 10 famished for lunch after a long hike. The service was efficient and pleasant. Four at my end of the table had salmon burger sandwiches which were tasty, satisfying. We had our coffees refilled so many times we were all humming by the time we left to head back to Charlotte. (I'm jaded in the cream department and would prefer a fresh pitcher rather than those little plastics, but not the end of the world). Lots of goodies for sale up front. Very relaxing. Nice stop along the way.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fresh House in Locust NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Wait time was short for a Friday night. Food was very good. Family style atmosphere. Service was quick and small town friendly. The "ships store" had many items for everyone. Good time, good food, great prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

A friend insisted that we give Fresh House a try. It's about 19 miles from our home, so one afternoon we thought it would be a nice drive. From the outside it looks really friendly and stepping inside is the same. You enter into an old country store and will like me see some things that you haven't seen since your childhood. I had the country fried steak with mashed potatoes, black eyed peas with onion and corn bread. Hubby had a sloppy hamburger that had everything but the kitchen sink...even chili. Both were fantastic! Hubby had a homemade apple dumpling with homemade vanilla ice cream that was delish! If you are just out riding and not hungry, stop in and take a look at their homemade bakery items and the daily homemade ice cream choices. You won't be disappointed. All of the staff is super friendly. Just a nice place to slip back in time to the simpler things. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh House also viewed

 

Been to Fresh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.