We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Restaurant

Chalet Restaurant
86 High Ridge Rd, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
828-765-2153
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious & Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A earlier negative review gave us pause, but we're glad we went for dinner. Our waiter, Cory, was attentive and courteous, the food was very good, and the reasonably priced house wine was smooth and tasty. The Swiss inspired atmosphere contributed to the ambience. I inadvertently left my purse at the table, and both Cory and the manager came to the hotel lobby to find me and return it. I recommend the pecan encrusted trout!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A DELIGHTFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On my annual vacation in NC I make a point of going to lunch at this lovely spot. Excellent food, great service and views to die for. The staff is friendly and attentive, the food choices are great and the quality and quantity is fabulous. Outdoors on the terrace is the perfect spot for people traveling with pets. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch right off the parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Great burgers (charcoal grilled no less). Great service (thanks Jeff!). Great views to boot. We will definitely make this a must stop on our future October leaf tours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The restaurant is very convenient if you are traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The menu had a few choices for lunch and our food was good. The service was slow but it appeared to be our waitress. Other guests with different servers had quicker service. Everyone was pleasant. We would definitely go again if we were on the parkway and the timing was right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Pot Roast Better Than Mom's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We senior motorcycle enthusiasts stayed at the Inn for a few nights and had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the integral restaurant, and one night at the bar. We were never disappointed. Never. Breakfasts are served indoors in the nice room with a great view. The fare is normal eggs and related items, but no yogurt! Okay, no problem. Lunch we had outside a few times - reuben sandwiches, chicken salad, shrimp salad, healthful things and not, all pretty good. I'd skip the lobster, however. The view, atmosphere and the service were terrific. And... my wine glass was appropriately filled up, not just 1/3 as too many restaurants tend to do. That's definitely worth an additional dot. Dinner one night at the bar - which does tend to get crowded some nights - consisted of decent pub food, like brats and beers, and shrimp baskets. Dinner another night, again outside, with live music in the background, consisted of the best pot roast I've had in a half century. My mate's filet on a chopped salad was also exceptional. That night, the two of us paid $85 for dinner, which included a few Fat Tires and a highly caloric dessert, a pretty good deal. We missed the seafood buffet, but that's hardly the reason we chose the place and, as with the hotel, we're very much looking forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant also viewed

 
Little Switzerland, NC
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.