We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Restaurant

Chalet Restaurant
86 High Ridge Rd, Little Switzerland, NC 28749
828-765-2153
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a view and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A true gem of a discovery. Right off the Blue Ridge parkway (mile marker 334) with an exceptional view. The area right outside the patio had plenty of room to let the kids (we had 14) run around while the food was being prepared. Staff was great. Very good food from the cheeseburger to the smoked trout sandwich.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“I think the chef stayed home!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Here's our impression of the Chalet restaurant:

The concept and menu are well thought out. It seemed to us that a competent chef created the menu and then dropped it in an overwhelmed and under trained staff's lap. The food was downright terrible! Even the hamburgers our children ordered were severely overcooked. The onion soup is right out of a soup box with croutons and cheese added. The salads were fair at best. My fish was beyond well done and the "pasta cake" was the absolute worst menu item we have ever experienced. My wife's chicken was under seasoned and the risotto was sticky, however it was the only item we ate that was seasoned well. The staff was unimpressive. Unfortunately, this horrible experience cost us 100 bucks. When you stay at the Switzerland Inn, take the time to travel when you want to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Made to feel welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My friends and I were treated extremely well at the Chalet. After being treated very rudely at the restaurant down the hill. Our server Sharon was very friendly and went out of her way for us. WE were offered our choice of menus. The dinner was great the service outstanding. Thank you NIkki and Jordon for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelzer, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After being turned away at the Little Switzerland Cafe down the hill from our stay at the Little Switzerland Inn because of having a group of 16, we were immediately given the front room to ourself and made to feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant. The menu was great and we were given a variety of wonderful choices including chicken, beef, Italian and seafood. The dessert called Pecan Roll was wonderful! Please plan to visit them next time your are in the area. They will make you feel welcome!

We were greeted by Jordan who was the food and beverage director. He was very pleasant and immediately set his staff in action to accommodate our group. Our waitress was Sharon who was pleasant and entertaining. Nikki was the Assistant property manager who came to our table at the end of the evening to make sure we enjoyed our meal and that we enjoyed our visit to Little Switzerland Chalet. We will be back and bring more friends!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Wonderful View and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Chalet Restaurant is adjacent to (and may be part of) the Switzerland Inn in "Little Switzerland" at the 334 mile post on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is a step back in history and a wonderful place to stop. The Chalet Restaurant came highly recommended by a friend back home as a "must stop" on our anniversary trip and we now understand why he recommended it. As you get off of the parkway you will think you have arrived in the Swiss Alps.

The Resturant is to the right of the Inn. The front door area has some of the prettiest hydrangeas we've seen, and views of the mountains around the restaurant and Inn are breathtaking.

They open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and are closed between meals. We arrived at lunch time and were asked to sit anywhere we wanted. It was about 3/4 full and we chose a table next to the windows so we could still see the mountains but be in the air conditioning. They have a lounge area adjacent to it with outdoor seating. I had the prime rib sandwich cooked without and seasoning and it was fabulous. Special requests were gladly accommodated. The meat was fresh and tender enough that I had no problems eating it without having to cut it with a knife. My wife's Grilled Quesadilla was also very good. The salads were fresh, and included locally grown vine ripened tomatoes. Our waitress was very attentive and made the stay pleasant. This is a resort area and we expected the prices to be outrageous -- but they weren't. We both ate for about $30 with beverages and tip.

We were in luck that day and the Triumph motor car convention was meeting there that day and we got to see models I didn't know existed.

The small village also has a general store, ice cream shop, the inn, and various other rental properties to chose from. Looking at the menu, I wish we could have been there for their weekend seafood and prime rib buffet.

I'm glad we stopped.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant also viewed

 
Little Switzerland, NC
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.