We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a local go in April and December for dollar days.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandfather Mountain

Grandfather Mountain
2050 Blowing Rock Highway, Linville, NC 28646
828-733-2013
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Picnicking, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you're a local go in April and December for dollar days.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Okay, 5 years ago I went there for $7.50 per person. Now it's $18.50 per person. Ask yourself, is it worth it? Go only on clear days, ask questions about the wind. The bridge is cool, but if your afraid of heights don't do that. The animals are cool, but VERY far away and they hide and sometimes that $18.50 you only get in to drive around with no animal views or going up to the bridge. Go to the WNC Nature Center in Asheville to get up close to animals, that place I recommend to see animals and it is worth the drive down and $8 a person and a petting a zoo for the kids. The view is beautiful though, but you can almost see the same thing over on Beech Mountain for just paying gas and driving up the mountain. I don't see why they made their prices higher, it's not worth that much, only the view, but that's what even real estate charges for, I thought this was a state park, not a gold mine for a few measly animals that you can't see very well and high priced gift shops and high priced food, sure the museum is eh....nice to put it that way, but I would not want to go other than dollar days, that's what it's worth anyways.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisWofford, Public Relations Manager at Grandfather Mountain, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sammantha A,
Thank you for visiting Grandfather Mountain and sharing your comments. We always appreciate visitor feedback but there are a few things to address in your post.
Our admission 5 years ago was $15 per adult and today it is $18 per adult. The cost for a child is $8 and under the age of 4 is free. We believe and really strive to make our admission a great value for our guests. The "attractions" inside the park are wonderful but on top of that we make a concerted effort to go above and beyond in terms of customer service and the guest-customer interaction.

Also, when the top half of the Mountain is closed due to weather or wind we do charge half price admission. Actually on some days, folks are able to come in on that half price admission and we are later on able to open up the top with no additional charge to those folks. This is perhaps where your thought of $7.50 came from 5 years ago.

We also really pride ourselves in the animal habitats. They are not your typical "zoo" as they are built into the natural surroundings and yes, are larger so they are much better for the animals. We always encourage guests to visit the habitats and if they don't see every animal they hoped to, to go to another part of the Mountain and then come back to the habitats later. The great thing about the Habitats at Grandfather is that the animals are very much in a natural setting and exhibiting natural behaviors, so you are correct - they will not always be front and center in their habitat. They are sometime napping out of public view or just walking around in another part of their habitat. Sometimes coming back later to the habitats allows you to catch a glimpse of that special animal that you really wanted to see.

Again, the different between an experience at Grandfather Mountain and driving up Beech Mountain as you have mentioned, is the personal interaction that we hope you have with our employees. It's our goal that all guests are inspired when they come to Grandfather Mountain - whether it's by a green initiative that they see on the Mountain or by the gorgeous, protected view shed, etc.
The attraction at Grandfather Mountain is not part of a state park as you have mentioned. The state park portion of Grandfather is the hiking, backcountry trails. Those can be accessed for free outside of the park entrance gate. The nature attraction is run by the not-for-profit Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation and your admission goes toward helping run the Mountain (maintenance, staff, caring for the animals, etc.) and also toward furthering the mission of the Stewardship Foundation. We participate in many research activities and incorporate those into many of our educational programs to help educate and again, inspire our guests.

You are correct, Dollar Days is a great time for those who live and work to visit Grandfather Mountain. But we also feel that those who come and pay regular admission are getting a very worthwhile experience.

Thanks again for your visit.

Landis Wofford
Director of Communications
Grandfather Mountain Stewardship Foundation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    190
    30
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“pricey but pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Kind of expensive, when you're used to public parks, but well worth the admission fee. Great views, awesome hikes, and the BRIDGE! a must see

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One thing to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Windy and cold but very nice specially waling on the bridge and see this creation. Like the most the views, and people were really nice. They have bears on sight that you can take pictures and if you have kids they will love this.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am an NC native and visited Grandfather Mountain many times as a child but always in the summer. I just visited again for the first time in nearly 25 years with my father, husband and two kids. My husband and two children had not visited before. The attraction has been updated with a nature museum and new Top Shop at the peak. The most exciting part, by far is the drive up to the peak and the Mile High Swinging Bridge. While my husband described crossing the bridge as "terrifying" (he doesn't like heights), my 10 year old daughter and 70 year old father described it as "exciting". It was certainly more thrilling crossing in the late fall with 12 mph winds than in the summer! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

At first the thought of paying to enter was a turn off, but ended up being well worth the cost! Plus the money goes to conserving the area and that is all worth it! The informational CD they give you when you enter was a great bonus. It goes along as you drive up the mountain and stop at various trails and attractions. The bears were amazing to watch, the mountain lion didn't come out for us though. Still, the animals are a nice bonus. We hiked two of the trails, with 3 children, without a problem. The swinging bridge, does not swing, but the views and experience is beyond amazing. We will be back for sure!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandfather Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.