We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandfather Mountain

Grandfather Mountain
2050 Blowing Rock Highway, Linville, NC 28646
828-733-2013
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Linville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Picnicking, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grandfather Mountain’s pristine scenery and sweeping vistas rejuvenate mind and spirit. At an elevation of 5,946 feet, Grandfather is recognized as one of the world’s most diverse nature preserves. Be exhilarated by the altitude and panoramic views from the Mile High Swinging Bridge; stand eye-to-eye with bears, cougars and otters in natural habitats. Dine in the restaurant or find a scenic picnic spot, browse the nature museum, wander the trails, go behind the scenes of the animal habitats, visit with knowledgeable naturalists, and stop for a treat at the fudge shop. Fill your day with family memories at place where wonders never cease.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am an NC native and visited Grandfather Mountain many times as a child but always in the summer. I just visited again for the first time in nearly 25 years with my father, husband and two kids. My husband and two children had not visited before. The attraction has been updated with a nature museum and new Top Shop at the peak. The most exciting part, by far is the drive up to the peak and the Mile High Swinging Bridge. While my husband described crossing the bridge as "terrifying" (he doesn't like heights), my 10 year old daughter and 70 year old father described it as "exciting". It was certainly more thrilling crossing in the late fall with 12 mph winds than in the summer! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    190
    30
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

At first the thought of paying to enter was a turn off, but ended up being well worth the cost! Plus the money goes to conserving the area and that is all worth it! The informational CD they give you when you enter was a great bonus. It goes along as you drive up the mountain and stop at various trails and attractions. The bears were amazing to watch, the mountain lion didn't come out for us though. Still, the animals are a nice bonus. We hiked two of the trails, with 3 children, without a problem. The swinging bridge, does not swing, but the views and experience is beyond amazing. We will be back for sure!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must see in North Carolina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Grandfather Mountain is a MUST in North Carolina! The views are stunning and the park is immaculate! Well-worth the cost of admission and the time to explore this incredible area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent view, but a bit pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The view from on top of Grandfather Mountain is fantastic. The day we went we had a great view of the changing fall foliage and a nice blanket of clouds that rolled below us for some time. It wasn't cheap for admission, but it was worth the 18 dollars per person (probably not worth the cost for children, or anyone who doesn't care about mountain views).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Way To Spend The Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great place to spend the day. There are all kinds of fun outdoor activities to do here. You can see animals such as bears and cougars at the animal habitat and then stroll through the Nature Museum and learn about Grandfather Mountain. They also have started giving out CDs when you but your tickets that give you some history and facts as you drive up the mountain. I thought that was a pretty neat idea. You can plan a picnic at one of the many scenic picnic areas throughout the park. There are many hiking trails for any level of hiker from nice walking trails to steep treks up the side of the mountain but my favorite is the mile high swinging bridge. You have an awesome view as you walk across the bridge to the other side. I'm not sure if they still do it but they used to let people handglide off the the top of the mountain which was cool to watch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Mountain also viewed

 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandfather Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.