We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy as advertized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Save
You added Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages to your Saves list
154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Linville B&B and Inns
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cosy as advertized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit and we always try to stay at a B&B. Th experience thus far has mostly been enriching and memorable. This time my wife's parents, who had never stayed in a B&B before, were traveling with us and my wife was a bit nervous. It turned out that we had absolutely nothing to worry about. They thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

The owners, Eric and Norma were absolutely wonderful and patient with us and our hyper-active 2 year old. We had planned to get there by 9.00 PM, but Halloween parades in Asheville delayed us considerably and it was almost 11.00 PM by the time we got there. Eric still invited us graciously and we were made to feel immediately comfortable. As others have commented, the breakfast was delicious and my wife and her parents, who are vegetarian, enjoyed it equally.

The house is 100 years old and very well maintained and the rooms were very clean. We recommend this place whole heartedly

Room Tip: 1. There are cats in the house. FYI if you have allergies 2. Inform them ahead of time if you are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent the weekend here and it was great. The room is very cozy and clean, the breakfast is amazing (really) and the owners are very sweet people. They are very close to the Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountains, and Sugar mountains.

Room Tip: If you want a shower in your room, make sure to choose the honeymoon suite. Although, if you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cataula, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. We had no idea what to expect. The room we stayed in was called the Honeymoon Suite.

We had a great breakfast and morning the next day with Norma and Eric " THE FOOD WAS AMAZING" thank you Eric for the wonderful Souffle! Norma makes homemade granola and what an awesome taste with the Fresh fruit and yogurt every morning before the main course. I even had to buy me 2 baggies to bring home! :) This morning we had homemade biscuits with homemade apple butter, Quiche that Eric made that was out of this world and crepes that was so YUMMY! I wish she sold her apple butter and applesause.

Yesterday we talked and got to know the both of them and how they just aquired this B&B 2 years ago. They are still working on it however it was great what they had completed. I look forward to visit them again soon for a skiing trip. They are very friendly and love what they do! True Roosters live across the street but what a wonderful sound to wake up too if you arent use to it!

This morning all the other guest that came yesterday late ate with us all! We met some wonderful people and enjoyed talking to each other.

Thanks for a nice day in the Smokies and a wonderful expierence Eric and Norma! We made new friends an hope to see them again soon!

Vicki and Terry
Georgia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia,USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful B&B in the mountains of North Carolina. The 100 year old house has the feel of a real home, updated and very comfortable with beautiful gardens all around. We stayed 3 nights in the Helen cottage, more like a cosy efficiency apartment, very clean, comfortable and private. The porch looks across the gardens to the main house where Eric and Norma serve a delicious breakfast, each morning a different meal invented or modified by Eric, with fresh herbs from the garden. Always with great conversations and lots of suggestions on places to visit or just relax. Norma went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had all we needed for a relaxing four days. We will be back in the Spring to see all the changes in the sourrounding mountains scenery, and to enjoy the outstanding hospitality of this hidden gem in North Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I felt like visiting old friend when I stayed there. Norma and Eric provided the best vacation to my mom and me. Eric's Crepe was the best ever. If you do not have it, you miss something in your life.
I will go back with my wife for next vacation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been to this area many times over the past 10 years and we always stay here. The new owners Eric and Norma are wonderful hosts. Breakfast is the best. Everything is fresh and a joy to eat. They can give excellent referrals to anyplace or anything you want to do. The upgrades they have made to the rooms and cottages are great. Try them and you will find a new home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at the Gable Haus! Norma and Eric are wonderful and provide a perfect mountain retreat with great breakfast and hospitality. They were so thoughtful to entertain us with a champagne toast for our wedding anniversary. We really felt that our hosts would go the extra mile to ensure their guests had an enjoyable stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

Address: 154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Linville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Linville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and renovation. Located in the high country of North Carolina just 2 miles from Grandfather Mountain is this 1910 quaint 8 gabled farm house with a new name Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. Blue Ridge Parkway entrance is 3 miles away connecting to all sightseeing. Walking distance to The Old Hampton Store and now a part of the new Linville Arts District. Art and Gift Gallery on premises. Two cottages w/king beds, jacuzzi, kitchens. (Children and Pet friendly in cottages) Honeymoon Suite in haus with jacuzzi and private bath. Four bedrooms w/half baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages Hotel Linville
Gable Haus Country Inn And Linville Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.