We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lexington Barbecue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Barbecue

Lexington Barbecue
101 W Center Street Extension, Lexington, NC 27295
(336) 249-9814
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lexington Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great place to grab Barbecue from the capital of the Barbecue world. Lexington, North Carolina is where Barbecue was born.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    47
    23
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It's okay, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We got the large chopped BBQ tray and also the sliced bbq tray. I couldn't believe how little the portion sizes are. The vinegar based sauce is good, but the meat was chopped so fine it was hard to really taste the meat. The sliced bbq was a bit dry. The staff was wonderful and the sweet tea was awesome, but I left disappointed by the food itself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What I'd Heard is Now Confirmed - Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'd heard many reports on how good the 'Q at Lexington BBQ is. They weren't exaggerations. And what's not to like about this place. Along with great food, the service is excellent and the place is tastefully decorated and is spotless. The only problem I experienced was that I over ate. I just had to try the peach cobbler and was glad I did. Fasted the following day...problem solved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So-So Barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On a trip from Greenville, SC to Washington, DC, my wife and I stopped at 2 Barbecue Restaurants in NC on the way and bought Barbecue to go. The barbecue from here is not very good. It had almost no smokey flavor and was just bland. The sauce made it a little better but still not good. This was out first time eating red coleslaw and it was great. On our return trip to Greenville, we were going to stop back by and get some Barbecue to take back to our family, but we will not be stopping here. First and last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never miss a chance to stop here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lexington Barbecue is delicious! I like the chunky or extra chunky rather than the pulled pork. This is not a fancy place but great food and friendly service. Lots of locals always eat here too. We stop here if we are anywhere close to Lexington. This is great Carolina barbecue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lexington Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Lexington Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.