We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise on main street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1841 Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1841 Cafe
117 Main Street NW, Lenoir, NC 28645 (Formerly Sweet T's)
+1 828-572-4145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 59 restaurants in Lenoir
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lenoir NC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise on main street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We ate dinner there the other night and I must say that the food was excellent. We all decided to try the meat loaf dinner and it was some of the best tasting meatloaf I have ever had outside of home..and the BEST Collards I have ever eaten..all for less that $10 dinner for 2 was under $20

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    6
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good, but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stopped in here for lunch recently at the recommendation of locals. The restaurant is in a unique building with an attached stage. Our server greeted us instantly and was extremely helpful/friendly/accurate/hardworking. Has a good selection of appetizers, some fairly standard salads, then some chicken based sandwiches, main courses, and other sandwiches. I had the meatloaf with mac/cheese and cole slaw. While all items were good, none really stood out--I could make better myself. The other members of our group enjoyed their food. The prices were very reasonable, I think 4 of us ate for under $40.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Dined as a party of 4 on a Friday night. Service was great. We had steak medallions, stuffed pork chop and one person had a large serving of the ribs. The rib plate was the largest serving I have seen - hung off both ends of the 12" platter. All food was very good. Most Friday and Saturday nights they have live music with local performers. I will be back to try the rib plate later. Restaurant was clean, but not fancy at all. Check their facebook page for up to date info: https://www.facebook.com/sweettsonmain

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

They have local wines and daily specials every day. If you are near Lenoir, this must be on your list.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nice place. Great people. Good food. Live music on some nights. If you take a stroll in downtown Lenoir, this restaurant is always hopping. Notice the paintings on the wall - so cool.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1841 Cafe also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 1841 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1841 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.