We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Good Food in Lenoir?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Cellar & Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wine Cellar & Bistro
128 Main Street NW, Lenoir, NC 28645-5417
828-754-2829
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Lenoir
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A wonderful discovery!
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Looking for Good Food in Lenoir?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

You dont have to love wine to enjoy a nice meal here. In fact, we loved eating at the Bistro. The staff offered friendly and attentive service. There was nice variety on the menu from pizza to pasta to chicken/beef dishes The food is all prepared from scratch. Our meals were absolutely delicious. We thought the prices were very reasonable with most between $8 to $13, adding appetizers, desserts, and drinks will make it add up. There is a large selections of wines and also some nice brews on tap and more in bottles. We had to try the Monte Python Holy Grail Ale on tap! The location was nice with the large windows reflecting the lights from down town. We were told the nightly specials are always an excellent choice. Our group enjoyed the Salmon of the evening which was so moist and flavorful, we also had the Cellar Porkchop with apply brandy juis, the sliced Cellar Beef with mushroom ragout. Finally, the rib eye, though thin and just 10oz was cooked perfectly to my specifications and was mouth watering delicious. We couldn't pass up the layered lemon cake or the chocolate mousse cake for dessert. Can't wait until we can come back. With the variety, prices and excellent service, this is absolutely the best food in Lenoir, so our reccomdation is don't let it be just for special occasions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, long wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food, but not the place to go if you are in a hurry. Meals are prepared from scratch, so be prepared for a wait. Food is very good, but a little pricey.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't have particularly high hopes for our dinner in Lenoir after observing the steady stream of gross chain steakhouses and burger joints on 321. Thank goodness we found The Wine Cellar on TripAdvisor! We enjoyed a great meal in a quaint setting with the most friendly and attentive service we've had in a while. So nice to sit and enjoy a meal while enjoying Lenoir's charming Main Street. Two thumbs up on the location, service and food. This is definitely our go-to spot when passing through Lenoir.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tripadvisor did not let us down on this one. The reviews were right on. My wife had the Salmon Tostada and I had the Cellar Steak. Both dishes were absolutely superb. We had a reasonably priced bottle of wine with our meal. The service was very good and timely. We loved the decor. It's an interesting older building. If you are in the area, this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first visit. Some friends who live in Caldwell County suggested we eat there for lunch. Excellent all the way around. Superb lunch. Would be a great place for coffee dessert and a laptop. Will be back again. Only downside- we live in Texas.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar & Bistro also viewed

Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lenoir, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Wine Cellar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Cellar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.