We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Plaza Drive, Laurinburg, NC 28352   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Laurinburg
Baltimore, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It was just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hotel was clean, mattress and pillows could use some upgrading. Rooms had too much furniture to get around with a king bed. I called down to ask about a TV guide and the front desk said they had them, but no offer to bring me one, just asked what was I looking for? Not much use for the guests at the front desk. Breakfast area with nice and big. Attendant didn't speak to any guests. Usually at most they are very friendly and make you feel at home. No sausage the day we were there. Front desk check in gave directions for restaurant for guests in front us quiet a few miles a way. He then told us about a place down the street. Luckily I had reviewed Trip Advisor ahead and we experienced a wonderful local restaurant "215 on Main" - see reviews. There was a place for a hand out for restaurants in the community, but none available. The desk clerk also was not aware of community activites - we were in for the Nascar Truck Race and he didn't know until he came to work that it was even going on. We would probably stay again, since choices are so slim in small town area. Safe area and Walmart and chain restaurant next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear MardiKev,

Thank you for staying with us. Your feed back is very important to us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do not think of ourselves as "basic" or average, as we strive to be the best. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
2
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were in the area for a motorcross race in February. OUr toilet in the room did not work. When we called the front desk we were told maintance would be up to fix it. An hour later we called back to front desk to be told the front desk attendants had changed and no one had told him. We were then told we would have to come to desk and get a plunger and plunge it ourselves. In the morning when we went down to breakfast the ladies bathroom in the hall had overflowed and sewage and toilet paper was all over the bathroom floor. The staff was very unfriendly and when we return for the next race we DEFINITELY will not be staying at Holiday INN Express

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with directions and eating recommendations. The rooms were clean and quiet which considering the hotel was full was amazing. Although not the most modern hotel have stayed in everything was fine and worked. Mattress was soft and prefer a hard but that is personal choice. The breakfast had variety and was slightly different on the 2 days which was nice. Down side was no fresh fruit but still a good value with lots of choices.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had stayed here in the past and was quite impressed with everything. Not this time.

Apparently, not ALL the rooms are fresh and new. I stayed in one of the old ones this time. The plunger next to the toilet (the whole stay, so it wasn't like someone forgot it) really set the tone. Room was old style Holiday Inn. Vintage TV, vintage carpet, vintage hand made closet fixtures. Peeling wallpaper.

It's a perfectly adequate hotel. Staff was friendly and responsive, including a couple of special requests. Bed was comfortable. Couch was comfortable, but stained and in need of replacement. I could have lived with the 1980's TV -- I still have one of these at home -- except you could only see it from the bed. Could not rotate it sufficiently to see it from the nice little sofa/coffee table area. AC worked well. Shower pressure was good. Place, including common areas, were pretty much clean and well maintained, though ice machine was broken during whole stay (maintenance man said you had to wiggle the chute to get ice).

If I stay here again, i will absolutely ask if one of their new rooms is available.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms... it is hard to believe that the new rooms and the old rooms are in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here June 6 and 7, 2011 on business. Room was good size, but lack of maintenance and cleaning showed. Visible dust on all surfaces not regularly touched. Toilet loose, seat discolored and broken. Unpatched holes from previous mountings of shower rods. Slightly musty. Water stains on ceiling. 26" tube TV's (seriously?). Telephone by bed obviously broken and untouched for a long time. Alarm clock not working. If you need a place to sleep cheap ($115) this is it. If you're looking for more, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed at the Hampton in Laurinburg several weeks earlier and was a little concerned about the bad reviews of the Holiday Inn Express posted here, but the Hampton didn't have king sized beds available during this time period. so we tried the Holiday Inn Express.

It was actually very nice. The lobby is big, clean, and comfortable. Checkin was quick and without issue.

The rooms very nice. They were bigger than the average hotel room with a separate sofa and work area, a wet bar with fridge and microwave, and big jacuzzi tubs. Air conditioning worked properly. Room was clean. Bed was soft and cozy, and there was a large assortment of pillows.

Free breakfast was good, and staff was friendly. Nothing to write home about, but tried the sausage gravy and biscuits one morning and the cinnamon rolls the next, and both were good.

The hotel loses a few points on a few issues: first, the room temperature was set to 86 degrees and the heat was going full blast upon arrival. Cooled off eventually. Second, the matting in the tub is peeling around the edges. Hate that kind of thing. Third, internet speed varied from good to snail's pace. Always worked everywhere in the room, it just got very, very slow from time to time. Fourth, there is some upgrading overdue... the TV's were old, and as noted, stuff like peeling mat in the tub go unfixed. And fifth, actually having to check out??? I haven't had to do that in America in 20 years. Just slip the bill under the door, people.

Overall, though, this was a fine hotel and a fine stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010 via mobile

Since I travel for work, I have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express' and this is, by far, is the worst one I've ever seen. First, I reserved a nonsmoking room and when I walked into the room, there was an ashtray on the nightstand and a cigarette wrapper on the floor in the bathroom...nice. The room also had a nice stale smoke smell. Oh an I also noticed that I didn't have an alarm clock. I went down stairs and spoke with the receptionist. She said there were no more rooms left and that's fine but why didn't anyone tell me that there were no more nonsmoking rooms when I made the reservation or even when I checked in? Then, I asked for an alarm clock and she said they didn't have any. They ran out... A hotel ran out of alarm clocks... That's a first for me. She was nice enough to offer to schedule a wakeup call but I just like having a clock in the room. Finally, as I lay here writing this, there is a weird, musty, moldy smell coming from between the wall the the mattress. I tried switching beds since this room has double beds but the smell is coming from both. Gross... I can't wait to check out and never see this place again. ::shudder::

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg

Address: 400 Plaza Drive, Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Laurinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Laurinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Laurinburg is the newest hotel in Laurinburg, NC. Located directly off Highway US 74 at Highway 401 South. We are convenient to downtown and located near many restaurants and corporate businesses. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Laurinburg, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg Hotel Laurinburg
Holiday Inn Laurinburg
Laurinburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.