We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General McArthur's

General McArthur's
13661 Barnes Bridge Rd., Laurinburg, NC
(910) 276-1498
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Laurinburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet, Takeout
South Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were at McArthur's for Sunday brunch and the food was excellent. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive and the resaurant was clean and well appointed. The buffet was reasonably priced with a wide array of choices.I'd recommend this resaurant to anyone who enjoys a good buffet style dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Typical Local BBQ Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently did the Sunday Buffet at General McArthur's on the recommendation of friends while we were in the area. If you live in the southeast, then you are well familiar with this sort of place: regional barbecue, fried chicken, fish, sides dishes and veggies in a buffet format. Like most places of this kind it is set in an older building (with a newer addition on the back) to give it atmosphere.

I will leave comments about lack of variety and healthy choices to the side, because that's not the kind of place this is, nor does it try to be. It serves southern 'comfort' food in a relaxed setting. Because of that, and its long history, it is very popular with the locals.

General McArthur's is "famous" for its BBQ and banana pudding. I found the barbecue to be good, but not any better than dozens of other restaurants that serve eastern NC style barbecue in the region. The banana pudding was a pleasant surprise, since I normally prefer the old-fashioned cooked variety. There were a number of other deserts available to top off your meal as well.

Overall, General McArthur's is a decent enough place to eat, but nothing to drive out of the way for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Buffet lunch today, fried chicken, fried fish, fried shrimp, stew beef, barbecue, and that doesn't list the vegetables, the breads, the salad bar, or the dessert bar. Delicious tea. A good southern buffet.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennettsville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Southern Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We live in the area and eat here from time to time. You have to be careful though, you can definitely get F A T from eating this delicious type of southern cuisine everyday. They have a great salad bar but its hard to stay away from the hot bar. A true taste of the South with all the local flavor!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Southern cooking and hospitality at it's very best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have been driving 40 miles (80 round trip) for 18 years to eat the best southern cooking in the Pee Dee region, bar none. I have never, ever eaten a single thing there that was bland or didn't taste right. If it wasn't such a drive I would eat there once a week instead of about once a month. If you like southern cooking it doesn't get any better than this.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General McArthur's also viewed

Laurinburg, North Carolina Coast
Laurinburg, North Carolina Coast
 
Laurinburg, North Carolina Coast
Laurinburg, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to General McArthur's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General McArthur's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.