We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jalepeno Trout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Trout

The Brown Trout
502 Blue Ridge Road, Lake Toxaway, NC 28747
+1 828-877-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Brown Trout Mountain Grille's signature dishes are our 10 different ways of Trout: from our Traditional with Lemon Caper Cream, to the Pecan Encrusted and even a Jalapeno Honey Trout. We also have weekly specials inspired by our head chefs. On weekends we have live music,so come in and enjoy our great food and drinks!
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
“Jalepeno Trout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nicely cooked with a taste delight. I'm going tomorrow for my 5th time. A real surprise in the middle of nowhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has a fun atmosphere, you can get your trout fixed anyway you like. But unfortunately mine was very dry and a bit over cooked. The service is slow, but the waitress was very pleasant. A good place, just not great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Eat here every year we visit Toxaway. It never disappoints. We showed up at this popular place on a Sat night w/out a reservation, but they gave us the last table within minutes. We had a great meal that started w fried green tomatoes. Cindy was our waitress and she was fabulous! The kids had an awesome pizza and my wife and I both had filet mignon. One was a little overcooked but we didn't complain as it was still good. Cindy split a Sunday brownie for our three girls and she didn't skimp! Great place to eat. Pricey, but so is everything in Toxaway area. Decor is a bit dated, but ads to the rustic charm you would expect at a restaurant named the Brown Trout. Sort of fish-campy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere and great service, wonderful trout and pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ask to be seated at one of Candace's tables. Superb friendly knowledgeable service. Three of us had trout, the fourth had a wood fired pizza (pepperoni, basil, mozzarella). Trout was excellent - no bones and cooked perfectly - very moist. The salt and pepper cornmeal fried trout with jalapeño honey glaze (we asked for it on the side) was the best trout I have ever had anywhere. House salad was cold and crisp and the house Roquefort dressing was fantastic. Nice wine list and the prices were very reasonable for both Woodbridge as the house wine and for the Sonoma Cutrer that we chose. We will definitely come back - many more items on the menu looked very tempting though it will be hard to change from the trout! Almost forgot - atmosphere is charming with maybe 12 tables and a small bar - large stone fireplace - lots of little white Christmas lights and dried boughs decorating the ceiling. Cozy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too, too spicy...the waitstaff and the taste of the food ruined the meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are not many choices in this area, for a nice dinner, and I'm sorry to say, that every dish in our party was horrible :(

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Trout also viewed

Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Brown Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.