We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larkin's On The Lake

Larkin's On The Lake
1020 Memorial Hwy, Lake Lure, NC 28744
828-625-4075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great, great great view. Food was good but thought it a little high.
I got the pecan crusted trout. It was very good

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    120
    56
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I had lunch a part of a boat tour of Lake Lure. My husband had the fresh catch - the fried fish was a mild fish we had not heard of but very tasty and LARGE, it covered the plate. Served with fried and slaw. I had the fish platter, which was the special for the day - grilled swordfish, serving was size of deck of cards. Ate on deck, inside dark and small. Service was friendly and quick.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Larkins on The a Lake has fantastic food, friendly service & a gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I loved everything about our dining experience at Larkins! Our server Caleb was outstanding and the food & atmosphere matched the service! Had the trout which was fresh from the lake! Will definitely return to Larkins!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
1 review
“Wedding Reception Catering With Shea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Shea Williams from Larkin's on the Lake catered our wedding reception on Lake Lure beach in May. Not only was the food delicious (bbq chicken, pulled pork, slaw, beans, and all the fixings), but Shea and her staff were phenomenal. Shea went above and beyond what was expected and genuinely took interest in helping me with all the aspects of our wedding. Because I was a DIY bride and didn't have a wedding planner, Shea stepped up and explained to me everything that would be needed to ensure our special day went perfectly. She also assured me that she would be available for me the entire day and she kept her word, even helping with the decorations! Shea arranged for tables and chairs, linens, beer (obtained from a local brewery in Black Mountain, NC; Shea had to send a member of her staff over to pick it up) and wine, and even specifically reminded me to eat (which, as the bride, can be easily overlooked). In short, if you are looking for a wonderful experience in Lake Lure, please meet with Shea Williams!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good year after year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been coming to Larkins for about five years now - generally about once a year when in the area. It is consistently good. Beautiful views of the lake and an excellent menu - which is fairly traditional; nothing overly inventive, but that's just fine with me. Nothing wrong with doing the standards when wou do them so well.

Suggest you try the Caribbean Chicken or the Crab Cakes.

Service is perhaps a little casual for this type of restaurant, but I think that is a reflection of the setting - which is a vacation destination where folks are relaxed and pretty casual themselves. So I think that may be intentional.

Back next year for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's On The Lake also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Larkin's On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkin's On The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.