We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Five stars.... Neat little restaurant in the country.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry's

Huckleberry's
962 Buffalo Creek Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
+1 828-625-2643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Huckleberry's is a quaint restaurant near the main entrance to Rumbling Bald Resort, Fox Run Condos, Wyndham Timeshares, Shumont Estates and Apple Valley Motorcoach Resort. We are located on Buffalo Creek Road, just 1.6 Miles down from the intersection of the Dalton's General Store.We offer,casual and leisurely dining for breakfast and lunch using fresh local produce and farm eggs. In the evenings, enjoy our international, cook to order, dinner menu, prepared by Chef Jim, in front of one of our four fieldstone fireplaces or water view tables. Brown Bagging (BYOB) is always welcome at this establishment and for a added bonus, no corkage or pouring fees. American owned and operated by a young, female, entrepreneur, Michaila Cowles Cosmus, (19). Menus change often, so please check out website for menus, specials and promotions. Reservations ARE HIGHLY RECOMENDED for dinner and for all parties of 5 or more at any time, so we can have a table ready for you. Please note most, GPS's are incorrect and will send you 1 mile up, on the other side of the road, from where we are actually located. We are number 962 Buffalo Creek Road, on left hand side, just 1.6 Miles down from Bills Creek and Buffalo Creek Road, intersection. Call for directions.
orlando florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Almost Five stars.... Neat little restaurant in the country.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

From the reviews, it sounds like breakfast and lunch are the best meal here. It is a very cute, quaint, little house, with the old fireplaces and polished wood floors a testament to the original building. We had dinner, and the entrees were very good. After a week of local trout and steak dishes, we had the meat loaf, as the preparation sounded interesting. Something we rarely eat. It was very good meat loaf. I could see the chunks and bits of vegetables in the mix, and the texture added to the flavors. The glaze and bacon on the outside really kicked it up a notch. The meal started with an excellent salad of field greens, sugared walnuts, blue cheese and slices of fresh apples. It was very good. The young chef has a gourmet touch, and the good food education shines through. My husband had the tomato basil soup, one of our favorites. As it was our last night in the mountains, we really wanted a nice dessert. They had a very small selection left unfortunately. They said they got wiped out at lunch. Coming into weekend dining, this was kind of sad. I got a cup cake, which was basically dry and tasteless. Oh well. The big loser was the coffee. In this day and age of fabulous coffee at even McDonalds, you would think this would be a no-brainer. WE LOVE COFFEE! If this is you... order tea! What came in a clear mug, was so thin and transparent, it looked like diluted herb tea. And it had no taste at all. I did mention this to the waitress, and she said she put one spoonful in the coffee maker, and that is how it comes out. Not a good response. Someone must have missed Barrista class that day. I would definitely come back here to dine when returning to our mountain place. Hopefully the coffee recipe will be tweaked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Classy Diner-
Nice to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us. Chef Jim is a great Chef and our breakfast/lunch cook is amazing, please stop back for breakfast one morning.
Yes our bakery items have been getting hit very heavy this past season and we are having a hard time keeping up with our demand. I apoligize for this, We are trying each day to correct this problem. We have ads currently posted for more bakers and a pastry chef to add to our production team, but no new hires as of today.
As for your coffee, Our head waitress, Debbie was trying to explain to you that it is one level 3/4 cup measure scoop that we put into each and every filter. So all of our batches are of the same consistancy. I am sorry that you did not like enjoy our coffee, and perfer yours more stronger. We rarely get negative comments on our coffee, but everyone has a differant taste bud.
At Huckleberry's we only serve plain coffee on purpose. We are all local residence here and we support all local business owners in our area. On the same street as us, just up one mile is a awesome coffee shop, serving many many variations of coffees and all drinks of that nature (Trip advisor does not allow us to mention names) The head coffee maker there is Julie and she is awesome, We have a sign next to our coffee station, recommending her and all her offerings. If you are looking for a strong, black, espresso type drink, she is where you need to be.
Untill then, have a safe trip and please try Julie's coffee shop out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    38
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
“Our trip enchanced by your restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our group of 5 couples had every meal at your restaurant, quality / price / atmosphere / service all were so excellent. Our crowd is boisterous to say the least , Debbie, served us with an excellent touch ,making us feel so welcome and enjoyed as much as we enjoyed them. The food
OMG and at some point someone in our group tried most of the menu and there are no bad choices. Breakfast and Dinner. Prime Rib was my personel favorite. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed. Make sure you give it a try when in the area. AND as a side note LOVE THE BROWN BAGGING which brought us in at the beginning, Service and Food kept us coming.
Michaila the Owner so young and yet so wonderful , her mom right there with her.You gotta go try it out and see for yourself !!! Thank you "Sue". We will return for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Goodmorning, our Shelby Group.
So glad you all made it home safe, and looking forward to your next visit.
It is great to hear that our BYOB offering is appealing to you all and helps you and all our customers save some money, while dining out.
We sincerely enjoy your patronage and support of our business and just love the new freinds we have met thru you all.
See you before the end of 2013
Debbie/Sally Sue/Michaila and Mom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Best place in Lake Lure area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Lake Lure and staying at the Wyndham. We came across Huckleberry's and thought it looked really neat. Checked trip advisor and it sounded really good. So we tried it. OMG it is the neatest place. We always look for quaint, small restaurants and this fit the bill. We are from Louisville, KY and are very spoiled because we have so many options for this type of restaurants. The menu was unbelievable for such a small restaurant. We had lunch and then went back for dinner. Everywhere we go, we try the fried green tomatoes and I have to say, these were the best we have every had. Dinner was great...they do a great job and the service is excellent. We recommend this place to anyone traveling to Lake Lure. The choices of restaurants in Lake Lure is very limited and this place is a gem!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Wow Ron and Terry- what a great heading, Best place in Lake Lure Area. !! Thank you for that blushing compliment.
I am so glad we meet your expectations in dining. Yes, we are a small restaurant,
but we are mighty in spirit, taste, and hospitality.
Stop bye again and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Culinary Institute Chef at Huckleberry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Small restaurant in converted house. Lovely homey decor relaxing and visually interesting. We had pumpkin stuffed french toast with real maple syrup and a wonderful omelette. I could eat breakfast there every day. Wholesome foods prepared by a talented chef.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckleberry959, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Goodmorning Mr New York-
Great to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and the Lake Lure Area.
Yes, myself and two other members of my staff, including Chef Jim, are all graduates of
Johnson and Wales University. GO Wildcats!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must stop in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

No matter if it is breakfast, lunch or dinner-great meal. The bakery is a plus for to go items. Wonderful and friendly staff working very long hours but always made you feel like family

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d p, Owner at Huckleberry's, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Goodmorning,
Many thanks for the positive review and help in bringing new guests into our establishment.
We are open Tues thru Sundays in Nov and Dec and we are closed Thanksgiving Day.
Dinner Reservations are highly recommended and all meals for parties of 4 or more.
Have a great winter 2013 and looking forward to seeing you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huckleberry's also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Huckleberry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huckleberry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.