We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissatisfied. Dirty, with stains on furniture. Bathroom dirty.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus Salzburg

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Lure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaestehaus Salzburg
You added Gaestehaus Salzburg to your Saves list
1491 Memorial Hwy., Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Burnsville, NC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very dissatisfied. Dirty, with stains on furniture. Bathroom dirty.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

Arrived and paid in cash as requested by the confirmation email sent to us. The front porch was cluttered with boxes and junk. As we walked into the main house we were overrun by 2 dogs and a cat, that had full access to the dining area. Then after being taken to the room, we looked around and there were stains on the furniture, the bathtub jets were very dirty and dark. With mildew and no shower available. We never even carried our bags in and requested that we could get some type of partial refund that we were very dissatisfied. We were told that they did not offer refunds, and that we were making fraudulent excuses. Even after I explained that I had driven there, paid in cash and went to the room. If we had tried to make excuses we would have never shown up or paid in cash. In short, we drove there, paid, ask for a refund and just left after paying. I would not recommend making the same mistake we did. Totally ruined our new years get a way, and couldn't afford to do anything else. We will be contacting the BBB and the Chamber of Commerce. And maybe even an attorney. So take my advice and keep looking for somewhere else to stay.....

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeLureBirdlady, Manager at Gaestehaus Salzburg, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
These Guests arrived early, while we were taking down Christmas decorations. We stopped immediately and checked them into their studio. They were in their room for several hours when their friends arrived who were staying at another facility. These guests ask if they could check out so they could stay with their friends; we replied you were already in your room and it is a holiday weekend with no cancellation/refund. They became very upset and vented their frustration. I can honestly say their (couples only) cabin was less then 1 yr. old, had all new upscale furniture and carpet, King Bed and Fireplace. A large bathroom with dble jacuzzi tub. It's one of our most sought after rooms. We are a triple AAA approved property. You decide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed here a few times while planning our wedding in the summer of 2004- we adore this B & B!! Both times we stayed in the one of the suites, which are individual little cabins off the main house. they are nicely appointed, and provide a little more privacy. The best part of this B & B is the authentic Austrian food. The cook is an pastry chef from europe who cooks three fantastic meals each day from scratch!! Some of the most fantastic breakfast around! If you're in the Lake Lure area, definitely check this place out.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Salzburg

Address: 1491 Memorial Hwy., Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.