We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAUTION - DO NOT MAKE A RESERVATION...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus Salzburg

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Lure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaestehaus Salzburg
Save
You added Gaestehaus Salzburg to your Saves list
1491 Memorial Hwy., Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CAUTION - DO NOT MAKE A RESERVATION...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Unless you are absolutely sure you will not need to cancel under any circumstance within a week before your stay, Do Not make a reservation. I made the reservation online 4 days prior, I called 1 hour later to confirm, and when they told me that two of us (we were 4) will have to sleep in a very uncomfortable sofa bed and we were going to be charged $15 extra per person (2), I TRIED to cancel it, but they did not let me, instead they end it up charging me for the whole stay plus fees!!!. Terrible customer service. This place is run by dry, intolerant, unhappy people. I will never call again nor recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeLureBirdlady, Owner/Manager at Gaestehaus Salzburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Customer made this reservation for two adults on a Holiday weekend thru AAA which has the cancellation policy and any additional fees clearly posted. She then tried to add two more adults to the room. When I suggested two rooms, she said she would call AAA who again reminded her of the additional fee and the cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Absolutely wonderful place for a romantic getaway. The food was incredible. The room was charming.
Patricia and Werner are great people. Werner is a wonder man from Austria who knows his way around the kitchen. Patricia is the life of the party, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area.
We met other fabulous couples there. All of us had an incredible weekend dining together.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

AVOID .this place.....unless you have some pathological need to "follow the rules."

Upon arrival, we decided to overlook the cat hair, rampant yard weeds, stuffy bedroom and kitchy decor... We were spending a weekend visiting our adult daughter, an inner city teacher who was enjoying the summer in the lovely foothills of the Smokey Mountains.

On Sunday morning, our daughter arrived to say goodbye and see us off. Upon inquiry we learned that "NO! ....... she was not permitted to join us for ample buffet breakfast (even tho I offered to pay her full fare). Moreover, " ABSOLUTELY NOT!".... she was not allowed to even SIT at our table in the vaunted, cat/dog-occupied, dining room.

The Dominatrix in Charge, Herr Gaestehause, refused to relent and we were forced to have a prolonged goodbye in the driveway.

Forget this place!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeLureBirdlady, Owner/Manager at Gaestehaus Salzburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Our B&B has 10 units, five of which can accommodate 4 guest each. With only 7 tables in the DR we often seat 20 or more at a time, making it impossible to accept any additionals. Had this guest come to us privately before hand, we could have explained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Wow, we were in heaven eating Chef Werner's lovely food and talking with Patricia his wife. What a loving and divine couple they are!

What a great place to spend your Honeymoon at. After being treated badly at a supposedly famous B & B in Asheville, we stumbled across Gaestehaus Salzburg and loved it!

We stayed in the Edelweiss Cabin and also in the Vienna Suite - both are near brand new with Jacuzzi tubs and flat screen TV's and all the free DVD's you can enjoy!

The loving and deep hearted care going into the breakfasts (lush with huge fruit and hot delights) as well as the authentic German and Austrian meals is amazing. The owners are truly filled with love, LOVE, caring and more LOVE! Amazing! We are now going to bring our son and grandmom next time just to eat and stay at this little resort.

I felt like I was in Austria all over again overlooking the lakes.

Wunderbar for our Honeymoon!

  • Liked — Tons of free amenities!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

I have spent several short vacations in this B&B and have nothing but praise for the owners and the place. Service is friendly and good, the owner/chef cooks the best food around, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The location slightly off the mainroad is peaceful and quiet, but close to everything you might want to see - the lake, Chimney Rock Park, Asheville, etc.

I am right now getting ready to go again for a weekend vacation and can't wait to get there. I can highly recommend the Gaestehaus Salzburg to anybody who is looking for a stay in a typically Austrian guesthome.

  • Liked — The location and service and food
  • Disliked — It's a little hard to find but worh it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, NC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

Arrived and paid in cash as requested by the confirmation email sent to us. The front porch was cluttered with boxes and junk. As we walked into the main house we were overrun by 2 dogs and a cat, that had full access to the dining area. Then after being taken to the room, we looked around and there were stains on the furniture, the bathtub jets were very dirty and dark. With mildew and no shower available. We never even carried our bags in and requested that we could get some type of partial refund that we were very dissatisfied. We were told that they did not offer refunds, and that we were making fraudulent excuses. Even after I explained that I had driven there, paid in cash and went to the room. If we had tried to make excuses we would have never shown up or paid in cash. In short, we drove there, paid, ask for a refund and just left after paying. I would not recommend making the same mistake we did. Totally ruined our new years get a way, and couldn't afford to do anything else. We will be contacting the BBB and the Chamber of Commerce. And maybe even an attorney. So take my advice and keep looking for somewhere else to stay.....

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeLureBirdlady, Manager at Gaestehaus Salzburg, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
These Guests arrived early, while we were taking down Christmas decorations. We stopped immediately and checked them into their studio. They were in their room for several hours when their friends arrived who were staying at another facility. These guests ask if they could check out so they could stay with their friends; we replied you were already in your room and it is a holiday weekend with no cancellation/refund. They became very upset and vented their frustration. I can honestly say their (couples only) cabin was less then 1 yr. old, had all new upscale furniture and carpet, King Bed and Fireplace. A large bathroom with dble jacuzzi tub. It's one of our most sought after rooms. We are a triple AAA approved property. You decide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed here a few times while planning our wedding in the summer of 2004- we adore this B & B!! Both times we stayed in the one of the suites, which are individual little cabins off the main house. they are nicely appointed, and provide a little more privacy. The best part of this B & B is the authentic Austrian food. The cook is an pastry chef from europe who cooks three fantastic meals each day from scratch!! Some of the most fantastic breakfast around! If you're in the Lake Lure area, definitely check this place out.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Salzburg

Address: 1491 Memorial Hwy., Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.