We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lavish Sunday Brunch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Axton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Pros: Excellent Antique Displays and Location
Cons: Without Antiques ....it would look like a motel 6 room

Paid over $200 for a one night stay for two.
The "free" morning stale pastry and an apple plus coffee was a joke.

Room Tip: Stop and look at the impressive Antique collection .... however, spend the night somewhere that is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    83
    33
    25
    29
See reviews for
63
113
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had our wedding at The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa in April of 2014. It was an outstanding weekend and I cannot say enough nice things about the staff and our experience there.

The entire process of visiting, booking of the venue, menu tasting, all the little details through the final brunch the day we left was very professional, accommodating and really stress-free, coming from the perspective of a bride who planned the event with the help of a couple key people. Our event manager was fantastic and made the whole process very enjoyable.

I know some reviewers speak to the small size of the rooms, and yes, that is true, but I believe that is also part of the charm of this historic building. This is an old Inn... We stayed in the Swayze Suite, which was a perfect home base for the bride/groom.

Also, the food was top notch!

Great Job Lake Lure Inn!! We loved every minute as did our guests.

Room Tip: If you can splurge on one of the suites or the cabins, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Overall the experience was great. The bad:Our room was very small. There was only one lamp which made it hard for my husband and I to read. The bathroom wall had been repaired which was poorly done not the quality I would expect from such a reputable hotel. It could have at least been covered with framed artwork.
The good: Beautiful grounds, a Great staff, A wonderful brunch buffet with a Bloody Mary bar however the mixer used was a little too much like a cocktail sauce for my liking. The conference room used for our event was just right. We would return and stay there again. The staff was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The inn was absolutely gorgeous. The wait staff from the restaurant and the Moose & Goose Lounge were more than accommodating. They carried our food and desserts to the room both nights even though we were right there and able to do so. The front desk staff were helpful during every shift. The inn itself was so beautifully decorated and it felt as if we had been transported back to 1927 when it first opened. Pleasantly surprised would be an understatement and we highly recommend the Inn. We will definitely return the next time we visit the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This Inn takes you back to a time with linen table cloths and doormen. The room is smaller than many modern day places and the electrical sockets are often power cords with extensions to allow you full access for all your power needs, however the courtesy extended by the staff more than makes up for these issues. We attended an annual event her and it was one of the best places yet. The mountains are beautiful and the food worth eating. There is an elevator for the higher floors but it can be congested and slow at busy times.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back may be quieter because the parking lot is in the front. If you have trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After three hours of driving through Friday afternoon traffic it was amazing how easy it was to relax in the tranquil environment of the Lake Lure Inn. Our room was in the beachside building and the comfortable décor in this vintage motor lodge triggered warm memories of family trips long ago. However, the amenities were 21st century. And, walking on the boardwalk around the beach late in the evening gave us views of the moon and stars that cannot be found at home.

The only negative thing that we experienced was with the Sunday brunch. Our group was told that we would receive a 15% discount. When we went to pay for it as we entered, the cashier told us that it was 10%. We reasserted what we had been told and she let us know in no uncertain terms that it was indeed 10%. At that point we chose not to have the brunch. And, we heard another employee inform her that 15% was correct. This did not interfere too much with our good day; we joined friends at one of the restaurants nearby. And, the positives throughout the rest of the weekend earned the very good rating.

Room Tip: Since we were with 45 other couples who seemed pleased enough with their rooms, there are probably n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We rented a terrific home at Rumbling Bald Resort and four of us booked spa appointments at this Spa on the afternoon of March 28th. So to be fair, we were not guests at the Inn. We knew this property was older and did not go expecting the latest in spa innovations and facilities. It WAS older with a great deal of comfortable charm.

The "spa experience" was first class in terms of the services and the technicians. And that's the only reason I didn't give this a lower rating.

The problem was the noise level. For those of us who love spas -- the whole experience is about pampering and relaxation. The pampering was definitely there - my technician was as good as any "destination" spa I've ever been to. The problem was the noise level.

On this particular day there was a wedding party having manis & pedis. They were having a good old "girls" time -- laughing, giggling & drinking a few beers. I do not have a problem with that...in fact, I would totally defend their right to do that and would have bought a round of drinks for them. My issue was the total inability of the staff to control the noise level. We could hear them in our treatment rooms even! We complained as nicely as we could...and the noise level got louder. If they were even asked to hold the noise down; I'm sure their group basically said "screw 'em" we're having a wedding here tomorrow, spending some cash and we'll do as we please. And honestly, I can't blame them for that.

The blame rests squarely on the shoulders of management. We learned this is a popular area for weddings and wedding party guests were a healthy source of revenue. Can't blame them for needing to make money -- but if this happens routinely -- why in the world don't you separate these parties from the other guests? Let them have their fun and the rest of us have our quiet! Or perhaps you don't have other guests...or you just don't care?

As we were checking out, I spoke to the manager and asked that the mandatory 20% service charge be removed from my bill. I was told the 20% went to the technicians. Not wanting to take anything away from my technician, I finally paid the 20%.

But here's my message to the corporation running the place. This is so simple. Either separate the wedding party from the other customers (assuming you have other customers) or inform those who call to make appointments that a wedding party will be there and it could get noisy. Golf courses do that when you call to book a tee time and they've just punched the greens -- you go expecting less than perfect playing conditions (and normally paying a reduced green fee). If we'd been told what was going on, we'd have kept our expectations of peace, quiet, relaxation and tranquility much lower. Oh and p.s. -- all of our services ran 30 minutes late. Not a huge deal but uncommon in a professionally run spa.

As for my group...we'll never go back and certainly won't recommend this place. I'm sure I can find another spa to drop $150 in and not walk away feeling like I've my nerves are totally jangled!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.