We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends weekend at Lake Lure Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lavish Sunday Brunch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friends weekend at Lake Lure Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Three of my friends and I enjoyed a great weekend at Lake Lure Inn. The rooms were small, but had a fabulous charm and the Inn was more than we expected. The staff from the young gentleman at the entrance, the bar, the restaurant, the front desk, and the housekeeping were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was perfect and an awesome setting from sunrise to sunset. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    83
    33
    25
    29
See reviews for
63
113
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is gorgeous and has that old
time charm, but the highlight is the Sunday brunch- it is amazing! The service was excellent, very friendly staff. The Inn is conveniently located to so many different attractions but is an attraction all it's own. Don't miss the apple festival nearby if you are staying Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hanging their hat on the movies filmed in the area, small rooms, limited food options & somewhat stuffy staff, we were just passing thru. Glorified motel with a huge price tag. Rooms comfortable but small.

Room Tip: All rooms small so pick what you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinjiang, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

beachside hotel?
how bout a $120 a night MOTEL that labels a beautiful view of the parking lot as beachside, provides no refrigerator, claims free amenities that dont include shaving cream, doesnt even serve hot breakfast, you have to practically beg to get your room cleaned, it aint a room, its a walkway around the bed, curtains are translucent, so forget the darkness. the only smurfy things were the early pool hours and margaret the bartender.
$370 for 3 nights in a motel (that's no [--] haunted, btw)? 'nuff said. if this is your decision, its a poor 1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were there for one overnight as wedding attendees and had made reservations months in advance. Paying over $100 for the old, musty, outdated, crowded and somewhat dangerous (step down into the tiny bathroom was not marked in any way) room wasn't bad enough; then they added $50 for two dogs. We were given no information as to checkout time or anything else...they just took the credit card and gave us the room keys. The TV reception on the circa 1980 TV, that was mounted at the ceiling as there was no other room, was so bad it was hard to tell what program was being shown. A totally disgraceful rip-off money wise. On top of that, they charge to enter the only beach on the lake. It's a beautiful setting with lovely ambiance that is totally ruined by their gouging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I were going to stay here over Easter weekend so that we could attend the sunrise service at Chimney Rock. We were really looking forward to our stay. When we checked into the room and put our toddler son down, he walked over to the bed and picked up an opened condom wrapper from off the floor. When my husband called the front desk, whoever he spoke with asked us to bring the wrapper to them...gross! My husband told them that we were leaving and they can come clean up the used condom wrappers themselves. They were not apologetic about the incident. Not only are they failures in keeping their rooms clean, but they are also failures at customer service. This place is certainly overrated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1927LakeLureInn, Public Relations Manager at The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are very concerned about your experience and we are interested in speaking with you to get your input in assisting us with making our service better. Please contact me at (800) 301-2770. Sincerely, Julie Belcher / Florida Corporate Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We hosted approx. 90 guests for our destination wedding last October and everyone had a blast! Patrick gave us a full tour of the impressive antiques and classic photos housed in this gorgeous building during one of our tours, and we fell in love with the location when we saw it decorated for the holidays.
We stayed in the Jennifer Grey Suite and it was the perfect place for pre-wedding photos. Location is fabulous: all our guests enjoyed exploring Lake Lure and nearby Chimney Rock throughout the weekend. We hosted a BBQ beach party the night before, then ended up at the nearby bar afterwards and the Moose & Goose after that. The food is incredible and we were impressed by the spa downstairs. All the staff members we worked with were great and the accomodations were extremely affordable for our guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.