We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLY OVERPRICED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Lure
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Save
You added The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa to your Saves list
2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ONE NIGHT STAY DEAL
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“TERRIBLY OVERPRICED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were there for one overnight as wedding attendees and had made reservations months in advance. Paying over $100 for the old, musty, outdated, crowded and somewhat dangerous (step down into the tiny bathroom was not marked in any way) room wasn't bad enough; then they added $50 for two dogs. We were given no information as to checkout time or anything else...they just took the credit card and gave us the room keys. The TV reception on the circa 1980 TV, that was mounted at the ceiling as there was no other room, was so bad it was hard to tell what program was being shown. A totally disgraceful rip-off money wise. On top of that, they charge to enter the only beach on the lake. It's a beautiful setting with lovely ambiance that is totally ruined by their gouging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    100
    40
    33
    31
See reviews for
88
145
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I were going to stay here over Easter weekend so that we could attend the sunrise service at Chimney Rock. We were really looking forward to our stay. When we checked into the room and put our toddler son down, he walked over to the bed and picked up an opened condom wrapper from off the floor. When my husband called the front desk, whoever he spoke with asked us to bring the wrapper to them...gross! My husband told them that we were leaving and they can come clean up the used condom wrappers themselves. They were not apologetic about the incident. Not only are they failures in keeping their rooms clean, but they are also failures at customer service. This place is certainly overrated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1927LakeLureInn, Public Relations Manager at The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are very concerned about your experience and we are interested in speaking with you to get your input in assisting us with making our service better. Please contact me at (800) 301-2770. Sincerely, Julie Belcher / Florida Corporate Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We hosted approx. 90 guests for our destination wedding last October and everyone had a blast! Patrick gave us a full tour of the impressive antiques and classic photos housed in this gorgeous building during one of our tours, and we fell in love with the location when we saw it decorated for the holidays.
We stayed in the Jennifer Grey Suite and it was the perfect place for pre-wedding photos. Location is fabulous: all our guests enjoyed exploring Lake Lure and nearby Chimney Rock throughout the weekend. We hosted a BBQ beach party the night before, then ended up at the nearby bar afterwards and the Moose & Goose after that. The food is incredible and we were impressed by the spa downstairs. All the staff members we worked with were great and the accomodations were extremely affordable for our guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I think everyone overrates this hotel personally...the rooms are small and there was no bathtub in our room only a shower.....on the other hand though the staff were all extremely nice the food in the restaraunt was great. The couples massage was beyond amazing....I would definitely eat there or pay for services in the spa again I'm on the fence though about weather or not we would stay in the inn again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is full of historice decor. The hotel was very clean. The staff were very friendly. The rooms at the inn are a little small, but very clean. Internet was free. View from my room was great-direct view of Lake Lure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the Inn have a direct view of Lake Lure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came for a friends wedding which was lovely, The Hotel was built in 1927 and full of art Deco furnishings. The hotel has a very old world feel to it. The staff was great. We loved living in a part of history! Well worth the stay. Great Sunday Brunch as well.

Room Tip: rooms in front have a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We really enjoiyed staying at the Lake Lure Inn. They were very helpful and nice during the whole stay. When we checked in, we had a room in the inn, which would have been a little small for us with our baby's play yard, so they had us move to the motor inn portion. The rooms were much bigger with plenty of room for us. The rooms were very clean.
The location is excellent, right across from the street from the beach which made it easy to take the baby down or run up to the room to get something without worrying about walking through the old hotel in our swimsuits. Not that you have to even go tot the beach, with the nice old pool they have. It may not be new looking, but it is clean and nice to use just to cool off.
We wnet over 4th of July, and we got to enjoy their barbeque buffett. I thought it was going to be a picg picking, but it actually was a nice sit down meal with a lot of options, including several gluten free choices.
My only complaint was that, being in the motor lodge section, we had neighbors sitting out front of their room smoking. No matter what, some of the smell would waft into our room.

Room Tip: Suites in the motor lodge are different sizes, some with jaccuzi tubs, some with shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
4.4 mi away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 6 in Lake Lure
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
15.3 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
13.4 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Flat Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
2.1 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Lure
The Lodge on Lake Lure
#1 of 5 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grafton Lodge
Grafton Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Address: 2771 Memorial Highway, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mtns, The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa is a haven of peace and tranquility. Our spectacular setting has long been a favorite for weddings, banquets, conferences and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 1927 Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure
Lake Lure Inn
1927 Hotel Lake Lure
1927 Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.