We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views in Lake Lure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fox Run Resort to your Saves list
Fox Run Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Herman Wilson Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Evans City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Views in Lake Lure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

If you like scenery and peace and quiet this is the place to go. We just came back from Lake Lure in North Carolina and had a great time. The resort itself was okay, but the scenery was great! We stayed in Fox Run Resort as we have a timeshare and wanted to see Lake Lure. We were at the top of the resort away from all the amenities that they have, so we had to either hike or drive to everything. The golf course was great according to the men and the swimming pool was great also. The condo we stayed in had two bedrooms and two baths. The master bedroom had a king size bed and a master bath with a whirpool tub and the other bedroom had two double beds with a tub-shower combo. It had a dining room-living room with an open out couch and a small kitchen. We enjoyed the cool evenings on the back deck. The only draw back was that you could not see anything from the deck as it was facing the woods that surrounded the house. We took a ride to the beach on the resort which was across from the pool. It was very clean and had picnic tables and a playground for the kids. The only draw back with staying there was that everything and I mean everything was so far away. They had a restaurant at the golf course which was very expensive and everything else was quite a distance. There was a grocery store about 15 miles away which we took advantage of. We went to Chimney Rock Park about 25 miles away and Ashville about 50 miles away. Chimney Rock was awsome! You have to go there if you are in the area. We probably will go back sometime in the future, but by ourselves and not with family. I would recomend this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

We booked our week via Interval International using a trade from our "home resort" of Swallowtail (Hilton Head Island.)

Fox Run may be an older property; however, our particular unit (# 14) had recently been refurbished and was in excellent condition.

The on site activities (golf, pools, beach, boating) were great and there is free wireless net access in the main buildings where the restaurants are located (but not the individual units.) Some of the units have quite a few steps to get to unit entrance and many are in need of significant repair.

Contrary to some other reviews, there is now a full service grocery (Ingles) that is fairly close by so there is no longer any need to shop on your way to the resort.

The boat tour of Lake Lure is very nice and the guide narratives of the history and the details on some of the lake front homes was well worth the price.

For those who like gambling, there is a casino in Cherokee that is managed by Harrah's. If you have a Rewards account, check their website to get a comp room -- the hotel/casino is very nice.

Asheville is fairly close by and the Biltmore Estate is is a great day trip.

Take another day to drive through the Great Smoky Mountains. Bring a bathing suit -- there is a great "swimming hole" on the drive where the road splits to Townsend and Cades Cove.

  • Liked — Location was close to several WNC attractions.
  • Disliked — Steps to the unit were in really bad shape; bordering on dangrous.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

My family & friends (ages 57 to 83) had a marvelous trip to Lake Lure and the Asheville area. The scenery is simply breathtaking in the mountains and the windy country roads worth the trip.

We did a time share exchange through Interval International and found a lovely unit - 3 steps down from the parking spaces to the main floor with 1 bedroom - 2 full size beds, bath; kichen, dining area (for 4), fireplace, living room, with TV, DVD & VCR. Downstairs was a large MBR with kingsize bed, jacuzzi tub, shower, etc. Off both the MBR and the living room were very nice decks with chairs & tables. Our Unit overlooked the woods and we once saw 2 fawns with Mother Doe nearby. The kitchen was fully stocked with a service for eight. We brought in one of the patio chairs for our party of 5 to eat & play games together. We also played a round of minigolf and relaxed in the pool & hot tub.

The resort does have many units with lots of outside stairs, so if anyone has walking/climbing problems it would be good to ask them what your unit would be like first.

The resort was about an hour from downtown Asheville, 45 minutes from the Biltmore Estate, both worth the drive. We also found the Cherokee Museum and Village extremely interesting. While a distance (almost a 2 hour drive) we also took part of the Blue Ridge Parkway back to lake Lure and enjoyed the vistas.
The closest attraction was Lake Lure itself and we did enjoy the hour sightseeing cruise; we finally got to Chimney Rock on our last day - it had been closed earlier in the week due to a damaging wind storm - this storm had also knocked out our electricity, but flashlights were found in all the rooms. Our power was restored by the time we returned that evening.

We ate at many restaurants while out sightseeing, but only Azaela's at the resort. The next closest restaurant that we all enjoyed was Larkins on the Lake, very nice & good food.

Golfers would be in 7th heaven & families with children would enjoy the beach area & amenities in the summer.

The southern hospitality, beautiful scenery, interesting sites made this a memorable vacation.

  • Liked — Quie & private
  • Disliked — distance traveling places
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We exchanged into a two bedroms units through Interval International. Thanks to reviews from Tripadviser and other websites we have planned our trip accordingly!

The theme of this trip to gem mining, inspired by the Cash and Treasure Show in Travel Channel. We choose Lake Lure as our base camp since it is at the center of the three major mining area we plan to visit. Gem mining is so much fun and rewarding experience for kids. Fees for this fun recreation is very moderate and the reward highly offset the price. Here are the major area and Gem Mountains we visited on this trip. There are many more:
Franklin (mason County): Saffield Ruby Mine
Spruce Pines: Gem Mountain and Emerald Village
Hiddenite: Emerald Hollow Mine
Lake Lure: Chimeny Rock Gem Mine (not good)
Each mine has there own websites. If you plan to go in spring wear warm layer and old clothing and shoes. Definitely pack lunch and drinks!

We drive from Bergen County NJ for 11.5 hours. We made sure we arrive in daylight thanks to other reviewers adviser. If you don't have a GPS Navigation device going to this area is a good investment. Just the gas you safe without getting lost and the ability to see hairpin turn on the mapping device is a good idea. Check-in was fast and comes with information about grocery shops,, attractions, restaurants and big and beautiful lakes and golf courses.

Our unit is up in the mountain, built on two levels. It is hugh and very nicely maintain. I love the skylight roof and the two balconies. The walk-in level is second bedrooms with two queen beds and its own shower and bath, closets for outerwear with some cleaning tools, another closet with big washer and dryer, big living room with TV, fireplace and open kitchen with counter and everything you need to cook a meal, dining sit four. All the furnitures and appliance are in great condition. The long stairway to the bottom level is the big master bedroom with a king bed, TV, very big walk-in closets and bathroom with shower and jacuzzi. The lighting system in the unit is the best I have seem. All the switches are very convenient. This unit has the most storage spaces as well.

The resort has recreation center with very nice indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub, exercise room and free internet. The ourside area has large lake with kayak, paddle and power boats, fishing, miniature golf, swimming, playground. There is small country shops and one big one (angles) 20 minutes away. We used a lot of the ammenities and they are good and manage by friendly staff.

We only ate at Legend Pub and Grill at the resort and The Pizza restuarant at Downtown Lake Lure. They are both very good. We went to Chimeny Rock one day. It was very good hike. The riverwalk area next to the entrance is free and a lot of fun.

This city family has a lot of fun in the Lake Lure area and the Carolina Mountains. We will be back!

  • Liked — The area is beautiful, the resort is very high quality. There is a lot to do in the location. Like gem ming : )
  • Disliked — The garbage storage is not good.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a great time. The units are older, but have been updated. While we were there they even brought in new mattresses. They were clean and well stocked. Yes, you do need to drive to get to a major grocery store. If you like to stay in the resort area, there are plenty of things to do and restaurant variety to pick from. There was not a fee for the pools or lake. The pool was fantastic. Putt golf was fun and only $5. I was very worried about going to this vacation because of all the negatives on here. As we drove out of the resort the kids asked if we could go back next year ! The split level setup gives a family plenty of room to roam and don't forget about the great views from the 3 decks.

  • Liked — Secluded, relaxing, and safe for the kids.
  • Disliked — The drive to the stores.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Okay condo but stuck in the 70's or early 80's. I felt like I was back in my childhood again. I wasn't impressed since I used my timeshare points. Nothing in the kitchen drawers to use so bring your stuff or you'll make trips to Wal-mart frequently. Everything down to the trash cans have been there since day one and if you have bad knees then don't go. When you walk in you are on the level with the 2nd bedroom. Go down about 10 steps or so and you are in what I call the basement which is the laundry room and the MBR and Bath. On the upper level which is about 10 steps up from the main level you have a small eating area and kitchen and living room with views of the woods. It's a Golfer's Paradise! Plan to drive to go anywhere because everything is over a half hour drive. If you want to go and relax then this is for you. If you have two kids who are age 5 and 2 then I DONT recommend this because the condo is not child friendly nor is the resort.

  • Liked — Quiet and Peaceful. Slow paced.
  • Disliked — Outdated condo's and lack of kitchen utensils/cooking.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

I want to thank those folks who wrote a review on this resort. It was a bit complicated finding Fox Run. As recommended by the reviews on Trip Advisor, we did our grocery shopping ahead which was a blessing. There is not a grocery store that is easy to find within a 40 minute drive through windings roads. We got lost a few times until we started using landmarks to find our way. We found that most activites at the Fox Run Resort were closed prior to May 1st. There was no pool, no spa available and I am not sure the restaurant was opened until we left. There must have been some storm damage as much of the recreation area was still under repair /construction. The resort notified us one week before our reservation that there would be a lot of construction. That does irritate me as we had made our reservations well in advance and were unable to utilize the things we most enjoy. Even the "moonlight dinner boat ride" was cancelled. When I asked why, the gal replied that the fresh fish had to be defrosted and there was not time as there had been a weather alert earlier in the day.... The scenery was beautiful. We could not use our balcony as there were many "wood boring bees" our there and they would dive bomb us. We learned to stand very still until they whirled around us and decided we were okay. I must address the check in brochure: "Upon your arrival at your villa, you may find...not just one but thousands of ladybugs that may fly into your mouth while you are having dinner"...".please use your vacuum provided to rid dead or live bugs from your villa". "Housekeeping or maintenance will be unable to return" to help with this problem. "If you encounter what looks like a roach, it is." We did encounter roaches and we did remove them. Fresh mulch had just been laid all around the complex and the roaches were everywhere. It was not my best vacation. However, if you play golf - you would love the location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fox Run Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Run Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.