We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Lure Getaway June 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Run Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fox Run Resort to your Saves list
Fox Run Resort
180 Herman Wilson Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Satellite Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lake Lure Getaway June 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were surprised that Fox Run was located within Rumbling Bald Resort. This turned out to be a great feature as the resort is beautiful and has a lovely restaurant looking out over Lake Lure Our unit #49 was a 3 level. Come in front door and go up to main level of living room, dining room and 2 balconies and The guest bedroom. Go down to lower level for master bedroom which had a balcony off it. the unit was clean but dated, worn furniture and view was of trees. Had to go by car down to the main resort area. The king size bed was very comfortable. We had two bathrooms which were ok, and plenty of all the things we needed. Kitchen was good and had all the basics. All in all I wish we had been down closer to the main area. Was a hassle to have to drive down to all the amentities. It was just two of us so e probably should have gotten one bedroom. Not sure of where these are located.

Room Tip: Get a unit or rental that is located down in main area with a view of the beautiful golf course and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
38
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited the somewhat remote Fox Run Resort located on the Rumbling Bald complex in Lake Lure, NC for a relaxing jaunt in the Mountains over Spring Break. Having previously stayed in the nearby Wyndham condos, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodations. We were in a two bedroom condo (Unit 33) on the periphery of the grounds overlooking the golf course. It was a tri-level design with the Master on the bottom, the guest bedroom on the main level and the dining, kitchen and living rooms on the upper level. The condo was clean, well maintained and functional with relatively new furnishings. The kitchens have recently been remodeled with stone countertops and new appliances. However, the baths and carpet were showing their age (that said I believe the carpets are scheduled to be replaced in the near future). The master bedroom had a plush king size bed, and was quite comfortable other than the room being considerably chillier than the upper levels. The guest bedroom had two twin beds. The condo itself had all that we needed to comfortably relax and enjoy the beautiful, view - both from the living and dining room and the spacious decks. Even though there were condos on both sides, it was still off season so we were pretty much alone. The resort has a nice indoor pool, outdoor pools, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts, restaurant, pub and golf course on site, as well a swimming and beach area on the lake with a variety of activities on the lake. The boys had a great time kayaking one afternoon. All this together with all the local attractions in the area make this a great place for both families and those looking for a quite, restful trip to get away from the hustle and bustle. It only takes about an hour to get to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, which we took in as a day trip. Although that is hardly enough time to enjoy all that Asheville has to offer. If you are there during the off season, the selection of restaurants is even more limited but adequate, but be sure to check out Chimney Rock for activities. It is just a few miles beyond the city limits of Lake Lure and looked inviting with a variety of eateries and shops. As long as you are not expecting a 5 star resort and are happy with simple, clean and comfortable accommodations then Fox Run fits the bill rather nicely.

Room Tip: Most of the Units are split or tri-level with a fair number of stairs. So if you have difficulty get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have had a time share at Fox Run 4 years. It is a single standing unit on Fox Run Rd. bought this for $1.00 on eBay. Sleeps 8. Is equipped with all the basics for a great week. We are golfers so we try and add new places within a 40 mile radius. A few things need to be updated but we have the first Sat week in April. Nice and quiet. Also near Asheville. Lots to do everywhere. National forests, Cherokee NC etc. or just chill.

Room Tip: Single units in the spring. Families with kids could do summer to take advantage of all the resort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I did an exchange through Interval International for a 2 bedroom unit for Mid August 2013 for our yearly motorcycle trip to see this great country of ours we go to a different place every year to ride their beautiful back roads and see the country we also take a yearly beach trip or cultural trip once a year.

This area of NC is known for its beautiful riding with mountainous windy curvy roads and beautiful views so we were surprised when after we booked I called the resort because it said to call ahead of time if you are in an RV or on motorcycle and could other reasons. So I called and was told NO MOTORCYCLES are allowed on the property! Well its no different than our car we don't trailer our bike it is our form of transportation for these these trips and we have NEVER run into this before! They said we could park it at th guard shack and walk the 1.5 miles with our luggage to our unit and that is what we would have to do everyday! Needless to say we canceled and lost our 174.00 exchange fee to boot but that's an issue with Interval not the resort.

The kicker is this EXACT SAME property has Fairway of the Mountains which you can exchange into as well but it is located before the guard shack and we could park our motorcycle in front of our unit there but they wouldn't move us to a unit there even though they had one that hey offered to RENT ME. Said she couldn't' just change it and when you call either resort you get the same front deck person because its the SAME RESORT!


So just a heads up for anyone who plans on taking trip in anything other than a car to this resort you will probably want and should look else where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLANT CITY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Arrival date 10-20-2012. I read the Guest from St. Louis' write-up in its entirety before entering ours just to be certain we were talking about the same condos...'sounds liek 180 "out" from our condo. 'Makes me wonder what # unit they were in. We were in Unit 41 and encountered only two mentionable problems: 1.) The stairs leading down to the condos from the parking area in front of the condos (as ours) need lighting for nighttime. Although the top and bottom steps have a "yellow" stripe painted across them, the stripe barely shows up in true darkness and the stair and steps are without question a hazard and 2.) The dryer vents need to be cleaned out, once in a while. It took my wife three times to get one load of clothes dry.

The Wyndham condo units on the Rumbling Bald property appear to have the same style and layout as those located @ Fox Den and Fox Run. Check-In for all is located at different locations, but our Check-In as scheduled for Sat. 10/20 went fluidly. This time of the year the entire Rumbling Bald Resort area is generally booked.

A mentionable pitfall is cellular and wireless computer service. Cellular service is "spotty" at best depending upon where YOU are actually calling from. If you are in an open area on the golf course, reception is fine... 'Get in your unit, no reception. If you are hill or mountain side forget any reception. The units are not set up for wireless and if you want internet connection, you MUST go to the Rumbling Bald Business Office.

Our unit appears to have recently been refurnished and the furnishings were definitely above average quality particularly, the mattresses, which were very comfortable...rare in the majority of timeshare units these or in years past.

Two of the three televisions in the units are 32" HD, the 3rd, in the 2nd bedroom is an older analog, but worked fine, when turned on.

The most surprising inconvenience was the in-ground garbage bins... They are far too small to handle even two, small garbage bags.

Although this Resort is definitely "out there," ( My wife complained profusely for the first three days) , we gradually adapted to the location realizing it was 30-50 minutes from Hendersonville or Asheville. It was exactly what I expected and WE WILL RETURN!

Lastly, there is a convenience store and gas station located on the Wyndham property. A marquis alongside the Wyndham property identifies the spot... Unfortunately, for us we learned all too early, the convenience store and gas station are CLOSED FOR REMODELING. There should be some type of notation on the marquis the convenience store and gas station are CLOSED.

Room Tip: Try for a condo with as few "downward" stairs to the unit(s) as possible. Take Dureflame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wyndham was full so they transfered our reservations to Fox Run Resort without our knowledge. The lay out is nice and nestled in the woods and hills with nice views. There ends the magic. The greeting on arrival cold, couple sentances, no welcome, no ammenities described, handed the keys and map good luck.
The nightmare: The unit is infested with roaches .5"-2"inches long. Not a couple here and there you can count on seeing a dozen a night. I killed 7 nitely on walls, picture frames, cabinets, kitchen counters, shower stalls. Wife tried to sleep with hoody on, lights on, and sprayed a perimeter around the bed. The management is cavalier and passive aggressive about complaints. "These are mulch roaches you have to expect these your in the woods". They said they would spray by 1PM and major cleanup. Didn't spray and just picked up the dead roach we left near the entrance. Incidentally, 1 foot cobwebs in every corner. Same response for 3 days so we had to cut our vacation and flee.
This place management stinks from the top down. For memories count on a long case of PTSD.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were able to book at the last minute. Our stay was wonderful. The condo was very clean upon arrival and the view we had was magnificent. We had a great view of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Mountain. After the kids were in bed, my wife and I enjoyed star gazing on the clear nights. We brought a lot of our own food with us and ate lunch out only a couple of times. There is a dishwasher, along with soap and scrub pad provided in case you decide to eat in. There are charcoal grills in the common area that are very convenient. The kids loved being able to go to the lake and play in the sand. The pools are a short walk from the beach. The other entertainment amenities were great as well. We enjoyed the Saturday night marshmallow roast. Fox Run and Lake Lure are a great family get away vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Run Resort

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Road, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Run Hotel Lake Lure
Fox Run Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Run Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.