We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Restaurant at Rumbling Bald Resort

Lakeview Restaurant at Rumbling Bald Resort
112 Mountains Blvd., Lake Lure, NC 28746
828-694-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 18 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Since 1962, Lakeview Restaurant has delighted guests with fine dining and stunning views of Lake Lure and the surrounding mountains. The menu offers selections from soup and salads to a sumptuous variety of entrees, emphasizing seafood and grilled favorites. Led by Executive Chef Mike Jones, Lakeview offers a variety of nightly specials, as well as, a house favorite Prime Rib Buffet served on Wednesday night in season.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had the brunch here on Sunday. The view is superb; the food not quite so, but still enjoyable. Omelets were good, and service was pretty good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    29
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monteal, Quebec
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great Location - Lousy Breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had decided it would be fun to do a Sunday Brunch before heading off homeward. After consulting with Tripadvisor - and finding out that the Larkin - where we've already eaten two meals is a top restaurant in this area - we figure out that the nearest brunch place is the Lakeview. Reviews are a bit mixed - dinner gets high ratings, other meals less so - but hope beats eternal...

The location is great - overlooking Lake Lure and a beach, and just minutes from the condo. We opt to sit outside on a lovely porch, clearly designed to make the most of the view. So far, so good.

Unfortunately, the 'buffet' is forgettable at best. There's a omlet station - that would have been great - but with only one server, who clearly has little idea how to handle the station, the line waiting is too long for our schedule. We still need to get me to the airport on time. Ok - so let's stick to the prepared foods. There's no eggs - you are supposed to use the omelet station. The bacon and potatoes 'bins' are empty, and there's only one piece of French Toast left. Good news - a young man reassures us that more food is coming in a second.

There's a nice fruit selection - so I make do with that, and return to our table. My sister has ordered coffee (extra charge - sorry), which I enjoy with my fruit. I return to the buffet - and by now they have replenished the bacon and the French Toast. Oh yum. Best bacon ever - crisp - which is surprising, and delightful. Worth waiting for. The French Toast is ok, but the 'fake' syrup is disappointing for someone from Quebec.

The bread options are truly disappointing - come on people - there's more than just white bread in this world.

Bottom line - get a server who can cook if you can only afford one on the omelet station - or at least put a platter of scrambled eggs out for those of us who just can't wait 40 minutes in line. And please - include the coffee in the price - it's annoying to get an additional charge for something that really costs almost nothing. And offer more than the cheapest possible bread and pastry.

Oh well - we were warned. I hope other's who come to this area heed the subtle warnings in the Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great views. Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great view of Lake Lure. Bad food, served indifferently.
Visit for a drink on the outdoor deck - avoid for any real meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canned Veg & Potato Flakes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It is our last night of vacation, & we decided to stay at oir cabin and order take out from The Lakeview Restaurant. 2 Stuffed Chicken ($16.95 ea.) and 1 Pork chop w/ Mapple Glaze (approx. $22). ALL came with Chef's selectionof local vegetables...canned green beans. The stuffed chicken was tiny and accompanied by rice of the boxed faux saffron variety. The double pork chop was the only well-cooked, well-sized entree, but it was accompaniwd by a scoop of mashed potatoes...straight from a box. Eat ANYWHERE else for better food. Shameful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant not only in Lake Lure but all of Western NC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had another fantastic meal at Lakeview last night! Excellent food, service , and fantastic views all around.Try the pation in nice weather for a great experience,

My family and I live in Rumblingbald Resort and go there all the time!

Joan and Russ Meade and family

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Restaurant at Rumbling Bald Resort also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Lakeview Restaurant at Rumbling Bald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Restaurant at Rumbling Bald Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.