We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge on Lake Lure to your Saves list
The Lodge on Lake Lure
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

My Hubby and I stayed here in the Spring of 1996 on part of our honeymoon! Feel in love with it and the Lake Lure area!! You can't go wrong here!! Chimney Rock is awesome, beautiful waterfalls in the area and The Biltmore Estate is a pretty,and easy drive!!

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
170
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

My wife, our son, his partner and myself stayed for 3 nights back in the autumn (fall) of 2004. The Lodge was everything we imagined and more. Our hosts were most gracious and absolutely nothing was a problem to them. The decor and theme was stunning and as we say here in Ireland we were well fed and watered.

All our comforts were catered for. The scenery in Ireland is some of the most beautiful in the world but we will always remember the beauty around Lake Lure with the Blue Ridge Mountains as a backdrop - unforgettable.

We will be returning to the USA IN 2007 to continue our adventure of North Carolina & Tennessee and Ivivi Lodge is definitely on our itinerary

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

We had a perfect romantic weekend getaway. The lodge is just adorable- the landscaping is beautiful and the views and lake are really lovely. There are lots of areas to sit and read or just enjoy the surroundings, one of my favorites was the veranda. The lodge reminded me of places we've been in Europe. I am picky about linens and furnishings, but everything was top notch. The bathtub in the bay window overlooking the woods and lake was one of our favorite things. We stayed in "The Corner" room and I thought the size and amenities were worth the extra money. We loved sitting out on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine and in the morning with coffee, it was very secluded & romantic. The staff was great, the house throughout is charming, breakfast was good. Would NOT recommend the View-something restaurant that is down the street from the Lodge. Although the food was ok, the atmosphere is lacking. The only thing that disappointed us about the lodge was that they have discontinued the afternoon boat rides. They still have a pontoon boat in the boathouse, so I'm not sure why they don't take guests out, I really think they should reconsider this b/c it's a highlight to go out on the lake. We did the tour from the marina instead, it was worth the $10. Overall, would highly recommend the Lodge on Lake Lure.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2004

My husband & I wanted to take one last trip before our baby was born. We wanted someplace relaxing and this was perfect! Everyone there is friendly & helpful. It had a great view of the lake with access to it. We enjoyed canoeing every morning after breakfast (they had 3 canoes & a paddle boat that you can use free of charge). The breakfast was definitely worth getting up for...if the weather's good then we recommend you eat out on the patio deck. There's also an awesome restaurant less than 2 miles away,The Bayfront Bar & Grille, with the best burgers we've ever had...it's also right on the lake. We definitely recommend The Lodge on Lake Lure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2004

I have been to going to Lake Lure for the last couple of years and have stayed at five different bed and breakfast inns. By far the best is The Lodge at Lake Lure. Elegantly decorated, the most comfortable beds, huge bathrooms not to mention a great breakfast with a spectacular view. Well worth the extra money. Excellant staff. You may not want to leave after just one night, plan to stay longer. If money no object its sister lodge further up the mountain, the Ivivi Lodge is also very nice with better views from your room.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2003

The Lodge on Lake Lure is a great place to stay. We visited in April 2003. The rooms are clean and very nice. The view is just perfect. The staff was very nice and helpful. Your breakast is also included in the stay. This was a full breakfast - no muffins and juice here. You will get pancakes, eggs, bacon or just about anything you want. This is a great place for a couple to go without the kids for a romantic escape. Also, for great BBQ check out the Cajun Pig in Chimey Rock just about 5 minutes up the road. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge on Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.