We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly Historic Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge on Lake Lure to your Saves list
The Lodge on Lake Lure
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
charleston, sc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly Historic Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is our third visit and our first since the renovations. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every day. We stayed in the Admiral's Cup room which overlooks the lake and has a private balcony. The room is spacious and the view is beautiful. Even though we were there at the height of the summer season, sitting on the balcony was peaceful and quiet. The food is amazing. Breakfast are something to look forward to. We ate dinner at the lodge on Friday night and the food was delicious. It is farm to table concept and everything is so fresh. Happy hours are fun.

We went to Chimney Rock and Asheville and swam in the lake and relaxed on the dock. The innkeeper and staff are friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
170
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the "Looking Glass" room. Very nice room--a studio suite really. It had a small sofa and desk, beautiful bathroom with claw-foot tub looking out over lake, and a nice little balcony. The property was beautiful and peaceful. Despite being a summer weekend, the property and the lake were relatively quite. Hardly run into anyone if you just want to relax. Breakfast was good both days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Brilliant place. Stayed there in June for one spontaneous night. It's more than just a B&B. Some old Inns and B&Bs are a little rickety and have noise issues. The lodge is suprisingly solid and very quiet, which was important to us. Our room had a view of the lovely green lake and mountains. Totally feels like you're in Zurich or some other expensive place looking out at the lake. Our room had a soaking tub situated in a baywindow looking out to the water and everything was so well appointed it felt like a resort. To top off the stay the owner is so friendly and attentive and genuinely interested in whether his guests are happy and having a good time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Looking Glass which was a corner room with soaking tub in the bay window with private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Basically a nice place, but communication was not up to expectable standards. While there last month, had to leave unexpectedly early as mother passed away. Contacted owners and was offered half refund and gift certificate for balance. Received refund but after calls and e-mails for certificate, no response whatsoever. Compassion and concern for guests from world traverer owners not waht I expected.

Room Tip: Air conditioning not that great--room thermostat was monitored from office. Private lakeside deck cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst B, Owner at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
William C and his wife had booked with us for a weekend. After the first night they checked out and indicated that they had to return home due to a death in the family. Our front desk staff offered their condolences and a gift certificate for the remainder of their stay which had already been charged to their credit card. Our cancellation policies are quite clearly spelled out in our terms and it is also our policy to offer our guests a transferable gift voucher in cases such as this one. Generally, when guests depart unexpectedly, we are unable to resell their room on such short notice.
Mr. C refused to accept our offer,as he would never return to Lake Lure, expecting a full refund instead. The staff informed me a few days later when I returned to the Lodge and I personally phoned first Mrs C and later Mr. C to once again express our condolence and offer him a partial refund this time. While he didn't seem to be entirely pleased, he accepted my offer and then proceeded to write the above review.
Perhaps he was frustrated for not having received a full refund which he thought was due to him under the circumstances, but he should also consider that the livelihood of many families in this region depend on our running The Lodge as a business as well as being considerate.

Horst B. owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at The Lodge and it was the perfect place for us. We have traveled much this summer and spent most nights at B&B's. The Lodge was a perfect mix between a B&B and a nice resort. Personal attention, but not intrusive like you sometimes get at a B&B. The owner spoke daily and always asked how he could be of assistance. Perfectly clean. Good breakfast (the dinning room was closed because of a private party), not gourmet, but very good. The Lodge sits right on the lake and has a dock, canoes and sun deck. Squirrles abound. The worm-eaten chestnut walls are great, making the rooms cozy. Nice furniture. Everyone who served was very accomdating. A great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Due to unfortunate circumstances our 25th wedding anniversary celebration had to be planned with short notice and close to home. Little did we know this gem was in our own back yard. We are only two hours away and had we known what we were missing this would not have been our first visit. Breakfast and dinner were just wonderful. The late afternoon wine and appetizer reception was perfect after a long day hiking to waterfalls. Thank you Joe for the warm hospitality and genuine effort to make our trip special. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Indeed, a class of its own. We had stayed at the lodge in June11 during a motorcycle tour, and due to this outstanding experience last year, we routed our itinerary back again. The lodge is magnificent still: the location on the lake, the comfort (we had the African Queen this year: outstanding!), the cleanliness, the staff's friendlyness and the warm welcome we received. You'll miss something in case you do not go there ! A perfect stay !

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, however lake views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge on Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.