We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge on Lake Lure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge on Lake Lure to your Saves list
The Lodge on Lake Lure
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lake Lure B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I recently had my wedding at the Lodge and I honestly cannot think of a single thing that was not 100% perfect.

Andrew (the manager) and all the staff were unbelievably helpful and accommodating, both in getting everything set in the months and weeks ahead of time and during the actual event. Everyone was all smiles and really went out of their ways to make sure my (now) wife and I, as well as our guests, had everything we needed and really just enjoyed ourselves. It's funny how much of a difference having a happy and engaged staff was to the whole event.

The venue is breathtakingly beautiful and easily accommodated everyone (we had a fairly small event – less than 40 people). The Lodge has just finished partial renovations and everything looks great in the main areas, the rooms, and on the grounds. Everything was clean and fresh and well-maintained. The rooms were outstanding; each one had gorgeous views and ample space to stretch out with enough amenities to go around (huge bathtubs, outdoor spaces, fireplaces)

Although less relevant unless you are planning an event yourself, I must commend the Lodge and Andrew on two points: the incredible value and the quality of food. I can't tell you how refreshing it was to find a venue that didn’t hear "wedding" and immediately raise their prices 50%. The rooms are all at rates which are more than fair, the food and wine was market-rate, and there were no "service fees" or "facility fees" or anything like that. Speaking of the food, the dinner Andrew and his staff prepared for us was absolutely amazing. Fresh, local ingredients combined with sheer variety ensured that everyone had their fill of whatever they decided to eat and drink.

I could rave about the venue for hours if pressed, but for the purposes of this review, let me close by saying if you are planning a smallish wedding, family reunion, corporate retreat, or any other type of group event, you will not a find a more hospitable staff, a more beautiful location, or more reasonable prices than the Lodge on Lake Lure. I cannot thank them enough for helping make my wedding a truly wonderful event.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
170
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I did not get the opportunity to stay as we had to cancell reservations. They have a very inflexible policy and we were charged for the whole 2 days (close to $700). The room was only off the market for a couple of days and they themselves said the room would probably not rent since it was not on the weekend. You can't get vouchers for another date. Just make sure before booking that you understand the nonrefundable (for ANY reason) policy.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeking, Manager at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Mr. B,

Unfortunately you did not take the opportunity we agreed to in our conversation to stay with us at some point over the last two months, so we could show how flexible we really are and to show you why so many of our guests love the Lodge.

I hope this response finds you well for a Happy Holiday.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year,

Staff
The Lodge on Lake Lure





Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a great surprise. We had booked a room at the Lodge on Lake Lure after doing research, but when we arrived it was way beyond our expectations. Situated right on Lake Lure, the hotel had great staff that could not do enough for us on any request. The room was amazingly wonderful, rustic, overlooking Lake Lure with a balcony. Breakfast was included along with afternoon wine and appetizers. Coffee and pastries throughout the day. They have their own canoes at the boat house for free use, a great bonus! Large, warm lobby and Living Room, easily accessed from the rooms. The room was adequately large, well maintained with comfy bed. Free wireless internet. We plan to come back and enjoy for a few days!

Room Tip: Book a Room overlooking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place to rest and relax for a few days following a difficult and stressful summer. Boy, did we find it here! The Lodge is gorgeous and immaculate. We went mid-week in mid-September and it was very quiet, which was exactly what we wanted.
The food was very good, I particularly enjoyed the "Breakfast Salad" which was served one morning. Also, the staff is very acommodating.
We were in Room 10, and it was lovely. Beautiful and cozy, with a private deck where we sat and watched it rain..romantic and cozy! Also, the bathroom was amazing. While the room is small, the bath is quite large, and I can't find enough superlatives to explain the oversize tub which sits in a bay window overlooking the lake. I highly recommed a glass of wine and a soak in this tub for rejuvenation!
There is always something delicious coming out of the kitchen. One night there were glazed yeast rolls, we snuck back upstairs for seconds! When you go, demand them! They were so good, you won't be able to forget them... I don't know what they call them, but they are warm and yeasty and absolutely devine! There were tons of other delicious treats, but those rolls...oh my!
It has been nearly a month since our visit and I still find myself thinking of this trip, and what a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing time it was. We will become regulars here. Go! You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Go to the Lodge on Lake Lure website where you can take a virtual tour of each room. Plus, when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a nice quiet place to visit and relax for the weekend and am I glad we found out about The Lodge on Lake Lure! It was AMAZING! From our room to the food, everything was more than what we expected! We stayed in room 12 and it was beautiful! The bed was very comfortable! I didn't want to get out of it! And from our room we had a private balcony which was very peaceful and with a few steps it leads out to the walkway that goes to the lake. There are canoes and a boat that guest can use which is great if you don't want to pay to tour the lake. If you don't know how to drive a boat, you can go into town and take a tour for just $20 which was fun! There is so much history in lake lure. At the lodge the food was limited but what they offered was some of the best I've ever tasted. Everything is a little pricey but trust me it is well worth it and you will not be disappointed! I am now planning a trip to take my family back so this will not be the last time I visit!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 was great! It was quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

After a long busy week and weekend, this was the perfect place to unwind. Worth the price and I will return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in room 5 which was on the top floor and had a private deck. It was lovely to sit up in the trees and enjoy the breeze and the beautiful view.

Dinner was delicious although the options were limited. We skipped the dessert since there was not something we liked. The coffee and treats left out in the dining areas were great. I loved the artwork and architecture! We loved being able to take the canoe out in the evening then sit on top of the boathouse and watch a beautiful sunset over the lake with the mountains in the background.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Lure

Address: 361 Charlotte Drive, P.O. Box 519, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Lake Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge on Lake Lure is a wonderful combination of an elegant country inn and a casual bed and breakfast - an intimate environment with all the privacy you want, furnished with art, antiques and collectibles. A large, rambling structure, the Lodge is situated high on the hillside to afford a sweeping view of the lake and beyond.Built in 1938, The Lodge was originally used as a retreat for the NC State Highway Patrol and operated by them until 1968. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge on Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.