We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Strada at Lake Lure

La Strada at Lake Lure
2693 Memorial Highway, (Across from the Beach), Lake Lure, NC 28746
+1 828-625-1118
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Lake Lure
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Strada is a romantic Italian restaurant overlooking beautiful Lake Lure. Come visit us and surround yourself with plush mountains and a picturesque lake while you dine on our elevated covered terrace. Lake Lure received its name because it was said that the scenery and peacefulness lured you back time after time. We hope our rich family traditions and vintage recipes will have the same affect. In 1974 La Strada opened the first of several locations in Charlotte, North Carolina. Starting as a small family business specializing in New York style brick oven pizza and traditional Italian cuisine; word quickly spread about the great food and La Strada became a Charlotte favorite. After over 35 years of serving great food in Charlotte, La Strada and the original family members came to Lake Lure with their family recipes offering one of the most varied and unique menus in the area. There’s something special for everyone!
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view and Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend typically does not eat Italian food but got a craving for spaghetti. We chose La Strada because their menu had a lot of variety and great prices. The place was very busy when we arrived on Friday night but we got a seat on the terrace overlooking Lake Lure and Chimney Rock (in the distance). Our waitress was very friendly and constantly checked on us and kept our drinks full.

The entrees we ordered were large portions and were delicious. I had a grilled chicken pesto pasta dish and he had the spaghetti with meat sauce. His was very happy with his dish and the amount of sauce they provided (he likes his spaghetti with lots of sauce) My meal was outstanding with lots of flavor and great grilled chicken. The only bad part of the meal was the garlic rolls they give you - they were hard as a rock and did not have flavor. We took a bite then pushed them to the side. All of the food that was coming out around us looked great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    141
    61
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“La Strada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good Food, prices, beautiful ambiance over looking Lake Lure. Good Place for a cocktail. Menu offers lots of choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S30052nellville Ga.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Local Recommendation, Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After a visit to Chimney Rock we were looking for a nice place to get dinner. A local man highly recommended this place. It was a wonderful, satisfying experience from the ambiance to the meal. We drove into Lake Lure and there it was perched on the hill, Wow. From their dining terrace you over looked Lake Lure and the public beach, lovely. (See photos) We were promptly seated at our request on their terrace and we ordered a pitcher of Blue Moon Beer. Our server was very attentive and professional and we were not rushed into ordering. We noted quite a few folks getting beautiful dishes and a lot of pizzas which looked really good. We got the Parmesan Encrusted Fried Jumbo Shrimp Platter, Absolutely delicious. Two sauces, a conventional and very well balanced cocktail sauce and a nice mild ranch/thousand island type,home made dip... a nice soft complement to the cheese in the shrimp. We also got their AMAZING Baby Back Ribs, perfectly cooked wonderfully smoked, man we were in heaven!! They had a honey sauce on them I was sure I wouldn't like that much, but it was so well seasoned I really enjoyed them! Their sides we chose were onion rings (perfectly cooked) and sweet potato chips YUM!! They also served us 4 hard crusted, (with just enough garlic to make you happy), in house rolls. DELICIOUS. We had such a positive experience, loving the food, great service, and sitting above the lake. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible dining experience--this is one restaurant we'll never visit again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

So many issues here for a large, family group of 12:

1) Poor bar service. While waiting to be seated (we were told there would be a 30 minute wait), we waited in the bar area. For over 15 minutes, the bar staff did not make eye contact nor approach us for service. I had to speak across the bar (20 feet or so) and request service. When the staff approached us, there was still very little eye contact and our group felt that the staff really didn't feel comfortable serving its patrons.

2) Fixed, immovable tables. The restaurant has limited space for seating large, vacationing groups (we had 12) since half of its tables seems to be bolted to the floor and immovable. All of these immovable tables were outside where the spectacular Lake Lure views could be enjoyed. We requested seating outside and waited for this seating for over 45 minutes. When we were called to be seated, we were told that we would have to sit at three separate four top tables. The hostess did not let us know this when we checked in; nor did she tell us this when we called earlier in the afternoon to announce our group and ask for reservations for our large group (they don't take reservations for large groups, somewhat odd for a family vacation destination that attracts large groups!). When we expressed displeasure, our only option expressed by the hostess was to go back into the queue for an inside table setup (yes, another 45 minute wait!)

2) Split meals policy. The restaurant charges for splitting meals, but didn't actuallly split the meal--the "policy" is that the patron is responsible for splitting the meal.

3) Group gratuity, but the group didn't dine together. This "policy" was to assign a gratuity (17%) to large groups. This would have been fine if the large group had dined together--since we were not able to sit together (note #1 above with the immovable four top tables) we shouldn't have been assigned a fixed gratuity for large groups.

4) Argumentative manager. One of our group asked to see the manager about these issues and he did visit with us. Astoundingly, he defended his policies and maintained a defensive tone, adding disappointment to the experience.

Our extended family has been visiting the Lake Lure area for the past 10 years during most summers and has had more pleasant experiences at La Strada in the past. We don't intend to visit again, nor recommend any other large group visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmazur1217, General Manager at La Strada at Lake Lure, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Our policies are in place for the safety of our guests and staff as well as the efficient operation of our business. After debating policy with the hostess, this guest chose to summon a manager to his table in the middle of the holiday weekend dinner rush with over 200 guests seated to debate policies (this was in the middle of eating his own dinner) He complained that we did not take reservations which, as in many high volume restaurants with multiple table turns, are not accepted because they are not effective. He complained that he had to wait 45 minutes to be seated however, acknowledged himself that it was a holiday weekend after all. (It was the guest's own choice to arrive at 6:30 (peak dinner time) with a large group on a holiday weekend. If he was concerned about a wait, possibly planning an earlier arrival would have been more prudent). We received no other complaints regarding the wait even with groups larger than his own. He then complained about a 'split dinner" charge, and said the entree should have been in separate plates. We don't split individual entrees as it makes for a messy presentation and we cannot guarantee that the components of each dinner (shrimp, scallops, sauce, etc.) will be evenly distributed. We encourage guests who wish to share an individual entree to order an extra salad, soup or appetizer and there will not be a "share" plate charge. The guest did this and because he was not charged a share plate charge, there was no validity in this argument. He was asked if there was anything else that we could do and he said " yes, you can take half off our bill". He was told that couldn't be done, (based on his disagreement with our policies and because he had to wait for a table?).
The one server who attended to his entire group, and the recipient of the gratuity, was taken out of rotation from receiving other tables so she could provide efficient service. The group was served together. His argument is inaccurate and invalid on this issue as well. It is common restaurant policy to add gratuity on behalf of the server for larger parties and this is clearly stated on the menu. We often have larger groups than his, that are seated together in the same area however, not at the same table, and have never had to argue the gratuity policy. Apparently, the guest in this case was pleased with his service as he left the server more than the 17%.
Apparently, he was also pleased with the food as well, as I'm sure he would have included any displeasure in his review along with his other inaccurate and unreasonable remarks.

Although we strive to make every guest's experience positive and memorable, we know that there will always be those that just cannot be pleased.

You can see from other reviews that our guest's experiences are overwhelmingly positive and this represents just a small fraction of our over 50,000 guests per year. We invite you visit us and decide for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We eat here every time we come up to lake lure on vacation. We have never been disappointed in the food. Service is always excellent. If you like calamari, it's delicious here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Strada at Lake Lure also viewed

Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to La Strada at Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Strada at Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.