We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angel House at Rumbling Bald Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure to your Saves list
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Angel House at Rumbling Bald Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The house is very suitable for families. We vacationed with my daughter's family, including 4 & 7 year old. This home could easily have a 5 star rating had it been better maintained and cleaner. All issues that we had were reported to the Rumbling Bald Resort Administration for resolution. They were slow to respond and we didn't feel that they had prepared the property for rental. Most issues were finally resolved toward the end of our vacation so the house may be in better rental condition now. The house is very convenient to resort activities, which kept us very busy all week. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Lake Lure is beautiful! Enjoyed just about all that the resort offers. Took the cruise which was interesting, pedal boated, paddle boarded, enjoyed the lake beach and pool. Had ice cream every day!

Room Tip: Report any problems in writing and early. Resort Admin could be a lot more responsive to issues and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We truly appreciate you staying with us here at Rumbling Bald Resort. Angel house is a great rental for families. It is very popular and can require additional maintenance attention. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to us and are glad they were addressed. Our efforts at fixing those things should have been communicated to you sooner. We are glad you enjoyed the resort and welcome your return. We’ll have the ice cream ready!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    17
    15
    16
See reviews for
73
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orrville, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had traded through RCI and anticipating time away from a deary, winter, only to find that due to it being the week before Easter, the resort was not ready to serve it's residents. We were pretty much left to find activities on our own as even the restaurants on the grounds were open on a very limited basis. We spent each day traveling to Asheville to entertain ourselves as the resort was clearly not open for business. This resort is very spread out and if you wish to use the pool or exercise facilities be prepared to drive. The unit is outdated but clean although dead roaches were found as we opened the drawers in the kitchen. The lack of activities made for a very trying week as we were unfamiliar to the area. Next time we will just stay in Asheville, since that is where we spent the majority of our time. Also it was stated there was internet access. But read the fine print. Internet access is only available in certain locations at the resort not the units. Also cell service is an issue but considering you are in the mountains, this is to be expected.

Room Tip: There are many steps in the unit and leading up to the unit in order to obtain access. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate and value your candid comments. The impression you had of our Resort is not that which we intend for our guests. We try to accurately describe the layout of the resort and that amenities are a short drive from most all lodging rentals. We do not manage RCI lodging rentals, but have sent your comments to them. We hope you have the opportunity to experience the Resort in the future, when you can see all the amenities and we can show you the hospitality we take pride in.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the dirty dancing weekend in the apple valley condos. We loved our unit and the location. I can't wait to come back during warmer weather because there's a lot to do on the resort! Close to Chimney rock and Lake Lure beach!! Great getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We can’t wait for you to come back as well!

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in the Apple Valley Villas for our long-weekend stay. We came for a regional golf tournament and had a very pleasant experience. While my boyfriend was off playing golf there was plenty of things for me to do around the resort. I enjoyed sitting on the terrace of the Lakeview Restaurant overlooking Lake Lure and reading a book while he was out playing.

Our villa was very comfortable and quiet. We did not utilize the kitchenette but it appeared adequate. The bathroom was clean with enough towels provided to last us the four days, three nights, we were there (if you need more it appeared there would be a charge). The water pressure in the shower was better then expected and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend bringing your own pillows as ours were very lumpy. The A/C unit cooled the villa down quickly, even it was kind of loud. The villas are not on the main resort campus so we did not have a view of the lake but it was a short, 2 minute drive from where we needed to go.

The resort offers a health center, mini golf, lazy river, "beach" access and two golf courses. My boyfriend enjoyed the Apple Valley course better then the other course but both were will managed. There are two outdoor pools but we chose to go to the Apple Valley pool as it is geared more towards adults. There was hardly anyone at the pool the two times we went so we were able to swim and relax without lots of kids. Bring your own beach towels because we read that the resort charges for beach towels and other little things. We played mini-golf our last night there which cost $10. For a resort, I feel that things like towels, inner-tubes, and mini-golf should be included.

The restaurants were hit or miss. Our first night we ate at Legends which is the pub at the main resort. They were very busy and it the type where you pick your seat and a waitress comes to see if you have been helped. Our waitress was not good (didn't know what beers were on tap, messed up our order, never brought the check) we ended up complaining to one of the other waiters right after the table behind us complained to. The bar also ran out of draft beer and only had canned beer left (what?!?) Our meal ended up being comped because everything was so messed up. It was typically bar food but my boyfriend said the hot wings were excellent. Legends is the cheapest place at the resort to eat so we ended up eating there our last night too. We had a different waitress who was awesome and it was a much better experience. I ate lunch at the Lakeview restaurant. The staff was very polite and constantly checked on you. Since I was dining solo I struck up conversations with the staff and other guests as we looked out onto the lake. I ended up ordering my boyfriend a sandwich once he was done with the tournament and our waitress packaged his BLT up quickly and put all extras on the side for him. We did not try the Luna del Sol restaurant at Apple Valley as we are not big Italian food eaters and the menu seemed limited.

Overall it was a great, quiet, relaxing weekend away. We would return.

Room Tip: Apple Valley is not on the main campus of Rumbling Bald Resort so the rooms are not as pricey as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and our amenities. Additional towels for rentals are provided at no charge. Please forgive us for any inconsistency with our restaurant service. Your comments have been shared with our staff to help us make improvements. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 3 night mini ladies retreat at Rumbling Bald resort and we were very pleased with our accommodations and all this resort had to offer. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom deluxe in Fox Den Unit #304 and felt like we were in a very nice tree house when we were in the living room because of all the tall trees surrounding the house and 2 sliding glass doors leading to little porches on each side. We were frequently amused by the playful and friendly squirrels! Everything was beyond our expectations. The resort has a very nice beach area, playground for the kids, all kinds of boat rentals, huge outdoor pools with a lazy river, indoor pool, exercise room, tennis courts, basketball courts, corn hole games, miniature golf course, and basketball courts. This is a beautiful and well cared for resort and all the staff are very friendly and helpful too. We will be returning and bringing our families next visit.

Room Tip: It is best to ask for a unit that is not connected to other units for more privacy like the one we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It was great to have you as our guest while you were visiting beautiful Lake Lure. Our staff was excited to hear everything exceeded your expectations! We hope to have your family stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmCity
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the first time that I am writing a review but I was so impressed with Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure that I felt compelled to do so. We stayed at the Apple Valley RV Resort which is part of the Resort and we just loved it. The area of Lake Lure is so scenic and the RV Resort was one of the nicest we have stayed at. The service of everyone we came in contact with was outstanding! We had to make several changes to our Itinerary and they were so accommodating and pleasant. There are two golf courses on the properties and they were in great condition and the views were spectacular not to mention the price was very reasonable since we stayed at the resort and got a discount. We can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Apple Valley Resort and we can't wait to go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our Apple Valley RV Resort. Guests frequently comment that it is one of the nicest and most scenic parks they have stayed in. We welcome you back.


Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband was in a golf tournament at Rumbling Bald, so we decided to make a mini family vacation out of the weekend. We stayed in Apple Valley Efficiency Unit #16. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into this unit. The decor was quaint and appeared to be well taken care of. The back porch was super cute. There were herbs, such as basil, oregano, parsley, and others growing in containers. I loved this! I wanted to snip a few to bring home, but wasn't sure that was appropriate. If we return to Rumbling Bald, we will definitely stay in this unit again.

The Resort itself was fun too. We had an excellent time kayaking on the lake. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the golf courses, although he did like the Apple Valley course the best of the two. I do, however, have a few complaint, and thus the reason for only giving the resort 4 stars. First, they have a lazy river, but you have to either provide your own float or purchase one from their snack bar. They are $6 each. I feel as though they should provide floats for everyone to use and return. I have never been to a resort where they had a lazy river but did not provide floats. The second complaint about the lazy river is that there were bees flying all around. I asked the pool attendant if they were bees and she confirmed, but told me they weren't aggressive. It made me very nervous for my family to float in the river with all those bees, and I finally decided we would not go in the lazy river. This did not make for happy children. The final complaint is that we had to pay to play mini golf. We have stayed at a lot of resorts, and things like this are usually inclusive in the fee you pay to stay at the resort.

Overall, I feel these are minor complaints, and I must say that every person we came into contact with who worked at Rumbling Bald was polite and courteous. Our stay was great and enjoyable. We will definitely return!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBRLL, Manager at Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Rumbling Bald Resort. We appreciate your kind comments about our Apple Valley unit, kayaking, and golf course. Please forgive us for the bees around the Lazy River. I know they must have been unsettling and we have since taken care of them. We do not have a daily resort fee here at Rumbling Bald and, therefore, have to charge a fee for some amenities. We do our best to keep this as minimal as possible. We truly value your business and welcome your return with "open arms."

Sincerely,
Richard Lundy
Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. Make your reservations now for a memorable resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.