We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake lure stay made easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure to your Saves list
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lake lure stay made easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we stayed in Lake Lure at our development called Shumont estates. We belong to Rumbling Bald Resort. They have so many amenities to use. My grandson loves playing golf and mini golf. We have boat rental, kayaking, fishing, hiking and plenty f other activities. For instance the spa, indoor pool and gim. God knows we need those three. LOL
PEOPLE THERE ARE OUTSTANDING.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    48
    17
    15
    16
See reviews for
76
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

RUMBLING BALD RESORT/ FOX RUN
 
This is a nice area near Lake Lure. It is about 5 miles from Town center.

Rumbling Bald Resort / Fox Run is about 3 miles from here you will check in on Herman Wilson Blvd. At check in you will be given a map and directions, turn left, turn right, turn right, turn left. If you have A GPS just type in Fox Run blvd. and it will take you through security (entrance) to very near your unit. Hang your permit (provided at check in) from the rear view mirror before entry and the guard will wave you through. Stay to your right driving along the golf course until you see the signs. They have numbered unit signs so once you get close you will have no problem finding it.

Let me say first if you like to stay connected this resort is not for you. NO INTERNET ACCESS in units.. Believe it or not in this day and age you still can’t get online access in any of the units. For rainy days internet is a must in most families. You can’t even pay for an online connection for a given period as some resorts have. You can get free internet at the wellness center, which also has a printer, but a 10 minute walk from fox run units. Free Wifi inside the restaurant as well. The wellness center also rents hundreds of DVD’s. Great little center with a first class gym if you want to work out.

The town homes are large . The 2b 2b has one bedroom with two queen or twin beds and full bathroom on the main floor. 8 stairs up is the living room, dining table, and kitchen and large open deck. A fold out couch is in most units.. Downstairs (8 steps) has the large master bedroom / bathroom with large king bed and another deck.

Everything you need for a weeks stay are in the unit. Dishes, pots and pans, silverware, soap, paper towels, and so on. There is even a small washer and dryer with soap provided. However, if you run out of anything and ask for more they will charge you. You can buy food and gas and anything extra you may need at the large Ingles grocery store near Larkin’s restaurant. Ingles is about 5 miles from the resort and the grocery is 2 blocks south of Larkins on hwy 9. It has a large deli and bakery. Large selection of wine as well.

All of the fox run units are in a wooded area. If you have children they will love the swimming pools and lake with a very nice beach area. We had deer come right up to the unit. We have been vacationing here for several years. The units are getting a little tired now and starting to show. Although still OK, the furniture needs replacing. The mattresses are comfortable but are sagging. Cleaning was so so with dust on the top of the headboard and cob webs above it, but clean sheets on the bed. They seem to only clean one side of a door. I give overall cleaning a 6 out of 10.

Try to get a stand a lone unit. Most of the units are duplex with two connected units. Stand a lone means a single unit and you have no connected neighbor which means more privacy. Generally the parking is much better in a stand alone as well. You can have your own couple of parking spaces. The best units, location wise, are 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15. They are stand a lone with lake view. 213, 214, 215, 216, 217, 218, are stand a lone in a dense wooded area. 300, 301, 302 are stand a lone and have great mountain views. If you have to settle for a duplex unit try for unit 90-91-92-or 93. They have ample open parking and nice units with no outside stairs. They are two duplex’s separated by a large private parking area. We stayed in 93 and loved it. There are other stand a lone units but this gives you a start.

Be careful when booking that you don’t wind up with a unit that has lots of outside stairs to climb. There are some areas where there are 4 or 5 units connected. They have a common parking area with five or six cars vying to be closest to the units. You have to tote everything down 10 stairs and then walk several more feet to your unit. Units 30 thru 35 are such units. Avoid.

Although having a fireplace is a major draw you are actually discouraged from starting a fire in the fireplace. Lots of rules about a fire in the fireplace. No wood is allowed. Duraflame logs only. Pick them up at home depot before you leave home as they are $5.00 each once you get there. You can get 9 logs for $25.00 at home depot.

Several medium price restaurants within 5 miles of the resort. We like Lakeview restaurant in the resort. Good food, medium prices, and excellent service. We like to have lunch out on the covered deck for a fantastic Lake Lure lake view. Lunch with drink about $15.00 per person. Dinner about $22 per person. They also have a great Sunday buffet brunch for $12.95 a person. Another good choice is Larkins restaurant with about the same prices as the Rumbling Bald Resort, it is a nice lake front restaurant. Great outside deck that puts you very near the water.

We will stay here again but are hopeful a rennovation will be started soon. 

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

In July 2012, we rented a private home in Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure for an 8-day family reunion. We had high hopes, and while our vacation was a success, it fell short of expectations.

The mountain setting was peaceful and Lake Lure was beautiful, and the house we rented (Highlands Mountain Lodge) was spacious and private. The resort gym is nice and we used it 5-6 times. We felt ‘nickel and dimed’ having to pay to play on the small, miniature golf course near the gym.

We also had several major service and home maintenance issues during our stay. Having read some of the prior ‘maintenance issue’ reviews in TripAdvisor, we contacted the resort ahead of time for confirmation that our rental would be in good condition when we arrived (I believe the resort is managed by Wyndham.). I was told specifically that the home we rented was one of the largest and nicest in the resort and the house was very well maintained so we had “nothing to worry about”.

Upon arrival, the upstairs A/C unit was on but not working since the second floor temperature was almost 95 degrees! After several calls to resort guest services, a maintenance man arrived to service the unit. He discovered that a drainage tube and drip pan were blocked and the air filters were filthy. The upstairs slowly cooled down, but we don’t understand why Wyndham Resort maintenance didn’t diagnose and fix the issue before we arrived.

We had multiple maintenance issues during our stay, some of which required resort maintenance staff to be working in the home during our stay. Issues included a broken doorbell (which ironically made it hard to hear when the maintenance staff arrived), cracked picture frame glass, a gas BBQ grill needing repair or replacement, overgrown weeds off the back porch, a running toilet, low water pressure in one of the showers, mostly broken deck and porch chairs, badly stained carpet, burned out light bulbs, missing or broken door and wall hardware, loud, squeaky door hinges, and a kitchen stocked with pans and appliances which were in bad condition and should be replaced. I do have to say that the Resort manager got personally involved in several of the issues, came to the home, and he was helpful.

In addition, from some of the dust and dirt we saw underneath furniture, as well as a couple of things left behind by prior renters, it was apparent that the house had not been cleaned thoroughly.

From a resort service perspective, only a few times during our 8-day stay were we able to reach a live person at Guest Services. We left messages but return calls were slow or non-existent. When we did speak to staff, they told us they would follow-up on issues and call us back. However, there was very little follow-up and we had to call multiple times about the same issues before there was a response or action taken.

When we made our reservation nine months earlier, we contacted resort Guest Services and specifically requested a full house cleaning mid-way through our 8-day stay. We were told there would be an additional charge but that it would be no problem. I contacted the resort Guest Services staff periodically to re-confirm that a full cleaning had been scheduled and confirming that we would vacate the house during the cleaning. A couple of days into our visit, I left a message for Guest Services to confirm the cleaning and ask when we needed to be out of the house. Not hearing back by the morning of the day of the cleaning, I finally reached Guest Services and was told they had no record of the cleaning request and it was not possible to do the cleaning at this late stage. After the aggravation and frustration of going back and forth with Guest Services until mid-afternoon, they were finally able to send over a cleaning crew.

We have rented homes both in and outside of resorts, in and outside the U.S., and have never had this level of maintenance and service issues during our stay. What’s really unfortunate is that precious time spent together with family was over-shadowed by discussion of all of the maintenance and service issues. For the price that we paid to rent this home, we should not have experienced any of these maintenance, cleaning, and service issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only stayed for two nights as this was a business trip, so we didn't get to take advantage of the activities and amenities at the resort - seems like a great place for golfers and romantic getaways. The Apple Valley Villas are away from the main resort and lake so aren't very scenic. The efficiency unit was cozy - Murphy bed in the living room - so don't expect any privacy. It's fine for one person or a couple. Rustic decor, probably in need of renovation/refresh at some point. When we arrived, the room was very musty and there were empty small applicance boxes in the closet - not as "sterile" as if you stayed at a hotel. It felt like staying at someone's home ..."lived in."

Room Tip: Unit 9 (Apple Valley Villas) was recommended to us by other frequent travellers, so that was our req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife, 2 adult sons, 1 daughter-in-law, and I stayed in the Brown House (named for the owners and not the color) for a week in July. The house was located at the edge of the lake with its own paddle-boat. The view was fantastic and the house was everything we wanted for a vacation retreat. The food and service at the on-site restaurant was excellent, especially "prime-rib night". We took the luncheon Lake Lure cruise offered and it was very entertaining to hear the history. We used the pool, spa, kayaks, and tennis courts on-site. We did horseback riding, zip-line, and visited the famous Lake Lure Inn, Grandfather Mountain, and Chimney Rock on various day trips. The Rumbling Bald Resort staff were very friendly and helpful and when we had a couple of minor maintenance issues they responded immediately. I highly recommend the Resort as a wonderful place to "get away from it all".

Room Tip: Get a lake front house for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband, 15 year old daughter, 74 year old mother and I stayed at a Stonecrest Villa, overlooking the golf course for 4 days. The villa was beautiful, clean and very well equipped, I have not a single complaint. We were not on the main resort which meant a short drive to the amenities and restaurants but there was a lovely pool in our area. We would return at a moments notice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort during memorial day in a quail cove property. But it needed a carpet cleaning BAD. Cream rugs that looked brown. My fiancé and I stayed in the basement room that you could only access by walking through the master bedroom. It was really musty smelling with dead bugs on the floor ( including a cockroach ). Grossed me out and I would go to sleep telling myself to pretend I was camping outside. I was paranoid that roaches would crawl into my luggage. We kept the windows open to air it out and the smell never went away after 3 days. I even sprayed everything with Lysol. I do like the resort amenities which include stand up kayaking. I think what you have to do is inspect your room before you commit to it or see if they will let you switch if at check in if you aren't happy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure

Address: 112 Mountains Boulevard, Lake Lure, NC 28746
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure is a picturesque mountain resort situated near Charlotte, Greenville, and Asheville. The resort is nestled at the base of majestic 2,800-foot Rumbling Bald Mountain on the north end of beautiful Lake Lure. One of the Southeast's most popular wedding destinations, Rumbling Bald Resort is great for all kinds of group functions, family gatherings, golf outings, or romantic getaways. Make your reservations now for a memorable resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbling Bald Resort On Lake Lure Hotel Lake Lure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.