We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view, great for conferences..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Save Saved
You added Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
759 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake Junaluska
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“beautiful view, great for conferences..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here for a conference from Sept 24-27. This is the 3rd year I have attended this conference and it has been held here every time. The view of the lake is beautiful and there are lots of things to do within driving distance.

The lobby is nice with lots of rocking chairs to look out over the lake. The staff is all very friendly-from the cleaning crew to the lunch servers. The check in/out was very easy and quick. They also had fresh coffee all day.

I stayed on the 5th floor...The room is VERY BASIC. The pillows and mattresses are just about on thier last legs and really need to be updated... but the sheets and towels were all very clean, no stains or discoloration. There is no hairdryer in the room...(which I had forgotten, so I had wet hair the whole time). Also, it seemed the air was cut off at night. Both my roommate and I would wake up around 2am feeling hot and smothered but by 5am it had kicked back on and was cool again when we woke up.

Lunch was ok. I LOVED the pecan pie and the salad bar was very nice but the main entree food was not what I would have picked to feed a huge group (broiled fish)...but that is not the fault of Lake J, but more on the conference committee.

The land is very well maintained and seems very safe. The are always people walking around the lake which is full of ducks, geese, swans and HUGE fish. There are beautiful rose bushes and bridges that form a 2.5 and 5 mile loop that you can take advantage of.

Although the rooms are in need of a little tlc, this is a great conference center that I enjoy returning to year after year.

Room Tip: There is a Dillards Outlet center that makes for some good shopping...800 Brevard Rd, Asheville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Appsgirl, thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff, and I will pass those along. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Junaluska. I have made a note regarding your comments about the air conditioning, and will inform our maintenance staff about that. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Have stayed there three times and family loves it. Stayed in apartments each time which are not at all fancy but clean and have kitchenette. If you want something a little more upscale then stay in one of the hotels. Beautiful lake, grounds, nice facilities, a man made waterfall where bridge is with picnic area and stream down below. To us is great place to stay and is convenient to so many attractions and cities in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Jonathan J, thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you and your family enjoy your visits to Lake Junaluska. We hoe that you will visit Lake Junaluska again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Before planning a senior adult retreat for the older adults at my church, my husband and I went to Lake Junaluska to see the property. We were most impressed with everything we saw. The rooms in the hotel are being refurbished and we stayed in one of the finished rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the view of the lake out our window was breath taking. The sun setting on the lake is such a beautiful sight. Next time we will do a sunset cruise on the lake. The restaurant food was very tasty and the waitstaff were so friendly. You really felt like they were glad you were dining with them. We will be going back with our group in October. I am anxious to be in this beautiful location when the trees are spectacular. I am excited to share this with my group.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the far end from the check in counter facing the lake are bigger rooms with king be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
travelagent59, thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a chance to experience the beauty of Lake Junaluska. We look forward to your return visit in October.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lake Junaluska provided an excellent location for our annual family reunion. Our large family was able to rent out an entire building, the Lakeside Lodge, which included a large common meeting area for everyone to gather. While the place is quite dated it was clean which is the main thing and the beds were comfortable. Very nice swimming pool area. We rented a canoe and they also have paddle boats. There are also nice walking paths. We also reserved a large gazebo for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
thinson, we are delighted that your family reunion enjoyed its stay at Lake Junaluska, and we hope that you can join us again soon. We are glad that Lake Junaluska provided a place where your family could gather together and enjoy the recreational opportunities such as the walking path and the paddle boats. We hope that you can join us again soon.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My entire family and our friends loved this place! Lake Junaluska offers economically priced cabins, dorms, apartments, motel rooms, and camping facilities. During the summer it is a great place to stay while exploring the Great Smoky Mountains. The meals were simple southern dishes that were cooked in a healthy style. The room accomodations are very simple but clean (no telephones or televisions). We took day trips to the Biltmore Estates, Dolly Woods, and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and National Park. We shopped for handmade jewelry (from the nearby sapphire mine), arts and crafts while the men particpated in water sports (rafting, skiiing), golf, and snowboarding and skiing. Great slopes... There were plenty of activities for the kids as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Penntrainer, we are delighted that your family and friends enjoyed your stay at Lake Junaluska! We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the many local and regional attractions of Western North Carolina during your time with us. Thank you for your review, and we hope you visit again with us soon!
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had the wonderful experience of visiting Lake Junaluska during the Applachian Christmas weekend activities. Lisa's review "Lake Junaluska: Jem of a Getaway" does a great job of explaining the experience. I echo her comments.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
DHPColubmia_SC, we are glad that like Lisa, you also had a wonderful experience during Appalachian Christmas weekend! We have a lot of great programs planned for 2012 including another Appalachian Christmas weekend. We hope that you can join us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your positive experiences.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lake Junaluska for the Appalachian Christmas weekend in Dec. 2011 and were delighted with so many things....the incredible lake view from our room in the Lambuth Inn, the personal service afforded to us from everyone from the desk clerk to the room maid to the group sales manager, to the GREAT entertainment provided by the extremely talented Lake Junaluska singers and David Holt. We moved to Knoxville in 1996 and were surprised that we did not know about this jem of a getaway so close to our home (about an hour's drive from Knoxville, mostly by interstate).
I realize the conference and resort facility has been viewed primarily (in the past) as a Methodist-based spiritual retreat-type facility, but really, it seems to be an affordable option for any type of corporate or business retreat, organizational music or crafts workshop, etc. It would be ideal for a family reunion, especially in the summer. But even in the winter, the walking trails around the lake and various modes of transportation encourage fitness as well as convenience.
It is so close to Asheville, convenient to all the amenities that Asheville affords, with Biltmore House and Grove Park Inn, etc. only a short drive away.
It also struck me in having potential as a beautiful yet afforable place to get married....the lakeside chapel is stunning, and wedding photos would be gorgeous both inside the chapel and outside under the arches, framed by the lake. With the variety of lodging and dining faciilities on site, I imagine it could be a budget-worthy wedding venue. (I wish my niece had known about it last year when she was married. )

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of Lambuth Inn with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake_junaluska, Public Relations Manager at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I will pass along your compliments to the staff and the Lake Junaluska Singers. We are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the Lambuth Inn for Appalachian Christmas, and we look forward to your return when your travels bring you this way again.
Blessings,
Stephanie Drum, Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center

Address: 759 N Lakeshore Dr, Lake Junaluska, NC 28745
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Lake Junaluska
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lake Junaluska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 400 lodging rooms we can easily accommodate groups of all sizes and budgets. All of our facilities are unique inside and out. From the historic columns of Lambuth Inn to the spectacular views from the Terrace Hotel dining room, our lodging will make your visit exceptional and memorable. Also available are the Lakeside Lodge, a motel style facility as well as the Sunnyside Lodge and Mountain View Lodges, with dormitory style rooms with private baths. The Junaluska Apartments are great for families and youth groups with kitchenettes in most units and a wide range of accommodations are available at our Camp Adventure camp ground from tents and RV hookups to cabins and apartment efficiencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Junaluska Conference And Retreat Hotel Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.