We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moran Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moran Motel
Save
You added Moran Motel to your Saves list
PO Box 76, Kure Beach, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kure Beach
rocky mount
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice affordable place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have just returned from the Moran Motel! I loved this place. It was right across the street from the ocean and you could walk to pier and restaurants also right beside the gas station. This place is older and ran by a very nice man. He was very friendly and accommodating. The room we had is what is called the honeymoon room because it is so small. It was perfect for two people. a nice bed, a small kitchen area and a flat screen tv. The only complaint we had was the very small bathroom and shower, however we had hot water and was usable. The pool is on the back side of the motel and was nice and clean with a slide which I thought would be fun for the kids. I would for sure come back to this place and stay again. If you are looking a updated fancy place this is not for you. If you are however looking a nice clean and affordable place to stay please check them out!! Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roan Mountain, Tennessee, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The motel is old that's a given. However it is clean and most of all affordable for people on a budget. The managers are great and very friendly. The beach is right across the street. We are not in the room a lot during our vacation, usually there long enough to shower and sleep so this is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed at Moran several times over the last 40 years and it has never been nasty or smelly. It is by far one of the best "mom and pop" motels I have ever stayed in. I would recommend it to anyone. It is an older motel so, of course, there may not be any wifi or other really hi tech amenities. But, who goes to the beach for all that anyway? I can always do that at home. If you just wanna get away and relax, this is a perfect little spot!

Room Tip: Moran has a large garage apartment they rent also for folks wanting something for a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room was not clean. As a matter of fact we went to the Dollar Tree down the road so that I could buy clorox wipes, febreze spray, lysol spray and an air freshener to clip on to the air conditioner just to get rid of the body odor smell. You should have seen the clorox wipes after I wiped things down. The shower was super small. If you were a small child it would do. But if you have to shave your legs you literally have to stick your leg outside of the shower because there is no room to lift your leg while inside. Bring your own blankets, they only wash the sheets, not the covers. I was hoping maybe they washed them every week after each week stay, but who knows. The pool is on the back side of the motel. It was clean and not very busy, which was nice. It had a slide that my boy loved. There is no ice or vending machines and no laundry serice. I had to wash my batching suit in the sink and hang it out to dry. The location isn't that bad for not being oceanfront. You can see the ocean from the larger balcony on the 2nd floor between 2 buildings. But a warning if you get this room. Everyone uses that balcony all hours of the night. We were woken up a few times. But it is close to the pier, just a 3 min walk. SO that was nice. IT should be a $30 or $40 a night kinda place. For about the same money or $20 more you can get 10 times better...

Room Tip: IF your staying at this Hotel get the full (eff) room with the kitchen. At least you will have space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Moran is right across the street from a public beach access. Our room was clean as was the whole place in general. You can get an effeciency apt. there in season for almost half what you will pay for a room at The Sand Dunes or Admirals Quarters. A few minor negatives emphasis on minor. No beachfront rooms. we were on the second floor and it takes a good while for the water to get hot. The shower is microscopic. Other than that I have a hard time finding anything bad to say about the place.

Room Tip: Have only stayed there once so dont have any input on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our 3rd vacation in Kure Beach. We always love the area but the hotel across the street are a huge let down..seems every year we had a problem with our reservations not being what was offered when reserved..last year we decided to extend our vacation and give the Moran a try based on the reviews..we were impressed ! The rooms were spotless..the owners are great...the beds were comfy..needless to say this place has our vote as the best in Kure ...we will make our reservations here every year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

All the reviews were top notch on the Moran Motel. When we stayed there was nothing we could disagree with. Motel is older but well maintained and very clean. We had a small effiency and it had everything we required in it. Prices are reasonable and the location is convenient. Beach entry right across the street, fishing pier right across the street, good resturant you guessed it, across the street. We ate several meals there, (The Old Pier House) not fancy but everything we had was good. The ferry is about a mile and a half up the road. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. One tip the electrical outlet in the bathroom is in the base of the light fixture over the mirror.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moran Motel

Address: PO Box 76, Kure Beach, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kure Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Moran Hotel Kure Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moran Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.