We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork chops awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freddie's Restaurante

Freddie's Restaurante
111 K Avenue, Kure Beach, NC 28449
910-458-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pork chops awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Crowded for a Monday nite and had to wait for a bit, but sat in a swing at the board walk, one pork chop for me, husband ordered two and had a take home. Loved the beets and chick peas in salad. First visit for us but will send friends here that come this way often. Excellent food in a small out of the way place. Probably need reservations next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    94
    35
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pork chops to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really amazing chops with multiple toppings. I had the garlic (which was whole cloves cooked) with mozzarella cheese. Unbelievable. Quirky kind of salad for the table but I loved it. Martinis were double those in some other restaurants. Their chocolate cake for dessert was excellent. I ordered a side of pasta with the chop and it was a little sweeter than I'm used to but good and hearty nonetheless. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Everyone talks about the chops and the reason for that is that they are awesome. Order 2 chops and take one home for lunch. The staff is great and the wine is delicious. Also had the fried mozzarella app and it was great. My wife got some kind of seafood pasta dish and was very pleased. Plenty to take home. Charming little place that is very well run. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We hadn't been back to this place since the founding Freddie died, but the current owners are upholding his legacy well. Servings are enormous. A large, tasty tossed salad comes with entrees. We made 2+ meals out of our main courses: fish soup and shrimp Diavolo. The fried calamari appetizer was a bit heavy on the breading, and everything was too heavy on the dried herbs for our taste, but overall, we had a hearty and delicious Italian meal here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the outside, this restaurant did not look like much. If you are at Kure Beach, please go inside! The Italian food is delicious!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddie's Restaurante also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Freddie's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddie's Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.