We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise in an unexpected location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freddie's Restaurante

Freddie's Restaurante
111 K Avenue, Kure Beach, NC 28449
910-458-5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in an unexpected location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were at Kure Beach doing some fall fishing. We had just left the pier and were headed back to our motel to clean up. Our son was with us, and told us that he had heard really good things about "Freddie's", so we decided to try it. I thought it was a little pizza place, and, since it was so close to the pier, I really wasn't expecting much. When the hostess met us at the door and asked if we had a reservation, I was really surprised. She seated us immediately, and our server came to take our order. The food was really good, and the service was excellent. It is a quaint little place in an unexpected location. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    93
    34
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, MSG in the Barb's dressing, and they need more air conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

They do need to improve their cooling system, but maybe the building is too old for that; they do have some fans around.
We enjoyed our food and all loved Barb's salad dressing but it does have MSG in it. Two of my friends had the fruity pork chops, the Apple-Walnut with Ameretto and the Rum Runner with molasses and peaches and they said they were wonderful. Another had the Seafood Ravioli and loved it, but the seafood was not in the ravioli as it was in the dish around cheese ravioli. I had a new dish to the menu, Simply Crab, lump crab over pasta; it was ok, but nothing special. They do have fairly priced wines by the glass with a good pour. Our server was good and the water boy kept our glasses at full.
There is alway a wait for a table at Freddies as it very popular and very small.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I have been to Freddie's many times over the past several years and every time we have had a great experience. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and want to make sure each customer is satisfied. Barb's salad dressing (not a caeser dressing like another review said; it's an oil based Italian style dressing) is out of this world and I buy a pint every time we go. The food is incredibly fresh; huge vegetable slices in the pastas, delicious fresh mozzarella, and hot, crusty bread. It is clear that Freddie's uses as many fresh, non-packaged foods as is possible in such a busy restaurant. The bar is also well stocked and bar drinks are quite good. I am vegetarian and have had no trouble finding a perfect meal when I go to Freddie's.

Another review mentioned that this is not like Italian food at all; I must disagree. Having been to Italy and experiencing real Italian food, it is my opinion that Freddie's cooks in the traditional Italian style and you can't get better Italian food in North Carolina.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food - No Air Conditioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We highly anticipated the visit, based upon the proclamation "Most Romantic" restaurant. The food was good, but not fantastic, the tablecloth plastic, and too many bodies for the space. Also, it's hard to be romantic with sweat on your brow - horrible air conditioning. They blamed it on the humidity, but we have eater at other restaurants this week on the same block and their air was fine. Might return if in the winter, though.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Too Much Excitement?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If your idea of a good time is having incompetent service, having half of your party of 12 getting their meals 20 minutes after the others, asking to speak to management and being told no one was the manager and THEN having the local POLICE called because one in the party of 12 had asked to the meal taken back and did not wish to pay for the entree (but had offered to pay for drinks, salad and bread)...then by all means Freddie's of Kure Beach is the place for you! They obviously cannot accomodate a group of more than 4 and should never take a reservation for tables of more than 4! Everyone in the group of 12 enjoying dining out frequently and this little "exciting evening" insured that none have eaten at Freddie's since and have also shared the experience with anyone who mentions wanting to dine in Kure Beach. Sorry Freddie's...perhaps a lesson in "good will" is needed for your waitstaff since management isn't around all the time. Maybe I live a sheltered life, but I had NEVER been in a restaurant that called the police on a customer. It was much more embarrassing for the other diners than it was for our group!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddie's Restaurante also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Freddie's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddie's Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.