We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chowder spot to enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Daddy's Restaurant

Big Daddy's Restaurant
206 K Ave, Kure Beach, NC 28449
910-458-8622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Chowder spot to enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best spot in the Kure Beach area, no doubt about it. The clam chowder is wonderful, and one of the best we've experienced. The dinners were well prepared. I even tried the standard fish and chips and was surprised by the flavors and texture. They know what they are doing! The kids menus were above average too, with attentive service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    44
    41
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've dined at Big Daddy's several times over the past 20+ years, we always go there when in the area. Stopped in for lunch; appetizer, entrees and dessert. Everything was fabulous. Not inexpensive but a LOT of food and all tasted great. Service was excellent as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The best seafood in kure or carolina beach and the best at lightly frying food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My fiance use to eat there as a child. He said it was delicious then. But as an adult hadnt been back until now. Some of the reviews on here had made him wary but we decided to give them a try. And we are so glad we did. The first time we went there we were greeted by gerald. sorry if i mispelled your name. Very nice man. He took us to our seats and our waitress Jen was on very efficient, fast, outgoing, and an awesome personality. we enjoyed talking to her. We never had to ask her for anything. They were not packed yet. They lightly fry their seafood in fresh oil. We have never been able to get clam strips that were not overdone anywhere but big daddy's fry theirs to perfection. You can actually the taste the difference in each seafood item and its all edible. You get your money's worth on their seafood platters. The 2nd time we went in there we were once again greeted by gerald. We were hoping jen was there but she wasn't so allyson was our waitress. She came by only once to see if we needed anything. Sure wish she had a better personality. And they were not packed the 2nd time either. They have 2 beautiful entrances into their dining aera. Loved their wishing well ponds and the gift shops. We will return next year. Oct. 26 is their last day for the season until around april so if you missed them try them when they reopen. Hope to see Jen and Gerald then too. And congrats Jen to your happy news. Hope all goes well for you and your family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We did not feel like driving, so we decided to walk over to Big Daddys... we were surprised to find no line! Walked in and was seated (did have to move because the vents were dripping on our table)... once seated in another area... ordered food and man was it so good! We all took time to eat slow because we wanted it to last... lol... 2 thumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food Average Service Outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food was good but average and a bit overpriced; the service from the hostess to the bus boys was outstanding. We understand that Big Daddy's is one of the most reasonably prices sit down restaurants in Kure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Restaurant also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Big Daddy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Daddy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.