We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Daughter Picked a Nice One...But Kept Wondering if We Missed Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My Daughter Picked a Nice One...But Kept Wondering if We Missed Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My young daughter somehow steered us to this hotel, and we ended up staying here for two nights in Feb. We liked it but the price was a little steep for off-season we thought, especially since we took the no-ocean view room. Breakfast is not included. It also has none of that OBX weathered charm. It's like any other Hilton Inn...very, very nice but could be a Hilton Inn in Anytown, USA.

That being said, we DID have a good stay here. You could still HEAR the ocean from anywhere, and as mentioned, the staff was very good to us. The beach is right there, as well as the pier. Pool/ exercise area was nice too, and we took full advantage of that. The pool was nice & warm...a huge plus if you have little ones and/ or a wimpy mom. ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The indoor pool is one of our main attractions and we are glad that you and your daughter were able to enjoy it together. It also sounds like you had a great time while visiting our private beach, fishing pier, pool and fitness center. Your feedback is certainly valued and we are always striving to improve to make our guests stay more pleasant. Please keep in touch and we would love to have you stay with us again. Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    273
    122
    34
    20
See reviews for
297
404
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel was very nice. We had an overall good experience. However I think the Wright brothers first engine may have been powering our heating unit. It was seemed to have developed a rattling sound in the middle of the night. Only reason for average sleep quality is the heating unit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting us we value your feedback; unfortunately we do on occasion experience mechanical issues. We hope while you were here you were able to get out on the beach and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. If your travels bring you back to the area we would love to have you stay again. Follow us on Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel! The staff is some of the nicest I have encountered! I stay at a Hilton property almost every week for work but was in the area on vacation. I was originally booked at another property in the area and did not l ok or the view. I wanted a water view and they were able to accommodate me on check in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us here at the oceanfront of the Outer Banks. We are glad that you had a room and view that you desired and were happy to accommodate you. Our staff is dedicated to providing superior service and we are pleased to have helped make your vacation more enjoyable. Please come back and stay with us again, and follow us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. We were there in the off season and the second day wasn't very good. Cold and windy so when I proposed, the sun rise didn't co-operate, but the Hotel was awesome and she said yes!! Great place to revisit!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Congratulations on your engagement while here at our hotel! We hope that you two lovebirds had a fantastic time despite the weathers cooperation. Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our hotel and we are thrilled to have played a part to the start of your future together. Please return back and stay with us again. Keep in touch at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed there this past weekend. I have stayed at many HGI's in the past and this is in my top 3! Staff was friendly and courteous, room was very clean, lobby area was one of the best I have ever seen, spacious with little nooks where you feel you are in a space all your own. My child loved the fish tanks! I attended an event hosted there and it was top notch. The banquet staff was professional and made sure that the smallest details were correct so that the guests could enjoy their evening. It's winter time now so not sure how this property is during the summer months. Walked outside on the private pier on this property and thought it was one of the greatest assets to this property. If you are into photography or fishing I would bring all your gear, the sunrises/sunsets are amazing, and I am sure that the fishing is phenomenal off that pier. Overall a wonderful property that is right on the beach, plenty of parking available, and has some of the nicest associates that a guest would want.

Room Tip: Higher floors have greater view of ocean, we stayed on the North side, perfect to see sunrise and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Awesome! We are glad to see that you had such a fabulous time at our hotel and you and your child enjoyed our relaxing reception area. Being situated on the beach adjacent to the Kitty Hawk pier certainly gives our guests plenty to do. We’re confident that your child also enjoyed our indoor pool as that is also a popular amenity we offer. We’d love to have you return back again so please stay in touch- Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It is an easy stay at this hotel. The rooms are big enough to let me spread out to do my business homework. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I have been a guest at this hotel several times since October and each visit has been a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for being a repeat guest with us over the past few months! We love having you visit and thank you for your business. Our large rooms are equipped to make guests comfortable whether traveling here on business or pleasure and it is nice to see that you found it enjoyable. Your compliments about our staff and hotel appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to post them. Feel free to follow us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and offered many amenities that we had not expected. The décor as you enter the lobby is breathtaking. There are three large fish tanks which are well maintained, several semi-private seating areas and a working fireplace. There are coffee, water and cookies available in the lobby 24/7. The front desk and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. I will look for this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Our goal is to provide great service and a comfortable relaxing place to enjoy yourself while on vacation and we are thrilled to see that you did. Our lobby is a popular spot for our guests to relax in as well and we thank you for your kind compliments. We hope you have many happy memories to look back upon and would enjoy having you stay with us again when plans bring you back into the area. Stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.