We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - would stay here again in a heartbeat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay - would stay here again in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my first visit to the Outer Banks and my husband's second. This beach front hotel had it all - excellent service, very clean rooms, affordability, and centrally located to all attractions and restaurants. We booked the room through the hotel website - a king, partial ocean view and were not disappointed. The room was very clean, quiet and spacious and the bathroom was one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I've seen in a while. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and being a light sleeper, I slept very well. The staff was hospitable, friendly and made great local recommendations for activities and restaurants. The complimentary 24 hour coffee and afternoon snack was a nice touch also. The Fishing Pier was a great plus to visit daily. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the OBX and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Booking the rooms mid-week in the off-season is a great, affordable way to stay at an ocean front ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    230
    105
    30
    18
See reviews for
246
346
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanover Township, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. The rooms are clean and spacious. The view from the second floor up is great. Amenities are terrific ( the Keurig is a great touch). Location is great. Fishing pier is fun. Very quiet rooms. Staff is friendly. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've tried some of the other hotels/resorts in OBX and we really like the Hilton Garden Inn the best. It has a nice restaurant for breakfast. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The location is great, you can easily go to Corolla, Duck, or Nags Head from this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is our second stay here and I highly recommend staying here. The room is very comfortable, clean and the staff is outstanding. The breakfast is excellent, omelets made to order and for a woman with mobility concerns, the chef delivered her meal to her table.

Adjacent to the HGI is a pier accessible by hotel guests and we enjoyed sitting on the pier, watching the pelicans, fishermen, etc. There may be more cost effective lodging available here, but for a short stay, none better for location, amenities, and a dedicated staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is very easy to find, on the bend as soon as you arrive in Kitty Hawk. There was ample parking, but the parking lot also seemed to be used by people fishing from the pier. Check in was pleasant and quick and our room was ready early. The room itself was quite large with a microwave, fridge and Keurig coffee machine (although the hotel lobby provides tea and coffee 24 hours the keurig tea was the best cup I had). There was a tv (that we never even turned as the view was spectacular). We had an ocean view looking out over Kitty Hawk Pier and this was worth the extra money. The only downsides I would say are the sliding patio doors are very noisy and our neighbors enjoyed opening and closing them which was somewhat noisy. Also the balcony furniture was overlooked in the daily cleaning of our room so we just sat on towels on the chairs. The bathroom was clean and the little hairdryer very powerful.
The lobby of the hotel is very striking and there are a few leaflets on what to do but they could do this much better. The bar/grill closed at 9pm and to be fair the website says that but the hotel was very busy and we felt they were missing out on getting people in the bar after they had been out for dinner. The small convenience shop was also a little disappointing as the drinks fridge was practically empty but our floor did have a vending machine. Just opposite the hotel is a duck donuts - the perfect breakfast.
Overall we would stay here again for the view, the cleanliness and the location.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit more and have the Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Hilton Garden Inns are my second home. I like consistency and I always get that - great room, good food in hotel, consistent service. This location is great for exploring OBX. The beach is behind the property with good access. There is a pier that requires payment to go out that is also a wedding reception hall. Access to the beach can be little strange when a wedding is going on. Great stay and recommended if you need a hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed three nights as we explored the Outer Banks for the first time. Good ocean front room overlooking the pier. Easy parking and a very good breakfast--very cheery omelet man and a gem in Katie the waitress to look after us. Standard HGI decor modified to reflect seaside location--but it looked a mess to us however would still recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.