We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good for Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one night here and it was fine. It's a pretty generic Hilton, but well located on the beach at Kitty Hawk. The area is not so attractive (to me, anyway), but this is about as good as I saw around there. The service staff were all really nice. We did not dine there or use the pool, etc.

Room Tip: If you care about the view, get a room facing the ocean. We had a side-view room and while you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    231
    105
    30
    18
See reviews for
247
346
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed 4 nights in the Hilton Garden Inn in Kitty Hawk. The location was excellent and convenient. The hotel was well maintained and staffed.

The good:
Room faced the ocean - Great view!
Staff (food area, front desk, maintenance, etc.) were very nice and helpful!
Location was excellent - Very convenient
Indoor pool and outdoor pool were nice after being on the beach.
Breakfast (we bought the package with it included) was very good.

The not as good (nothing was really bad)
Room was a bit cramped for 5, BUT we booked at the last minute and did not have a lot of choice due to that. We always carry a twin air mattress with us since 5 is tough to accommodate. We had to work at it but got it to fit.

The closet mirror doors kept coming off the tracks and the balcony door latch was a bit fickle.

That was it for any negative comments. None of these were an issue in any way but are all I can think of.

I suggest getting the breakfast deal ahead of time as it is much cheaper and for a family of 5 was a great deal.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Meal package was a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Renting a house on the Outer Banks ties you to all the other tourists. The management companies force all the visitors to arrive and leave on certain days of the week so you are always stuck in traffic with everyone else. You also have to buy all those household items that a rental house needs, and then throw away the extras after a few days. The entire process can be a huge ordeal.

We saved money and hassle by staying at this Hilton Garden Inn for a few days over the Fourth, and it was perfect. The location is close to the action in KH and an easy drive to Nags Head, KDH, and points further north or south.The room was a perfectly fine Garden Inn with its own pool and beach access. If you just want to enjoy the fun and sun for a few days, this is a great option for the Outer Banks.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton two nights this week. Overall, the hotel was very average. A bit on the plain side for a Hilton. The bed was pretty comfortable and housekeeper did make it in our room to clean up in between nights. I did find it odd that the housekeeper threw away a seashell I had collected from the beach. We had a partial ocean view and it wasn't the best view. The bad part was the noise coming from the air conditioning system and the eye sore you saw as soon as you stepped onto the balcony. I also wish there was some more items on their menu. I was craving some desserts to have delivered to the room but there was only three items (2 of which were cream cheese items, which I don't like). All in all, I would recommend staying here but don't waste your money on an upgraded room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was fantastic. It was one of the best maintained hotels I've stayed in on the Outer Banks. We were thrilled that when we checked in we were upgraded to an oceanfront room. It was a fantastic stay, oceanfront hotel, indoor and outdoor pool, nice room, great amenities and an accommodating staff. I would go back time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took a trip during the 4th of July week for my wife's birthday. It was a last minute trip and the hotel was great in accommodating us even though we made the reservation the same day that we went down. We went with our two children, ages one and two, and we were even given complimentary cribs and breakfast for my wife's birthday.

The location really could not be better. You drive across the bridge and go straight to the beach and there is the hotel. It is at the northern end of the beach road. Across the street are a few restaurants, a Duck Donuts, and a Rite Aid.

The beach was clean and not very crowded. You can rent beach chairs and umbrellas from the hotel. It cost $15 for two chairs and an umbrella. They will set them up for you. The pier is also great for fishing or sightseeing. Hotel guests have complimentary access to the pier.

The room was EXCELLENT. Everything was clean. The beds were very comfortable. The view from our third floor oceanfront room was unbeatable. The outdoor pool was very nice and clean and the courtyard area is a nice place to hangout.

The staff was excellent. Everyone in the hotel was accepting and accommodating of our two small kids. They were quick and courteous and answered all of our questions. Breakfast was great with a buffet and a cook to order chef.

The only thing that bothered me, and this is nitpicking, was that the air conditioning in our room was very loud.

All around, the hotel was fantastic and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, but levels 2 through 5 all have great views. Oceanfront i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here in April, 2013, to celebrate my husband's birthday. It's a pretty property and located conveniently just off the Bypass at MP 1. Usual amenties for an HGI, but be aware that complimentary breakfast is not offered for Hilton Honors members. WiFi good, room fairly large, beds standard, etc., but what sets this property apart is the location and its own pier located just in front. While we were there it was cold, windy and drizzly; however, the pier views are divine. We weren't able to enjoy the firepit in the center of the hotel but imagine it's lovely when the weather permits!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.