We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey, but decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here to begin a trip exploring the outer banks. It is a decent spot, beds are comfortable and rooms nice. Breakfast in the restaurant is cook to order, but at 10.95 a plate, a little pricey for breakfast. It was rainy when we were there, so we didn't get to explore the grounds or the pier, but it is on the ocean and all rooms seem to have at least a sliver of ocean view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    217
    101
    30
    16
See reviews for
240
321
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just spent a couple of nights at this beach front hotel on the NC Outer Banks. The first night was in a king-bed room over the parking lot and second night was ocean-front. Both rooms were great. Clean, comfortable, with ocean-view balconies. The ocean-front room was not as large, but being on the ocean made up for the smaller space. Delicious made-to-order breakfast (included free for Hilton Honors premium members). Friendly staff. Wi-FI and business space. Great beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. But only a few are ocean-front. I would avoid 1st floor rooms and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was advertised at $10.99 per person which I felt was too high. Lady at desk gave us breakfast passes when we checked in an breakfast was very good but not worth menu cost. The room rates are too high based on the offered amenities. Great place for a mini-vac, but way cheaper to rent a house for an extended stay. Cost was my only issue with the place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great Ocean View. A/C cycles on and off (constant on fan setting does not work). No screen on patio door, so you can not leave the door open for the breeze and ocean sounds. Breakfast was an extra $25 per couple charge (ouch!) Staff nice and helpful. Extra $20 per day (w/tip) for 2 beach chairs and umbrella at the Kitty Hawk Pier. Great location for the 3 area light house tours and the Wright Bros Memorial. Good food in the area, lots of activities.

Room Tip: Room 537 has a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belhaven, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

During a recent trip to the Outer Banks, we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was very helpful and overall it was a very nice place. It was a very clean and excellent place. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the Outer Banks area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room wasn't ready so, instead, Hilton gave us a room with an ocean view and a balcony. Score! The room was nice and I went out on the balcony. Didn't do that again ... flies and gnats followed me back into the room. Okay, it wasn't a lot ... maybe about five tiny flies and gnats but that's irritating. So as long as I didn't open the sliding glass door again, we were fine. We left the curtains open all the time ... it was great to see the early mornings, the fishermen, the beach walkers, especially the ocean, etc.

The personnel were wonderful. So friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the restaurant within the Hilton. Breakfast was $10.99 ... a chef cooked as you order it ... eggs, whichever way you want it. I loved the veggie omelet he made for me. One could have the buffet ... scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy. There were fruit, lots of carbs (donuts, muffins, breads, etc.), cereals hot and cold. The wait staff were on top of it ... so efficient, friendly. Lots of "Yes, Ma'am", "Thank You, Sir." Polite.

Kelly, the concierge, was so cordial. He gave us ideas of things we could do. We did a some(Wright Brothers Museum, Lighthouse and Aquarium) of them. Couldn't do the dolphin watch ... it was cancelled because of heavy rain. Shucks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not exactly a get away atmosphere. The Ocean Front rooms may be better. We had Ocean View, and was too loud from air conditioning unit. If you are looking for a romantic get away, maybe ocean front would work out better for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.